Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do? Abroad, ex visiting.

Options
  • 10-09-2009 3:17am
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I need a few opinions... I have made a big mess of things. Basically I am studying abroad for the year and have a boyfriend (well, I did have one) back in Ireland. We broke up before I left, but he was very distressed in the first few weeks of me being here, and I hadnt yet settled and was seeking home comfort so we decided to remain together, or as 'together' as people can be 22,000km apart.

So skipping ahead, he bought a ticket to come see me, the bones of a grand. We spoke often and was fine except for he would fight with me over boys in photographs and getting drunk etc.. Anyway, last week I kissed another man. My bf asked me upfront as he does after every night out if I had kissed anyone and I didnt lie, as I have never lied to him. He flipped (understandably) and dumped me (understandably).

I apologised but cannot give him assurances because 1. I feel like I want to be free (not something I felt before) and 2. after things that were said in the time since, I'm not so sure we're right for each other. Anyway, he tried to cancel his ticket but its both non refundable and non transferable. He is still saying he will come but will travel around and preferably avoid me. Sometimes he says he will still come to me when he's here.