Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Faculty of Tourism and Food

• 02-09-2009 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Any1 here from tourism and food faculty?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭campuslife

Hi Milda,

Judging from the group that have introduced themselves in the top thread - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055655367&page=3 there's seven or eight from "the Brugha" checking in.

The courses are numbered by Faculty, so anything starting with a DT4-- is in Faculty of Tourism and Food. Let us know if you have any questions - we'll do our best to answer them!

Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 dontuknowme

Milda wrote: »
    Any1 here from tourism and food faculty?:confused:

Me!! I'm starting DT401 anyone else?:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Martina_420

Hey there, im not doing your course but i am in the faculty of tourism and food i am starting DT420!
    how u feeling about starting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Milda

Thats great, Im going to do hospitality management. Im a bit nervous, dont know anyone there :(

how are yous feeling?:cool:

Milda wrote: »
    how are yous feeling?:cool:

pretty much the same... And I'm not even Irish I just moved to Dublin a couple of weeks ago ;) So everything is new for me... And I don't know anyone at all even near Dublin:)

But I think it's going to be a great time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭liambob1

DT422 pharmaceutical Health care here. Gooo on the Brugha :D

pretty much the same... And I'm not even Irish I just moved to Dublin a couple of weeks ago ;) So everything is new for me... And I don't know anyone at all even near Dublin:)

But I think it's going to be a great time...

Im not irish as well and I find it difficult meeting new people I'll probably be a loner :(

liambob1 wrote: »
    DT422 pharmaceutical Health care here. Gooo on the Brugha :D

we can all be buddies. The Brugha Boardzie crew :pac:

absolutely :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 chungy16

im starting dt 444

cool :cool:

hey
    i think its goin 2 be good fun!
    any1 in for orientation week starting monday?

hey
    i think its goin 2 be good fun!
    any1 in for orientation week starting monday?

I thought orientation week starts Monday 14th September?

nope it starts this monday...the 7th!
    enrolement starts next wednesday the 16th then 1st lectures r on the 21st!
    tats wat i hav down!
    what course u goin 2 be doing?

any of yous coming in on the 14th?:)

nope it starts this monday...the 7th!
    enrolement starts next wednesday the 16th then 1st lectures r on the 21st!
    tats wat i hav down!
    what course u goin 2 be doing?

Ah ok figured it out myself I think it's for students in the "access" programme. http://www.communitylinks.ie/accessservice/access-news/news-article/dit-access-service-orientation-programme-2009/ so I'll be coming in on the 14th as well i guess :)

I'm doing DT401 and you?

yep it sure is for the access programme...fun stuff all week i cant wait!
    whats on the 14th? i guess i will be up! I dont know anyone thats what has me worrying!
    im doing DT420!
    whats your course about?

International Hospitality Management. Should be fun I hope... But same thing here don't no anyone yet:(

DT422 here. Looks like we will be Brugha Buddies :D

it sure does look that way!
    you guys know anyone else going or doing your courses?
    i thought more people would be using this site!
    all the borads people from the buragh should arrange a meeting point or something!?

We should. Help everyone fit in better. A lot of people won't know anybody going in :pac:

Count me in... :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭JohnG18

Just so you guys know,

Anyone doing DT420, DT421 and DT422
    Thats Nutraceuticals, Food Innovation and Pharmaceutical HC

You will have a lot of classes together specifically Chemistry, Biology, Organic Chemistry, Possibly Physics and Maths. You will also have Nutrion with eachother and the 2nd year DT420s thats me.

Oh thanks for the tip!
    Im going to be doing DT420...same as u!
    whats it like?

Well I actually started off as a DT480 which was the precurser to DT421 and Dt422. I transfered via Advanced Entry into 420. We shared all the same classes.

Its first year science which can be fun but this year they made it better for first years. You get to do Introduction to Nutrion and instead of 2 business modules its compiled into Communications and Industry Studies.

You will have a great time in the labs cause thats when you have fun. Depending on the lecturer you will have to work hard in some of your classes. Some of them just make learning the stuff a sinch

oh well i dont mind a bit of hard work...i like a challenge!
    many in the course?
    college is going to be so different to school...i can see that now!

