Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike Stolen today :-(

• 09-09-2009 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

Hey dudes my brothers bike was stolen from his school in Dublin 12 this morning. Basterds drove into the school in a red van clipped the lock put it in the van and made off.

The gards are looking into it but i'd appreciate it if you guys could keep a lookout for it.

It is a Blue Gt aggressor exactly the same as the picture below.

Couple of distinguishing features:

The cupholder is missing
    It has front and rear lights attached
    one of the front reflectors is loose

The Van (except red in colour)
    toyota-hiace-a8e69d4415_t.jpg

The Bike
    2478.jpg

Many Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Hey dudes my brothers bike was stolen from his school in Dublin 12 this morning. Basterds drove into the school in a red van clipped the lock put it in the van and made off.

The gards are looking into it but i'd appreciate it if you guys could keep a lookout for it.

It is a Blue Gt aggressor exactly the same as the picture below.

The Van (except red in colour)
    toyota-hiace-a8e69d4415_t.jpg

The Bike
    2478.jpg

Many Thanks

purposley sounding un PC

where is your nearest knacker encampment?

You will find your bike there.

please say you have a frame number, if you dont there isnt much that can be done.Did they just take that bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

bungaro might know where it is. He's buying one in the other thread.

I'm still a crumpy cynical fart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

kona wrote: »
    purposley sounding un PC

please say you have a frame number, if you dont there isnt much that can be done.Did they just take that bike?

Got an eyewitness who saw the guy take it hopefully he is known to police so they can point him out from a mugshot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Some shops print the frame number on the receipt or can look it up for you even if you have lost it.

Have all the books off it but the frame number doesn't seem to be on it.

Don't know where the receipt is at the moment.
    Its a farely rare bike anyway i've only ever seen one other one apart from the two we have in the house. Mine is the 2001 model and its still working so i wouldn't let him get anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

How do you know what a knacker got for Christmas?

He's cycling your bike..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

purposley sounding un PC

Don't forget - don't go in pointing fingers (they can be lost in all too common machete/slash hook incidents) Instead open dialogue with an inquiry about buying a 'dag' and let the bartering for bikes roll after that.
    Got an eyewitness who saw the guy take it hopefully he is known to police so they can point him out from a mugshot.

The one unified eye brow (cybrow) may make identification easy. I hear they're like fingerprints or leopard spots - unique to each individual

How do you know what a knacker got for Christmas?

He's cycling your bike..

I don't know you could be wrong on this one.

I asked the guy who saw him and he said he looked Polish. Get a better idea tomorrow when the gards see the CCTV.

Apparently they cased the place on Monday and stole it today. Must have had their eye on it.

What i find disturbing is that these locks were used on the front and the back.
    I feel so sorry for him that he locked it like i told him before and the basterds still took it.

44653589.jpg

400-673319.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭GeeNorm

We had a trailer stolen from our garden and a neighbour spotted them and took down their reg number. Obviously the knackers, so I toured their facilities for the next few months. Anyway, three months later, I spotted the van, tailed them and called the police.

The police got them there and then but could do nothing as they did not have the trailer! I complained like hell and finally they kept them in over night for not having any tax or insurance on the van but that was it.

Basically if the cops don't get them with your bike it'll be hard to nail them so bear that in mind when deciding whether to alert the police if you find them. Could be other ways...

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Those locks are crap. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭austinbyrne21

Any ideas on good locks?

I wouldn't lock my bike in town with locks like these but i though they would suffice for a pretty much enclosed school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Halarious my mate bought one of those kryptonite locks the other day.

Just waiting for him to post here now with a told you kryptonite were the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭crazydingo

*ahem*

TOLD YA!!! :pac:

Ya can give me your old one so ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Any ideas on good locks?

D_230%20KRYFG6.jpg
    +
    3177_1_large.jpg

Worth spending about €100 on locks. Never had my bike stolen in 4 years of cycling around the city with these boys.
    Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭p15574

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

p15574 wrote: »
    “The young garda acted very swiftly. He moved like an antelope and had his man on the ground in no time. It was dramatic and pretty impressive.”

LOL!

Good to see this kind of crackdown.

The lads came back today and robbed two more bikes.

Same Van, good news is they know who they are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭p15574

Jaysus they've some cheek. Was it their own van? And were they your standard Hiace drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

The lads came back today and robbed two more bikes.

Makes me very annoyed.

I was in a shop yesterday and a young woman had her handbag stolen from her pram (with baby in) by a pair of skrawny junky skanger b*tches. Had all her cards, money, car keys etc in it. Poor woman was stranded in town. Who'd rob a woman with child FFS?

