Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thanks to Traffic Corps

• 09-09-2009 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭

Broke down today on Leeson St. in a n auto car, it was stuck in park so it couldn't be moved. But a Traffic lad on a bike got it out of park (which I couldn't do even though I'm a petrol head :o ) and then pushed me off to the side of the road.

He was really sound and really helpful and you guys get a sh1t time out there so I just thought I'd say thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I must admit my only brush with these guys came when my wife drove into someone in the West Link toll queue ( it was about 6 years back ).

Motorcycle cop on hand almost instantly , made sure my wife was ok , spoke to the guy in front . Made sure they had no damage ( it was a NI reg car ) , checked he wasnt going to claim etc .

Then stayed with my wife until I got there.

He could not have been more understanding/ nice if he had tried . A real gent !

So Ill add my belated thanks to these guys too.

( I reserve the right to withdraw this if there is a speeding tkt waiting at home :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Davidth88 wrote: »
    I must admit my only brush with these guys came when my wife drove into someone in the West Link toll queue ( it was about 6 years back ).

Motorcycle cop on hand almost instantly , made sure my wife was ok , spoke to the guy in front . Made sure they had no damage ( it was a NI reg car ) , checked he wasnt going to claim etc .

Then stayed with my wife until I got there.

He could not have been more understanding/ nice if he had tried . A real gent !

So Ill add my belated thanks to these guys too.

( I reserve the right to withdraw this if there is a speeding tkt waiting at home :) )
    Can't withdraw it now that I've quoted it :D Traffic Corps lads are sound, sure they'd have to be nice otherwise we'd make fun of their leathers more:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Did you get his name or badge number? Send his super a letter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Chica Guapa

I had an accident on the Quays in Dublin a year ago...the nicest EVER traffic corp Sgt came on the scene.

It was the first time I've ever been in a crash and was very upset...he was so understanding and reassured me that I wasn't in the wrong so there was nothing to worry about...

Afterwards, I contacted Dublin Castle, where he was based, and told them how great he was but I think the guy on the other end of the phone thought I fancied the Sgt or something...Maybe the traffic corp are not used to getting praise...I was just trying to be nice!!!

Now, don't get me started on the leathers ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sisu200

I absolutely agree, Gardai in this country don't get half the amount of praise they deserve, anytime I have had to get assistance, filling forms etc, they are more than helpful,

One time in Sligo, I had a drink too much and proped myself up against a wall, not knowing my name, 2 guards approched me asked me if I was ok to get home, told them I would be unable to get a taxi as the rank was too far away, he called a taxi for me and waited with me until it turned up, I got into the taxi and peeded off with myself, learned my lesson that night, could not thank them enough, and don't drink anymore,

On a funnier note, was traveling to a town down south and was stopped in a que waiting to be randomly breathalised, everything going well, next thing a car approached the other direction and done a U turn in the middle of the road, so the 2 guards shouted, lets go, they tore off after the car, I moved away and made it across the brow of the hill and here the traffic car was stuck in the ditch, I pulled up along with 2 guys in cars behind me and we began pushing the car out, I will never forget it, it was like the old days of rallying where the spectators pushed the cars out of awkward situations, the guards never even got out of the car just shouting thank you as they ripped off up the road after the bugger, hope they got him!!

Keep up the good work folks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Random wrote: »
    Did you get his name or badge number? Send his super a letter.

I didn't and I'm bloody sorry I didn't. I was trying to talk to the AA on the phone at the same time to get the car moved asap. Only thing the AA didn't ask me was my friggin shoe size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Sisu200 wrote: »
    I absolutely agree, Gardai in this country don't get half the amount of praise they deserve, anytime I have had to get assistance, filling forms etc, they are more than helpful,

One time in Sligo, I had a drink too much and proped myself up against a wall, not knowing my name, 2 guards approched me asked me if I was ok to get home, told them I would be unable to get a taxi as the rank was too far away, he called a taxi for me and waited with me until it turned up, I got into the taxi and peeded off with myself, learned my lesson that night, could not thank them enough, and don't drink anymore,

On a funnier note, was traveling to a town down south and was stopped in a que waiting to be randomly breathalised, everything going well, next thing a car approached the other direction and done a U turn in the middle of the road, so the 2 guards shouted, lets go, they tore off after the car, I moved away and made it across the brow of the hill and here the traffic car was stuck in the ditch, I pulled up along with 2 guys in cars behind me and we began pushing the car out, I will never forget it, it was like the old days of rallying where the spectators pushed the cars out of awkward situations, the guards never even got out of the car just shouting thank you as they ripped off up the road after the bugger, hope they got him!!

