Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we sell the Dail to a Russian Oligarch

• 05-09-2009 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭

With NAMA falling apart and the only course of action being the Gilmore/Kenny proposal of inviting in the IMF, I want to help out.

So I have been coming up with proposals to help the Government that McCarthy wouldn't have thought of -him being an academic and all that.

My first plan is to sell the Dail to a Russian Oligarch and move the Oireachtas to a rented unit in an Industrial Estate outside Navan that you could get for an 18 month rent free option. If we got a few units we could sublet them to TV stations and newspapers.

That should raise a billion or so.

We can do more - so lets help the country out and put our heads together.

I think there are loads of ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I suppose it would be ok to give the Russians a laugh.

I suspect that many Oligarchs are even deeper in the shít than our own developers and I don't think that NAMASKI will be as generous to them.

Putin has been puttin in the boot to a few of them recently, forcing them to pay up and honour contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I was just wondering, do Russians fart?

Clashey.

jumpguy wrote: »
    I was just wondering, do Russians fart?

Clashey.

From the Urals... yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

I've always liked the colour red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Jaysus, I know things are bad, but surely this is just Putin the boot in. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Communism might work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I personally beleive we should sell all state property related to Health care and totally privatise the elephant in the room. We are spending 40% of total spend on this alone yet over 1 million Irish adults use the private system. We must kill socialised medicine in Ireland and cut at least 250,000 workers from the public service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

netwhizkid wrote: »
    I personally beleive we should sell all state property related to Health care and totally privatise the elephant in the room. We are spending 40% of total spend on this alone yet over 1 million Irish adults use the private system. We must kill people socialised medicine in Ireland and cut at least 250,000 workers from the public service.
    fyp

NAMA couldn't organise an ivory hunt in a room full of elephants!

True but it would look after the useless ivory hunters.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Communism might work

...as long as it's not a Fianna Fail leadership.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Russians would rename Ireland Inthesh1tia, to twin with Ingushetia, another oddity of a place under their control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

get rid of lenihan one minister less, then sack the guy they hired at a cost of 320,000 a year plus the perks for both, thats 1.2k per year, not much but a start, put the credit union in charge of finance, pass a law that the the serving, and retired members of the dail and seanad only recieve the o.a.p. nationalise all their private assets, (well leave them a house, a car and a generous bank debt), that should do for a start, i am sure someone will make a decision on the (w)bankers and the developers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

old boy wrote: »
    g thats 1.2k per year,

I like your grasp of economics old boy but its 1.2m, is that you Brian Cowan

pass a law that the the serving, and retired members of the dail and seanad only recieve the o.a.p. nationalise all their private assets, (well leave them a house, a car and a generous bank debt),

Can we house them in Killinarden and put them on the Luas.

Sell it to Michael O Leary:rolleyes:

galwayrush wrote: »
    Sell it to Michael O Leary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

& charge the Ministers extra for taking their papers in there and it actually work out far more expensive.

Now lads we are talking costcutting here.

So I propose changing the dail resterant into a Mc Donalds -euro saver menu you know,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

CDfm wrote: »
    With NAMA falling apart and the only course of action being the Gilmore/Kenny proposal of inviting in the IMF, I want to help out.

So I have been coming up with proposals to help the Government that McCarthy wouldn't have thought of -him being an academic and all that.

My first plan is to sell the Dail to a Russian Oligarch and move the Oireachtas to a rented unit in an Industrial Estate outside Navan that you could get for an 18 month rent free option. If we got a few units we could sublet them to TV stations and newspapers.

That should raise a billion or so.

We can do more - so lets help the country out and put our heads together.

I think there are loads of ways

Gilmore and Kenny's plan is to invite in the IMF?
    Why, that seems crazy. Could it be true?
    Of course not.
    I happen to favour Labour's idea; temporary nationalisation of the banks.
    It's the only way out of this.
    But who cares, eh?
    Sure the other ones are just as bad as that Fianna Fail crowd.
    And, jaysus, aren't we great craic.

feck forgot what i was going to say:p

Ya could say rent out Aras an Uachterann to a deposed leader of a South African country or as a holiday home for Mugabe.

We could give Mary McAleese a caretakers job in Farmleigh as its only accross the road.

netwhizkid wrote: »
    I personally beleive we should sell all state property related to Health care and totally privatise the elephant in the room. We are spending 40% of total spend on this alone yet over 1 million Irish adults use the private system. We must kill socialised medicine in Ireland and cut at least 250,000 workers from the public service.

You really don't understand healthcare.Do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Feck that, just give him Cowan's job.

Oh, and sell the book of Kells to Saudi Arabia

/recession

You really don't understand healthcare.Do you?

I think he does. In lots of European countries like holland healthcare is funded by private insurance and you pay around 13% of your salary for it.

Because healthcare is a blank check spending balloons which it has in Ireland -so much so that it does become nesscessary to have some mechanism to control it. A radical proposal if health care is not done like that it should be represented as a seperate tax.