Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Property Tax? Never!

• 07-09-2009 7:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭

When I bought my house, I paid €20k stamp duty.
    Apparently that wasn't good enough, so now those b*stards are planning to take another Grand a year of me.
    No f*cking way.
    When that letter arrives I WILL wipe my ar*e with it, stuff it back into the envelope and send it back, addressed to:

C*nt
    Dublin

Bang, straight onto Brian Cowen's desk.
    With that letter will be a declaration that I will rather rot in prison than give those fat f*cks one cent.
    And I can only encourage everyone to do the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

....and watch your country go slowly bankrupt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I opened this thread listening to The Beatles - Taxman.

There will be a tax on starting threads next. Or the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭Dr Kamikazi

I started this, because with all the shiny new tax ideas, plus toll roads there will be an added tax burden of THOUSANDS on every household.
    And another grand on top, sure why not, let's help ourselves.
    Not just me, but many families just don't have an extra thousand euros stuck behind the couch that they can fish out and hand over.
    This country will go bankrupt if they take a couple of grand out of everyone's pay.
    Retail will go to hell and the housing market will collapse totally.
    Stupid, ignorant twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Are you suggesting he just do his patriotic duty and cough up?

I don't have my own home but if i paid 20k in stamp duty I wouldn't give a **** if the country hadn't another penny, I wouldn't pay an extra cent.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,771 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Are you in a situatioon that you will have to pay? (i.e a homeowner).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

It's ridiculous. If I didn't actually like living here (God knows why sometimes) I'd be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Apparently that wasn't good enough, so now those b*stards are planning to take another Grand a year of me.
    No f*cking way.
    When that letter arrives I WILL wipe my ar*e with it, stuff it back into the envelope and send it back, addressed to:

C*nt
    Dublin

I look forward to receiving your letter. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

No f*cking way.

C*nt
    Dublin

Bang, straight onto Brian Cowen's desk.
    With that letter will be a declaration that I will rather rot in prison than give those fat f*cks one cent.
    And I can only encourage everyone to do the same!

People who have bought their house within the last 7 years will be exempt for the time being. They will be brought into the system gradually.

Every country in Europe and the western world has some sort of property tax so I suppose it is the way forward as long as other taxes are reduced.

The average rate will be about 900 Euro a year. Bad time to bring it in though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

Who is going to pay for ~€300million a week that is being borrowed just to keep current expenditure afloat. Like it or not. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Shouldn't be loading homeowners with another tax.

Why not put the tax on people with property portfolios? My landlord owns several homes, most bought back in the 1990's. This one in 1994.
    And he'll pay 1k per house, the same as an ordinary householder or even a retired pensioner living on their own? There are plenty of older people living in homes considered desirable but realy they have feck all money. A lot of rural farmers are in this situation

I though tax was supposed to be equitable.

Leave the homeowners alone.
    There was a tax introduced on holiday homes, even caravan site owners pay this. Increase if necessary.
    And if you want to raise tax, raise off the canny investors who bought five and six houses, rented them out and drove up the prices and outbid the first time buyers.
    If you've never dealt with a landlord in Ireland that wanted cash only and refused to sign any rent relief forms then you choose your landlords better then I have

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Pretty soon you wont be able to take a sh1t without being taxed, what a stupid country we live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Sir Molle

It's me. I'm the C*nt in da op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

If you look across the water in the UK they pay both property tax and water rates so that's what maybe down the line for us unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

What a ridiculous idea, paying tax every year for a one-off purchase

before if you lost your job and you owned your house outright you wouldn't have to worry about it being taken off you. no longer the case, now everyone has to join the rat-race in order to keep the house they already paid for.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

f*ckin nonesense, property tax when we were nailed to the floor with a windfall FF tax for the last decade plus. And that twat Gormley talking about a carbon tax. At a time when the greens have rubber-stamped a reduction in public transport nationwide :mad: How much has corporation tax gone up by? NIL :mad::mad::mad: Banks and business being carried by the common man & woman. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

C*nt
    Dublin

!

