Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

60x30 Senior Singles: Kennedy vs. McCarthy

• 01-09-2009 8:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭

Is there any looking past Kennedy for the title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭hughes2558

Nah has to be Kennedy. He has dispatched with all challengers with such ease so far. Mccarthy will win titles in the future but not quite yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kannon

I think you are right. It would be nice to see the title switch hands a bit though. It used to be always Duxie, now its always Kennedy. I think it's lost its edge for spectators now because you just expect Kennedy to win every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

In fairness to Kennedy he is pretty awesome in the big court so he deserves all the wins he gets. What age is McCarthy? very tidy player too. Seen him play a few times in his home venue at Mulingar. It will be good experience for him, but I think its probably a bit much to expect him to turn over Kennedy.

Mccarthy is 21. Has promised a lot from Juvenile and Minor level but hasnt really delivered at the very top yet. It is a shame that the title isnt shared around more but you just have to admire Kennedy for his brilliance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Yes you did read correctly, and yes I just fooled you into a handball thread (or gaahandball as it's now known..)
    Westmeath’s Robbie McCarthy will be hoping to end the county’s 84 year handball famine when he takes on Dublin’s Eoin Kennedy at Croke Park on Saturday next. The Lake County have never won a Senior Singles Softball title, but McCarthy is hoping that he can write a new chapter in Westmeath’s handball history.

eoin_2.jpg

“I’ve always dreamed of playing in an All-Ireland Senior Final and I’m really looking forward to it,” said the 21-year-old from Mullingar. “I have a huge challenge ahead of me, but that’s what handball is all about - rising to the challenges.”

McCarthy’s opponent is also aiming to make his own piece of history. Kennedy will bid for a sixth consecutive All-Ireland Senior Softball Singles crown on Saturday, and incredibly, is also aiming for a 20th senior title across all handball codes.

At just 30-years-of age, Kennedy has already amassed nine senior softball titles and eight senior hardball crowns, as well as a 40x20 senior singles and doubles All-Ireland. “It’s something I would never have imagined as being possible 10 years ago,” said Kennedy.

“I suppose that in itself gives me great confidence because I feel I can perform and win on the big occasion when the pressure is at its greatest.”

On Saturday, he will rub shoulders with a young man who dominated the underage handball scene until breaking into the senior ranks two years ago.

“Robbie is incredibly talented and can pull some amazing shots out of the bag when under pressure,” said the St Brigid’s clubman.“

It’s hard to believe that he is only 21; it seems like he has been around for years. The former World 19 and Under champion, McCarthy, has proven he is good enough to mix with the best seniors, defeating Mayo’s Dessie Keegan and Wexford’s Gavin Buggy on route to the final.

The Westmeath man in under no illusions about the hurdle that faces him on Saturday, but having already secured his place on the Irish Squad bound for Portland, Oregon next month, he is happy with his season’s work. “Making the final was my first goal and now that I’m there, I’ll give it everything I have; hopefully my best will be enough to win.”

I think Eoin Kennedy is the Paul Brady of the big alley, he's simply better then the rest. Video - 'Handball Legend', Eoin Kennedy

Anyone care to voice any opinions!?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Up the Dub.:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Yes handball falls under ospices of the GAA so by all means plug it.

blackbelt wrote: »
    Up the Dub.:D:D:D

Come on you boy in blue? :D
    Yes handball falles under ospices of the GAA so by all means plug it.

This is less of a plug, and more wanting a thread on something I definitly can talk a bit about! Kennedy is already a handball legend, going for his 6th singles title in a row. As much as McCarthy is a young and fit compeditor I don't see him standing much of a chance.

Yes know Handball got a fair bit of coverage when DJ was playing it. How did Brady from Cavan do in championships this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

And don't forget about the ladies footballers who have a chance to reach the all ireland final today.

http://dublinladiesgaelic.ie/

just an idea but anyone in favour of a dublin gossip/team news thread for other sports like camogie handball and Ladies football.

Yes know Handball got a fair bit of coverage when DJ was playing it. How did Brady from Cavan do in championships this year

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0612/bradyp.html

The fceker won the US Nationals keeping all oppenents to single scores in each game!

Needless to say he won Ireland (small alley), and even more needless to say he will probably win the World Championships in a month!