The course will prob have about 20 people in it but the actually lectures will be big. Don't be afraid to answer in lectures (even if its wrong) even though there are a lot of people the lecturers prefer this than everyone being shy and silent.

ok i shall try my best to speak up which was never a difficult task for me really! i love to talk and get involved!
    Thank you for all the tips!

thats good! it means there will be a boardsy or two in some of my classes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 GiantJ

I'm in faculty of tourism and food too, but i'm doing dt444, cant wait to start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MeetReality

Event Management for me...Feel like I'm the only person doing this haven't come across anyone else doing it..Anyone have timetable for induction day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 GiantJ

Induction starts at half eleven on wed 16th, thats what it said on DIT's site anyway

I'm in at 9 on the 14th, would just like to see a breakdown of whats happening that day.

It will be something remotely like this;

Quick game to get people to introduce themselves,
    The course coordinator will talk a little about the course,
    Break,
    DITSU will do an introduction and you will most likely meet either Jen Jordan, Sean Cambell or Tracey Flinter,
    Then you will have the option for a tour or go straight to registration(there will be a big queue in the KOS and half the people will need to fill in the form)
    Then you are free to do as you please but most likely will end up in The Living Room(consider this your local) signing up for an Ulster Student Account for a free Freshers Ball ticket(assuming they offer this again this year)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭claret

Event Management for me...Feel like I'm the only person doing this haven't come across anyone else doing it..Anyone have timetable for induction day?
    I'm 2nd yr Event...we'll be using you freshers to help out with our events..you're going to need the hours for your work experience!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pamela1990

Hey! Im doing event management too! Cant wait :)

Claret can you give me some info about the course from a students point of view please and thanks!

Oh god someone else doing it haha hi

How was the first day lads?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭claret

MeetReality & Pamela, welcome to the best course in the Brugha :)

I'm warning you now that first year is very basic, but that is the same in every course. You need to cover the foundations before you understand everything. A lot of people dropped out of 1st year last year because they found it boring - but it really isn't, believe me.

Word of advice - GO TO YOUR LECTURES!! It's fine if you miss a few, but Event Management is such a small course that Lucy (Course Co-ordinator) and Mary (1st yr tutor) will know and will soon pull you up on your absence. Oh, get on the right side of these two and you will be sorted for the next 4 years!

You've got 200 hours of work experience to do for Event Operations - volunteer for everything you can get your hands on. I got to do some really cool things - Off the Rails in the RDS, St Patricks Festival etc - and made some great contacts. 200 hours may seem like a lot but you'll get through it very quickly. Befriend any 2nd year you can - you'll get LOADS of hours from them while they're organising their events!!

Something that we came across last year...if you have a bad lecturer, do something about it sooner rather than later. We learned that the hard way. Something WILL be done about it!!

If you have any questions don't hesitate to PM me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Darryl-08

Anyone doing DT407 i.e Culinary Arts??

I dont no anyone doing it and am bricking it ...:(

anyone gots any tips for me? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 agaetisbyrjun

Darryl-08 wrote: »
    Anyone doing DT407 i.e Culinary Arts??

I dont no anyone doing it and am bricking it ...:(

anyone gots any tips for me? :)

Hey, I'm doing Culinary Arts too, don't know anyone either :o

Maybe see/ talk to ya on Wednesday? We're in at 9.00 right? :)

Niamh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Darryl-08

Hey, I'm doing Culinary Arts too, don't know anyone either :o

Maybe see/ talk to ya on Wednesday? We're in at 9.00 right? :)

Niamh

Aww thank god someone else haha i tot i was on my own there for a minute haha

Ye i will haha sure by the sounds of it there cant be many of us :P
    yup 9:00 :O

Have u facebook or bebo or anything?? :P
    My bebo is:
    www.bebo.com/Darryl_2k9
    and facebook is:
    darryl.murphy@hotmail.com

add me sure least then we wont be total loners come wednesday haha

Darryl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

Im in dt417 meself..havnt heard anyone say that there doing it so im kinda worried about that..bar studies and managment..ah well..im not in til 11 in the morning though..i presume we will be out early enough will we?!