Keep up the good work folks!!

I'm not sure if either of those stories paint the Gardai in a good light!:eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I'm not sure if either of those stories paint the Gardai in a good light!:eek:

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

hello PSNI, I cannot answer for Terrontress, but i am certain that police officers who cannot control a car should be in hot pursuit.

in this case the car that turned round may have been driven by an axe murderer and might have been worth the chase, or it may have been a fellow whose tax was out,

i think it is understandable,in a way , that a drunk gets nicked ,when he/she casts doubts on the officers parentage etc, but gets the aforementioned treatment when civil enough, but it really should not be.

terrontress, you are right.

regards ,Rugbyman

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

How certain are you?
    rugbyman wrote: »
    hello PSNI, I cannot answer for Terrontress, but i am certain that police officers who cannot control a car should be in hot pursuit.

in this case the car that turned round may have been driven by an axe murderer and might have been worth the chase, or it may have been a fellow whose tax was out,

i think it is understandable,in a way , that a drunk gets nicked ,when he/she casts doubts on the officers parentage etc, but gets the aforementioned treatment when civil enough, but it really should not be.

terrontress, you are right.

regards ,Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

I would also like to say thanks to the TC and other AGS members.

I am filming the Cannonball rally to Galway and they did a fantastic job with the escorts out of Dublin, into Kinsale and into Killarney.

Roll on Galway today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

thanks for the question PSNI,
    While debating with myself on whether there are degrees of certainty at all, i re read my post,

"but i am certain that police officers who cannot control a car should be in hot pursuit."

and i realise that I omitted one word which completly alters what I had intended to say,

but i am certain that police officers who cannot control a car should NOT be in hot pursuit.

regards, Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Sisu200 wrote: »

On a funnier note, was traveling to a town down south and was stopped in a que waiting to be randomly breathalised, everything going well, next thing a car approached the other direction and done a U turn in the middle of the road, so the 2 guards shouted, lets go, they tore off after the car, I moved away and made it across the brow of the hill and here the traffic car was stuck in the ditch,

Those gardai should be charged with dangerous driving.
    2 years ago, I missed my turn and did a uturn, minutes later I was chased down by 2 very agressive gardai and accused of evading a check point. I had no alcohol taken and they couldn't find flaw with my car, though they certainly tried. I hadn't even seen the checkpoint though I had seen a tailback. Sorry I didn't get their numbers. Drivers turn around for quite innocent reasons every day, and gardai should remember that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

psni wrote: »
    Why?

Firstly, getting someone who is not in control of their faculties into a taxi is not fair on a taxi driver.

Secondly, while pointing out that Gardai will give chase at a u-turn is a positive, highlighting a subsequent error on their part is not helpful. And possibly unbelievable.

I'm all for credit where credit's due but the story of a Garda car ending up in a ditch and needing passers by to shove it out is a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

2 stroke wrote: »
    Those gardai should be charged with dangerous driving.
    2 years ago, I missed my turn and did a uturn, minutes later I was chased down by 2 very agressive gardai and accused of evading a check point. I had no alcohol taken and they couldn't find flaw with my car, though they certainly tried. I hadn't even seen the checkpoint though I had seen a tailback. Sorry I didn't get their numbers. Drivers turn around for quite innocent reasons every day, and gardai should remember that.
    Ah to be fair now if you were a guard on a checkpoint and you seen a car doing a u turn away from you that would be suspicious, like really what's more likely 1. Someone missed their turn or 2. They've got something to hide that could get them in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Ian, I disagree. But am not going to argue it further on this thread. There are several helpful, level headed gardai that deserve our thanks. Hotheads should be kept off traffic duty, there are however a few places in Limerick they could police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Em, I think the OP merely wished to express gratitude for a job well done and not start an international debate about random issues?!?