Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer jobs abroad 2010

• 08-09-2009 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    I realize its only early September but I'll ask anyway, I'm hoping to get a job in Spain for the summer of 2010! I'm not to picky what job I want as I know that with the recession I'll be lucky to find anything! Has anyone here done a summer working in Spain, on a campsite or in bars etc? How did you get on? How did you find and apply for the job?

Any help would be really appreciated!

P.S Another option would be to get a job working on a boat or something! Again, if you've done it let me know!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I'm in the process of setting up some Spanish jobsites so I know the market a little bit...

Currently there are no jobs in Spain. The country has had a spectacular crash just like Ireland, except for the extra problem that they never had a lot of jobs there anyway!

A problem for you is all the English speakers who work as TEFL teachers during the year have no work for the summer, so they'll all be looking for summer jobs too. And they'll probably speak a bit of Spanish as well, so they're stiff competition.

I am sure with a lot of perseverance you'll find something, but you might be better off looking at some other countries so you have some options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Thanks for the reply, I speak fairly ok Spanish myself which is the reason I want to go to spain, so I can improve it!! Do you know any websites that jobs will be advertised on when they do become available! Surely they will be taking people on for summer '10

I think it's too early to be looking, but use this (English) site for Barcelona: http://www.loquo.com/en_us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I'd say you could probably get jobs in the clubs over in Ibiza (San Antonio/SA Bay), I was over there less than 2 weeks ago and there was a couple of places looking, probably not ideal but well you said not picky.:D

Then my mate has worked over in Lanzarote the last 2 summers, she loves it and said it's brilliant, I'll get more info of her if you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 danners

hey guys, i'm in the same boat..looking 2 go away in the summer..was thinkin of spain aswel..if thats a no go any1 kno where a better place might b?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Kidpokerbill

Hi lads, me and a couple of my friends are thinking of doing the same thing for the summer, :D
    although we're not too bothered where we go as long as theres sun drink and girls!
    Gavin you said your friend worked in Ibiza...?if you could forward any info it would be great! :D:D

I think Spain is about to have a huge banking crash, so you should also consider other countries.

How far are you willing to travel? Could have the time of your life in China...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Gavin you said your friend worked in Ibiza...?if you could forward any info it would be great! :D:D

Nah she works in Lanzarote, but when I was in Ibiza back in August there was pubs/club looking for people. I don't talk to her much as she's moved out of Dublin, but I'll give her a text.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I'm hoping to go to Tenerife or somewhere like that for the summer to work!

If I can get bar work (bit of previous experience), I'd be really happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Dannyboi3k

I'm hoping to go to Tenerife or somewhere like that for the summer to work!

If I can get bar work (bit of previous experience), I'd be really happy.

You should PM me :D
    Gettin an apartment out there in march/april and gonna be lookin for work myself.. gonna bring sum money to keep me tickin over til i get work and the savin started 1st wk in jan wooohoooo roll on soon :p:p:p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭vinylbomb

danners wrote: »
    hey guys, i'm in the same boat..looking 2 go away in the summer..was thinkin of spain aswel..if thats a no go any1 kno where a better place might b?!

Munich is amazing. You can just about get by so long as one of you speaks some German, but it is party non stop, and seriously fit German girls.
    Plus its lovely weatherwise during the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lacy123

Hi i'm looking to go traveling this summer, preferably May because i'm thinking need to get over there before peak season in order to get job etc. My friend said she'd come with me but has let me down so i'm just gona go on my own, i'm thinking Tenerife, or any of the canary islands aint picky really.Just want to get away for abit. Is anyone in a similar situation to myself, any info greatly appreciated :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

try amsterdam, always a warm summer, 20-30 degrees usually , easy enough to find jobs if you come in may or so , roughly same wages as ireland , great nightlife, great beer and everybody speaks english, safest city i've ever been to aswell. also if you like to smoke some mary-jane its legal and cheap here :P
    i live here so if you have any questions etc just pm me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lacy123

Have being to Amsterdam and yeah its a fantastic city :). Would it be easy enough to get work there, bar work waitressing yeah.Had got my heart set on sun holiday but suppose amsterdam is an option :) thanks for info. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 woohooo

Exact same position as you lacey, feckin unreliable friends!! Was supposed 2 be goin interrailing but the 2 people i was supposed 2 be goin with are now goin out nd I dont wanna be a 3rd wheel! :rolleyes:

Loved amsterdam when I went but id also love a sun holiay, does anyone need a travel partner? pm me! I dont mind where I go, just need a job for sustinence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 paddykc

Same story again. Would love to head off to somewhere sunny in any of those tourist hotspots. I'd say it would be good craic.

Just need a job and a few likeminded Irish so PM me if you want to join up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

Lacy123 wrote: »
    Have being to Amsterdam and yeah its a fantastic city :). Would it be easy enough to get work there, bar work waitressing yeah.Had got my heart set on sun holiday but suppose amsterdam is an option :) thanks for info. :)

no problem :) , yeah its pretty easy to find bar/waitressing work, even the place i work hires alot and between now and summer they will be hiring more.
    let me know if you need any more info.

i was once in your boat, thinking of somewhere hot to go off and work for some months but i researched and found out i'd be earning feck all and wouldn't really be able to enjoy myself and also the language barrier would of been tough .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 angel6