Cliste wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0612/bradyp.html

The fceker won the US Nationals keeping all oppenents to single scores in each game!

Needless to say he won Ireland (small alley), and even more needless to say he will probably win the World Championships in a month!
    Was at the last world final in Croke Park. Remember the game where one guy went down. And I think it was Brady (maybe the other way round) who allowed the other guy to recover from what seemed to be cramp. Thought it was very sporting of him.

Folks anyone interested have set up a board for Dublin GAA which hopefully will get the approval from the mods. Dont know if you want to promote your sports independently but i think a general thread which discusses all sports with Dublin GAA is a good idea.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055673150

Afaik it was Brady.. He had used up all his timeouts and went down with cramp sometime in the third game. His opponent Tony Healy then used one of his timeouts to allow Brady time to recover from the cramp. Healy is one of the nicest guys you could ever hope to meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

hughes2558 wrote: »
    Afaik it was Brady.. He had used up all his timeouts and went down with cramp sometime in the third game. His opponent Tony Healy then used one of his timeouts to allow Brady time to recover from the cramp. Healy is one of the nicest guys you could ever hope to meet.

I keep saying the G.A.A is unique. Very sporting ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Dublin all ireland thread merged in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Anyone any idea who won today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Kennedy won 7, 7
    Cooney won 14, 0.

Handball is the only gaa sport with good honest sportsmanship! Anybody who understands the game will know this.

Theres a clip of Kennedy V Brady form the 40X20 nationals earlier in the year below
    http://vimeo.com/6387323

sorry what was final result of Kennedys game?

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Kennedy won 7, 7
    Cooney won 14, 0.

Handball is the only gaa sport with good honest sportsmanship! Anybody who understands the game will know this.

Theres a clip of Kennedy V Brady form the 40X20 nationals earlier in the year below
    http://vimeo.com/6387323
    sorry what was final result of Kennedys game?

Look above. 21-7, 21-7

thanks. didnt read score right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Was at the last world final in Croke Park. Remember the game where one guy went down. And I think it was Brady (maybe the other way round) who allowed the other guy to recover from what seemed to be cramp. Thought it was very sporting of him.

Paul Brady has always been a gent. Like all Cavan men :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Lemlin wrote: »
    Paul Brady has always been a gent. Like all Cavan men :D

Bar that one incident of getting a cramp while an oppostition player was unfortunately lying underneath his foot ;)
    But I wont take away from his handball skills, he is a legend and a fantastic competitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Great to see a handball thread here for a change.

I was at the finals Saturday night (I go virtually every year) and have to say Kennedy looked better than ever. It's hard to see him being beaten for at least the next 3 years anyway. His normal hard running precision game was accentuated with some excellent killing, which has always been one of the gripes some have over his game - he doesn't do enough of it. McCarthy played some excellent shots but just made too many mistakes and didn't kill enough himself - you won't outrun Kennedy.

Also want to congratulate Stephen Cooney on an excellent minor win. While I expected him to win, he really did it in style. Another All-Ireland win for Mayo by a Rossie :)

sorry was what final score. RTE had it at 21-9 21-7 on Sunday Game?

The senior match was indeed 21-9, 21-7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

gucci wrote: »
    Bar that one incident of getting a cramp while an oppostition player was unfortunately lying underneath his foot ;)
    But I wont take away from his handball skills, he is a legend and a fantastic competitor.

He left the field on a stretcher that day so I'd believe he did have cramp.

Lemlin wrote: »
    He left the field on a stretcher that day so I'd believe he did have cramp.

Brady is a completely different animal on the football field than on the handball court he is a gunner like!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

any footage of this online. Id love to see a bit more of the game!

Fair play to Kennedy, Ive seen him a couple of times and he gets around the alley so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Darlie

Couldn't find a thread on the doubles final, so apologies for posting in here. Do people think that Saturdays final will live up to last years semi between the same teams? That match was the best handball match I've ever seen, singles or doubles, small alley or big.

Unfortunately missed that semi last year, but anyone who saw it seems to agree with you as to it being the best match they ever saw.

Hopefully this year's final will be as good, but even if it's half as good it should be very enjoyable.

I expect the minor doubles to be a very good game also, but the Mayo lads to be too solid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

really looking forward to this. didnt really follow handball last year and heard that this was an amazing match. so rematchs are always good, especially at this level