Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW Tourareg

• 02-09-2009 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭

I am torn between a 2.5tdi tourareg and a 3 series convertable in around the 20k mark I know complete oppisite vehicles. I am familiar with the 3 series but was wondering about opinions on the VW are they heavy on fuel, how reliable are they, etc... anyone?

Cheers
    Tony

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Check out the cost of a simple oil change on that VW. It's horrendous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

I've heard a few people refer to them as 'Toe-rags'.... I take that as not being a good sign:pac:.

Ah no, seriously, I nearly bought one, but the VW garage in question were playing silly beggars so I took my money elsewhere(try being a babyfaced female buying a commercial jeep......it isn't fun:rolleyes:)

The V6 is the best bet if you're going buying one so I hear, as it has a bit more poke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 timekeeper

ive heard the toureg can be quite troublesome..
    and you know vw's they wouldnt be cheap for parts.
    also heard they shred tyres extremely quick!
    buy the bmw!

^^^^^^^hence 'Toe-rag' :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The 2.5 TDi Toureg is a dog from what I have heard and read. The 3.0 TDi is supposed to be much better.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

From a UK motoring forum.....

"oil is castrol longlife 3 which
    retails at £13.40 per litre -your oil capacity should be
    8.9ltrs so approx £120 for oil alone".

So add filter, labour, extra VAT, and allow for some "Rip Off Ireland" add on you are looking at several hundred €+ for a simple oil change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

you are looking at several hundred €+ for a simple oil change.

That's immaterial compared to depreciation. A second hand €20k Touareg will depreciate €5k during the first year of ownership. At least.

From a UK motoring forum.....

"oil is castrol longlife 3 which
    retails at £13.40 per litre -your oil capacity should be
    8.9ltrs so approx £120 for oil alone".

So add filter, labour, extra VAT, and allow for some "Rip Off Ireland" add on you are looking at several hundred €+ for a simple oil change.

You woudn't buy it by the litre though would you ?
    No doubt a 4 or 5 L container will be cheaper.
    I agree with the above post, depreciation is the factor really.

They're know as Toe rags because the correct name is pronounced Toe reg, not because they are a bad car.

I accept your points regarding depreciation. In the example I quoted the chap was charged STG£313 for an oil change. It all adds up I guess.

RoverJames wrote: »
    They're know as Toe rags because the correct name is pronounced Toe reg, not because they are a bad car.

I only ever heard it in the derogatory sense tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I drive a Toureg from time to time. It's 3.0 V6 and in a straight line it's pretty quick. It handles like a boat and gets between 18-22mpg urban

The one I drive came from the UK and is specced up to the last and I have to say the cabin is a nice place to be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭siralfalot

RoverJames wrote: »

I dunno, I heard several owners refer to them as "The fc*kin Toe-rag "

it has never sounded like a compliment to me :confused:

siralfalot wrote: »
    I dunno, I heard several owners refer to them as "The fc*kin Toe-rag "

it has never sounded like a compliment to me :confused:

My point exactly:)

Thirsty feckers about town tho aren't they?? Even my yoke manages about 27mpg in an urban situation.

There ya go OP, another reason to buy the Beemer:p

I never said it was a compliment, they were know as Toe Rags from launch in slang terms. It's a play on words, quite simple really, don't ye see it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Tony255

Thats me decided BMW it is, thanks lads the last thing I want is a massive money pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Chef-1st

I have a 2.5lt R5 Touareg. I love "The Beast".
    I agree, it can give problems, and it is a bit smokey. (a regular fuel additive cures that though)
    It takes 9lts of oil on a change alright, but it uses longlife oil, so changes are less frequent, so in theory, it costs less.
    I do the services myself, VW garage charges about €450 !!
    The cabin is a wonderful place to be, that's what made me decide on it.
    Leather, sat-nav, air-con, roomy, comfy, great positional view on the road, one of the safest 4x4's out there (very high NCAP rating).
    Have to say though, you have to get a good one, that has been cared for.
    And I'd go for the 3lt auto next time. (the 6-speed manual can be a pain sometimes).
    I'm fairly economical too, 30-34mpg, which is good for a big 4x4.

I do like the BMW, but everyone and their mother has one.
    Very very very economical all the same.
    I drove a new 3series, great, lovely drive, but by god is that a boring interior.
    And BMW service/parts are huge money. Nice car, but too "the norm" for me.