Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Identifying a criminal

• 07-09-2009 12:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

OK, so having read the charter, this is not about legal advice- it is about tapping into the experience of the Guards on boards.

My sister was mugged in Dun Laoghaire a few weeks ago- phone, wallet and iPod. Thankfully nothing of a more sinister nature happened and while she was upset she was OK. Two days later and I'm dropping her to a friend's house and we are going through one of the housing estates near DL and my sister spots who she believes to be the perpetrator coming out of a house. She has already reported the crime- and what we are curious about, is based upon your experience of previous cases should we get the house number+address (I know how to get there but don't have a clue about the address) and report this to the Guards? My very limited legal knowledge would leave me to believe a search warrant would be needed to search the house (it might not even be his) for her stuff (probably sold), but is a positive ID enough for the guards to do something to catch this guy?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

The best thing would have been to call the local station when your sister saw the fella but the next best thing is to report it to the Garda who took your sister's complaint. The investigating Garda can take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

Thanks TheNog, of course all of us (family) have been pushing her to go down and do so but it is really a case of she wants to know what to expect- the thought of going to court etc is very intimidating for her and I guess we all want to just get a feel for what are the chances it will progress somewhere. I don't think she wants to prepare herself for it going further and get her hopes if it is unlikely to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I remember being in a line up once (local cops asked me to stand in) along with a few other males asked at random from Sundrive rd in crumlin.

The offender lets call him LK was wanted for questioning for a serious of assaults in the crumlin to Naas rd area. He in essence was a bag snatcher and he also stole cars to assist in this.

LK was believed to have robbed a woman of her purse on the Naas rd that morning and the police picked him up. LK was brought into us and his lawyer asked him to stand near me as I did actually look a bit like him hair and buildwise.

In the line up LK stuck out a mile, for one instead of a belt he had a piece of rope tied around his waist and a face like a well chewed chip spat out on the path.

The witness was brought in and she was really shook up by the process as their was no one way mirror. We where all in the same room facing each other and she looked in my (and LK's) direction only once. One of the Gards asked her did she see the man who attacked her in the room she said she did and the Gard said can you piont him out to us.

She then pionted out the bloke in the room who looked nothing like LK. This is was when she was about 2 Metres from the line.

She then was excused and left the room.

LK swaggered out telling his lawyer to speak to him outside and everyone was excused.

Now this was in 1995 I think what the OP is asking is if his sister steps forward to identify the guy in 2009 what can she expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Now this was in 1995 I think what the OP is asking is if his sister steps forward to identify the guy in 2009 what can she expect?

Thanks Zambia232, that's essentially what I'm asking. What is the likelihood the Guards will be able to act upon this information and if they do what can she expect. With all the stories of witness intimidation in the media I guess she just wants to prepare herself in advance for the process that awaits her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

C.D. wrote: »
    Thanks TheNog, of course all of us (family) have been pushing her to go down and do so but it is really a case of she wants to know what to expect- the thought of going to court etc is very intimidating for her and I guess we all want to just get a feel for what are the chances it will progress somewhere. I don't think she wants to prepare herself for it going further and get her hopes if it is unlikely to do so.

She's no way of knowing how far it will progress if she doesn't pass all relevant info to the Gardaí. There's no point in her sitting on some information & hoping the gouger is going to get caught by some other means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

C.D. wrote: »
    Thanks Zambia232, that's essentially what I'm asking. What is the likelihood the Guards will be able to act upon this information and if they do what can she expect. With all the stories of witness intimidation in the media I guess she just wants to prepare herself in advance for the process that awaits her.

Witness intimidation is blown out of all proportion by the media, she has very little to worry about on that score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I will agree there with Cushtac , I have had had several people scream abuse at me swearing blind they will find me kill me , kill colleagues, find my address in the book of evidence etc in every case its was 100% horsesh1t.

Sigh I miss Irish scumbags... :(

As soon as the Garda arrive they take them away and I never ever saw them again.