Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lewellin setters..

• 06-09-2009 1:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

Just collected yesterday our 4 mnth old bitch(millie).. shes as cute as a button and she is good so far with the "sit,fetch,come... and she responds to her name... and a sharp whisle.... hoping to get her out in november on her own for he craic,, well be bringing her for the next few weeks up arond the feeders to get her used to the smell etc....

Any other Lewellin owners here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 gameshotpro

i havent got one but my uncle has. cant wait till november to go out with him, theyre some dog for the pheasants:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

could you not be introducing her to early to pheasants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

EastTyrone wrote: »
    could you not be introducing her to early to pheasants?

is there such a thing as "to early"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

endasmail wrote: »
    is there such a thing as "to early"?
    ive never trained a dog before, but Ive seen in magazines where they write in about training dogs and they say you shouldn't introduce a dog to birds untill its 1 year old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 gameshotpro

i dont know a lot about training setters but ive trained springers and labs and theyve all been working away by 8 months old

EastTyrone wrote: »
    ive never trained a dog before, but Ive seen in magazines where they write in about training dogs and they say you shouldn't introduce a dog to birds untill its 1 year old

have been reading up myself and i find some trainers have their own tried and tested ways of doing things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

I ll tell yiz what lads, if she doesnt make it as a gundog, it doesnt matter, shell mak a great pet anyway.. ill take her into my house, but im about third on the list... shes is adorable.... ill post a few pics up shortly and keep yiz posted re the setting!!

incdently none of us in the gun club are any good at trainng dogs, never done it before but willing to try... all he lads have had labs and springers etc, this is the first "working" bitch on the scene.... interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

To be honest 6months will be a bit early to bring a dog out. I'ld give this season a miss with that dog. At six months you should only be starting your obedience training. Not that you need to do much obedience with a setter because they might get too sticky, but you need to be able to stop and recall the dog at a minimum.

flanum wrote: »
    I ll tell yiz what lads, if she doesnt make it as a gundog, it doesnt matter, shell mak a great pet anyway.. ill take her into my house, but im about third on the list... shes is adorable.... ill post a few pics up shortly and keep yiz posted re the setting!!

incdently none of us in the gun club are any good at trainng dogs, never done it before but willing to try... all he lads have had labs and springers etc, this is the first "working" bitch on the scene.... interesting times ahead.

best of luck with her anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'd say bring her out, our Brittany is around 12 months younger than your new dog. We brought him out last year, along with a very expierenced Llewellin. Mostly followed the older dog, with the pup there to watch and learn, by the end of the season, the pup was settign and put up a bird or two that the older one missed

Most Llewellin's are apparently english setters that have been named incorrectly. It's was originally a sub-set of the breed only recently separated to a full breed. The differences are tiny, if any

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Once she's listening to you & will come back when you call her I'd bring her out. Maybe after xmas for a month or so. Create the drive early. If she goes wild great you prob have a dog on your hands & you can work on calming/refining her over the summer. There's nothing wrong with introducing them to birds young in my eyes just don't be shooting them until she's working right (setting properly-not flushing) as you'll only encourage bad habits... She'll learn nothing sitting in the run. As I said on here before I like to do obedience work where I will be hunting as the distractions of all the new smells & open space etc make it a different prospect altogether... (That's not to say you cant do some work at home in the evening as it's getting darker, but there's 4 slots on a weekend, sat/sun morning & evening to both bring her out & do your own bit of shooting also) - I say give her 50% of this time if possible. I.e. If you plan on going shooting 4 times in the weekend give her 2 trips, if you plan on going once then you'll struggle for time to train her & a trained dog was probably a better option for you...
    Anyway best of luck with her, patience all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Just collected yesterday our 4 mnth old bitch(millie).. shes as cute as a button and she is good so far with the "sit,fetch,come... and she responds to her name... and a sharp whisle.... hoping to get her out in november on her own for he craic,, well be bringing her for the next few weeks up arond the feeders to get her used to the smell etc....

Hi flanum, i have a 2 year old lwellin bitch myself so i do. she's very very small but a great little dog. just dont make some of the mistakes i made in mine being too hasty to get her hunting.

first of all i had her out at 5 months old with an older lewellin and she was grand. first thing to remember -DONT EXPECT TOO MUCH FROM HER AT AN EARLY AGE.

second i trained her on the eletric collar and and also at home without on obidience training. i may have been a little too pushy with her on her first real season when she was a year and a half and again i expected too much from her and was a little dissapointed.

this year i have learned from my mistakes. i had her out last night with a few other setters and i let her do her own thing. the odd whistle and no shouting at her and i let her enjoy her hunt and she was the far better of it. i wont push her this year and i will let her progress on her own and i will be happy with what she does.

shes very skinny naturally but im going to have to beef her up now for the next two months with a good hour in the fields everyday and give her high protein feed to build up the muscle. im looking forward to hunting with her this year and i have promised myself no eletric training collars and no shouting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭premiercad

Hey flanum congrats on the dog..Have a 3 month dropper and this is my first dog to start training myself. If I was in your position Id take him out the odd day but I'd leave the gun at home when you do. I'd let your other mates shoot and let him honour a set or two maybe but remember you have a teenager on your hands nd you'll need both hands!. Any book I've read says the dog won't mature until at least 2 years. Therefore if Millie dosen't set or pay much intersest don't be disappointed. Let her take it all in and make sure she comes when called religiously before thinking of taking her out. Lot of bonding to do the next few months. Good luck! :)

Would a seperate sticky on dogs and training be an idea in this forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

premiercad wrote: »

Would a seperate sticky on dogs and training be an idea in this forum?

Good suggestion, there are a few other forums around with such...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

Introducing them young will help make them keen but will hamper steadiness. Nothing worse than a dog chasing a flushing bird or even racing for a retrieve while birds are still flushing.

I gave my current bitch short sessions in the field with game for her 'first' season. Now she's going on to her second real season and is a true pleasure to shoot with. Best to leave untrained dogs behind for a propor bit of shooting imho. I learned the hard way and endured an out of control bitch for her lifetime. You could put her into a bog and she'd flush every bird before she'd think of coming back. Wasn't her fault it was mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

ive got 2 at da moment flanum, ive gone through a couple of them at this stage.

A lot of lads i know have them. my youngest fella is 8 mths hes retrieving land and water, if he turns out like his parents he'll be a dinger..:D

im aiming to have him ready for next years season, but i might shoot a few birds for him around xmas depending on how well hes getting on..
    as epointer said she'l learn nothing in the pin..

but dont expect too much from a young dog ive seen setters take two yrs to start working properly, but then again that could have been the owners fault:rolleyes:

Take your time training her and best of luck! ;)