You'll need alot of stamps.

over 1 million going on the last census

There will be tax increases, and I'm fine with that.
    Having a tax free baseline and pay 20something % on the rest is by far not enough.
    But having BEEN taxed on my house and now those (lovely people) in government want to take that much extra?
    I can't afford that.
    Myself, plus thousands more, will sell up (if we get more than a fiver for our house) and go to proper countries, where you will be actually provided with some kind of infrastructure and facilities.
    I will refuse to give my last shirt to keep this Titanic afloat for another few months.
    Plus, if you have kids, need special assistance, are old or ill, you're ****ed.
    Since there are only facilities for people with money.
    If you haven't got any, you're f*cked.
    My house will be for sale as of next year and I'm off to Germany, Italy, France, I don't really care, a proper country, run by corrupt criminals who can actually run a proper country, as opposed to corrupt criminals who couldn't find their own arse with both hand with the aid of a map if it was on fire.

mikemac wrote: »
    There are plenty of older people living in homes considered desirable but realy they have feck all money. A lot of rural farmers are in this situation

I though tax was supposed to be equitable.

Leave the homeowners alone.

its about removing people from that type of lifestyle, they want to enforce one way of living a life and none of this 'off the grid' type of lifestyle.

also making room for rich people who 'deserve' the big houses more so than a farmer or a retiree deserves a family home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

FearDark wrote: »
    Pretty soon you wont be able to take a sh1t without being taxed, what a stupid country we live in.

What does your toilet's cistern fill up with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'm not paying it, what will they do, build a few prisons for the likes of me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 allyearround

I bought my own house 3 years ago, paid 18K stamp duty, spent 30K making it liveable and now it's worth about half what I paid for it. I get that is my stupid fault for borrowing the money & paying an inflated price beleiving that it would be worth much more in a few years. I live in the middle of no where, have to drive to get to work, there' s NO public transport. I'm stuck here. I'd love to move somewhere I could use public transport but rent wouldn't even cover 50% of my mortgage. I have had my income slashed by 10% and my husband is self employed with virtually no income. Between us we have €400 per month to pay, electricity/heating bills, car/petrol, food - where on earth could we get money from to pay property tax. I understand we will be exempt from saying it for the following 4 years but they plan on increasing tax on oil & petrol so whatever way I look at the proposed changes we'll be pushed further into proverty. We both work at least 40 hours per week (usually my husband works about 60 hours) for €100 per week! We have neighbours who live in virtually free (social) houses, drive almost brand new cars and haven't worked a day in their lives! That's one of the real crimes in this country. The social welfare system needs a complete overhaul. Will they need to employe more public servants to figure out how much tax will be applied to individuals on social welfare? We're newly weds and would like to start a family but it's impossible to think about such things at the moment. :mad:

galwayrush wrote: »

they probably will. and you'd be better off in there because they'd be the best built prisons in Europe, they'd exceed every EU building and prisoner welfare standard ever set. Building prisons this way means more invites to Sarkozy & Berlusconi's sex parties for Biffo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I dont like the idea of this tax.

Ive worked very hard long hours for what i have today..

Im going to get fleeced more than most people on boards when this tax comes in, but saying "ill do this and ill do that is futile" unless the entire nation does it, which of course.. they wont.
    You say what you will do now, however when the time comes - you will pay.. because at the end of the day i pretty sure you are no mavrick and you have a family and a life to live, and jail is not where you will want to spend it

galwayrush wrote: »

Totally with you.
    They cannot lock up every home owner.
    If voters got organised, they could coordinate votes.
    Then send a letter to the government, if you don't x,y,z, we'll vote for some other c*nt, do the same to him, etc..., till you find someone who bloody well WILL abide by the will of the people, unlike the current shower of overpaid, fat f*cks, who couldn't give a sh*t what the people want.
    Blackmail and taking them to the courts, that's all they understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Please use the Irish Economy subforum of the Politics forum for these topics. There's a thread on this report here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055674868