Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic Corps stupidity

• 01-09-2009 6:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

I was driving around Limerick on the M7 this morning, in the 120kph zone when I came across the astounding stupidity I have come across on the roads.

3 guards and a panda car skulking in the hard shoulder under a bridge, barely off the road. Hidden until you were about 100m away thanks to the heavy rain.

WTF were they thinking. They could get away with this kind of bs when it was a dual carriageway with a limit of 100 but its complete madness to block the hard shoulder of a motorway, especially when visibility was so poor.

I understand that they need to police speeders but surely they can find a way thich doesnt endanger public safety.

One of the guards was standing behind the door of his car with a hairdryer, with the car pointing the wrong way on the road.The edge of the door was barely 6 inches over the line. If someone had clipped it he would have been decapitated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Do you normally drive on the hard shoulder? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Adam Selene

No, he was barely off the road, hidden from approaching cars, in a dangerous position. The road conditions were terrible. Someone braking could have skidded into the car. Someone could have clipped the door and decapitated the fool.

He was showing a disregard for his own safety and the safety of other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

No, he was barely off the road, hidden from approaching cars, in a dangerous position. The road conditions were terrible. Someone braking could have skidded into the car. Someone could have clipped the door and decapitated the fool.

He was showing a disregard for his own safety and the safety of other road users.

report it.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Not relating to this incident but so many people actually do drive in the chuffing hard shoulder and use it as a lane. What's the story with that? The OP has a point ONLY because gobsheens do this all the time. It is a yellow/orange dotted line FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Adam Selene

There are a fair few learners driving on the hard shoulder of the M7 at the moment. They only upgraded the road on sunday and some learner drivers still find their way onto it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I know the area under the Tipperary flyover. I do not think this is a suitable activity for the Gardai to be carrying out on a motorway.

It was fine when it was a dual carraigeway but the high speed of 120kph coming over that hill with them pulling traffic over could cause serious accidents.

They will have to move their money racket some place else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

There are a fair few learners driving on the hard shoulder of the M7 at the moment. They only upgraded the road on sunday and some learner drivers still find their way onto it.

I saw 15 cars on the M7 side(Limerick) today with L plates in their windows and all were solo drivers.

They could have been Full license holders and the OH at home could be the L Driver. I passed others with L plates but with passengers but I think its safe to say the majority of those drivers were not supposed to be on those roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

No Driver, be they learner, experienced, old fart etc should ever drive on a hard shoulder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Berty wrote: »
    I saw 15 cars on the M7 side(Limerick) today with L plates in their windows and all were solo drivers.

They could have been Full license holders and the OH at home could be the L Driver. I passed others with L plates but with passengers but I think its safe to say the majority of those drivers were not supposed to be on those roads.
    regards the drivers with l plates, i have a full licence but my gf is learnin to drive, is it ok to leave the l plates up when i'm drivin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

guil wrote: »
    regards the drivers with l plates, i have a full licence but my gf is learnin to drive, is it ok to leave the l plates up when i'm drivin

Might as well put up a sign saying hello. A very, very unlikely situation will be getting stopped for driving on motorway with L plates. If it is you driving with full license, just show your license and be on your merry way. If it is the girlfriend and she is on her own, count herself very unlucky to be stopped. You could use this as an oppurtunity to push for mini skirts and low cut tops when in the car at all times !!:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

They probably think its still only a dual carriage way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Berty wrote: »

I am on L plates for the last 6 years, comes with having 4 offspring between 17- 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

These are possibly the same dopey gards who thought/think that trapping on the central reservation was/is a good idea. I have seen them a number of times doing that on the Limerick bypass.

One slip from an HGV and the whole lot of them would be wiped out

Stupid behaviour , the senior office who sanctions such actions ( assuming he/she knows of course ) should be shown how dangerous this is by sitting through a few safety videos.

The hard shoulder of a motorway is possibly one of the most dangerous places that a normal person is likely to end up .

To MagicMarker , no I imagine the OP does not drive on the hard shoulder but it would only take a moments inattiontion to drift onto there , you see HGVs drifting onto there all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭spartan1

i sometimes veer over the hard shoulder, by accident, or by carelessness, so if they were in a stoopid place then an accident can happen.......its why they call it an accident, and whatever, point the finger and blame someone after it happens, but someone will have still lost their daddy, let everypne look out for themselves ( I had my foot on the crossing before the car was close, thats no problem sir, the driver has admitted that, but your still paralysed)

.......they were trying to be smart, id report them, danger to themselves and others if they are that close to the lane, and anyway , Im not sure they're allowed to be sitting on a hard shoulder if its an undesignated spot for them