Sick of f*cking scumbags in this city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭crazydingo

That's bloody ridiculous! I would love to get a bunch of cyclists together and wait for them around the corner just as they starting trying to nick more bikes then hop them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

...good news is they know who they are now.

The ACIS (automated cybrow identification system) works then!! Told ya - like a leopards spots....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭camroc76

Dublinstiofán, you might be in luck..we caught these guys red handed outside our office this afternoon....got the license plate and all...reported it to the boys in blue in Dundrum as when we confronted them they sped off nearly hitting one of the girls...Coppers arrived took all the details and interviewed 3 of us.
    They were well cheeky, the thieving little gits..walked up and down the bike racks at Bally Luas Stop twice, reached for the bolt cutters and we started shouting at that point.

PM me if you want the Guards name, he seemed very interested considering the van nearly clipped one of my work collegues...

Cam

camroc76 wrote: »
    Dublinstiofán, you might be in luck..we caught these guys red handed outside our office this afternoon....got the license plate and all...reported it to the boys in blue in Dundrum as when we confronted them they sped off nearly hitting one of the girls...Coppers arrived took all the details and interviewed 3 of us.
    They were well cheeky, the thieving little gits..walked up and down the bike racks at Bally Luas Stop twice, reached for the bolt cutters and we started shouting at that point.

PM me if you want the Guards name, he seemed very interested considering the van nearly clipped one of my work collegues...

Cam

Were they members of the "travelling community"...... :p.

****ing scumbags, sure post the details here, ya might as well, If I see the van my lock might accidentally slip out of my hand and bump into the windscreen.

Actually the Gardai asked the same question "did they look like travellers?"....Red Van...is it ok to post a plate number in this forum ?

of course it is, you can get car regs from carzone.

Lets call a spade a spade, a banjaxed van, robbing bikes driving like maniacs..... A Knackers forté

of course it is, you can get car regs from carzone.

Lets call a spade a spade, a banjaxed van, robbing bikes driving like maniacs..... A Knackers forté

With Pleasure here it is...97-D-6457 Red Van Nissan Hiace type....The Gardai are probably only really interested in the reckless driving part, but you never know...

Cam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

hello

I live quite near to some well known bicycle bandits
    Ill keep an eye out for it, looks like the kind of bike that would catch my eye anyway

Good luck with the hunt

Cam

Well thats sorted anyway its the same van. They must be making a fortune out of these bikes.

I omitted parts from the initial story because i thought if any of the travellers saw this post that they would ditch the van.

We got the number plate of the van from their first theft and it matches the one you have. The gards have it for 4 days now and know that they are associated with a traveller family.

These guys tried to ram the witness of the first theft. He was driving into work in the school when he spotted them on the way out. He didn't know who they were so he slowed down to get the reg (which he got) only to have them come towards his car at speed so he had to put the foot down and get out of the way.

Thanks for the details camroc. Will you pm me the garda in Dundrum who is dealing with this i want to phone them and give them the name of the guy in Terenure that is dealing with so he can save them some time. And maybe if they realize its getting ridiculous they might start making some arrests.

One more question. When they were trying to steal the bikes in dundrum were they wearing gloves when you saw them? If not did they put their hand on the lock they were trying to snip?

I threw the reg into motorcheck and its a red Nissan Cargo 2.3

Did you see the van camroc? Was it a hiace or a nissan cargo? I was told by the witness that it was a hiace van and they are toyota arn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

I think people just use the term Hiace to describe those types of vans.

Ill keep an eye out too.

I hate scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Any ideas on good locks?

The point is not simply to choose a single good lock but to combine different types of lock. The Kryptonite New York locks are superb but with sufficient time and effort even they can be popped. However, in my experience, you significantly reduce the possibility of theft by combining a U-Lock or D-Lock with a good cable lock (and they do exist - Abus Steel-O-Flex for example). This requires any thief to carry two seperate types of cutting equipment (not impossible but less likely). This is not scientific but I've never had a bike stolen and I've lived between the two canals (i.e. city centre) for the past 15years. Two locks are a (slight) pain weight-wise but I think this is simply the price of retaining a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I have never had problems, pretty much the same situation as rflynnr, two large locks are a pain to carry around, but you can bet your bike will be there when you return..

The only downside is there's no grace among ****ehawkes, twice, obviously after trying to open the locks, the rest of my bike been damaged out of spite\frustration.

Great thread, collective internet whodunnit threads are so satisfying to wade through.. Hopefully something will come of it in this case.