Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

running advice!!

• 31-08-2009 6:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

ok, I'm a 19 yr old girl and not a bit athletic. I been on about it now for the last few weeks and decided to do it....everyones mocking me saying I wont do it which is making me worse...I want to start running,,,but dont know where to start.

I know I need to get up but some how I dont think if i get up and start running its going to work, again I have no level of fitness!!! I need some advice on what to do and how to get started my overall goal is to run the city marathon next year!!! However hopeful that is I still want to try!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭pug_

A good place to start would be the cool running couch to 5k in 2 months program....

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

If you follow that you'll be up and running in no time.

One thing you should do though is invest in a good pair of running shoes, cheap ones might get you started but if you intend to keep it up they'll only cause you problems in the long run (terrible pun).

I was pretty much like your self this time last year with zero level of fitness, I started the gym route but didn't really like it so gave it up after a few months and started running instead and haven't looked back since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 _kier_

right that was actually helpful but i live like in the suburbs i was readin u do walk/run alternativley (cant spell) but did you not feel weird or like a lunatic doin that constantly theres a gaa pitch up the road from me i could go there but would feel weird just walking around it if you get me...i feel like i a stupid girl sayin that but its true!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Think of yourself becoming a runner for the first few months. Then you can worry about the marathon itself next year. The best way to become a runner is to run really regularly. So start off really small and build up gradually. Whatever routine you set up for yourself, stick to it really rigidly. Really really rigidly. Over the next six months, try to get to a level where you are running a small amount six days per week. Below is a possible schedule:

Weeks 1-4: Run 3 times per week, 10-15 minutes for each run
    Weeks 5-8: Run 4 times per week, 10-20 minutes for each run
    Weeks 9-12: Run 5 times per week, 10-20 minutes for each run
    Weeks 13-16: Run 5 times per week, 15-20 minutes for each run
    Weeks 17-20: Run 5 times per week, 15-25 minutes for each run
    Weeks 21-24: Run 6 times per week, 15-25 minutes for each run

I would advise setting out the exact lengths of time for each run before the week begins and then sticking to those times. It doesn't matter at all if some days are faster than others but you shouldn't stop to walk at all. If you get through all that you'll be well on your way :)

Hope it goes well for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

_kier_ wrote: »
    right that was actually helpful but i live like in the suburbs i was readin u do walk/run alternativley (cant spell) but did you not feel weird or like a lunatic doin that constantly theres a gaa pitch up the road from me i could go there but would feel weird just walking around it if you get me...i feel like i a stupid girl sayin that but its true!!!!

It does feel odd when you start out. But honestly, just do it. There are thousands of us out on the street running/jogging/walking even in Cork :) Just look out the window. You'll find that people are not the slightest interested what you're doing.

Start this evening - go on, put on your runners and off out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭pug_

Of course you'll feel a bit self conscious about at first it's only natural. Running is something you've never done before and when you see everyone else doing it and looking like they know what they're at you'll probably want to be like them as quickly as possible.

Honestly don't let how you feel or look bother you at first. I often see beginner runners out and about, and I think to myself 'fair play, good on you' because I know it can be difficult to get up and go out there in the first place. After you've done it a few times you'll realise it's not so bad and people generally ignore you completely, believe it or not seeing someone starting out running is not all that interesting to most.

There's nothing wrong with walking when out on a run by the way a lot of runners do it at any level. This morning for example I was out for a 15 mile run as part of my training for this years marathon and I was having a bad day. The first 10 miles went okay, but after that my legs started to feel a bit tired and I had to walk a lot of the last 5 miles. To some I may have looked a bit silly at 7 O'Clock in the morning walking down the road in the middle of nowhere with my running gear on, but I didn't care in the slightest it's just part of it now for me.

Just don't let your own fear of how others perceive you put you off because if you do you'll never do any running. If you go the other route and go out the door trying to look like a professional with no experience behind you you'll probably give up very quickly because like it or not you have to build up stamina before you can run any kind of distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭canireally

hey guys, i'm the same, just beginning to run, and i was just wondering.. as its nearly winter and its going to be getting dark soon (oh joy!!) is there anywhere in Cork to run when it gets dark in the evenings, just in cos the roads might not be that safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

What part of Cork are you thinking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Honestly, just go out and do it! I was a complete beginner to running a couple of months ago, I hadn't done sport in over 12 years. Now I regularly go out running and can see my fitness improving every week. I have been using the Couch to 5k Podcasts - they consist of a 30 minute podcast with a guy telling you when to run and when to walk, it starts easy with 60 seconds walking, 60 seconds running and so on, and each week builds up so you're doing more running. They can be downloaded from: http://www.ullreys.com/robert/Podcasts/page6/page6.html

I find with the podcasts, having someone telling you what to do makes it easier to keep going even when you're finding the running portion hard. As another poster said, there's nothing wrong with walking during the run, lots of people do it and it's better to take a little walk break and then be able to run further, rather than wrecking yourself and then giving up completely. I won't lie, there will be times when you wonder why you're putting yourself through it, but that will be outweighed by feeling great afterwards and during the times when you're running and you actually enjoy it :)

It is hard to make the move at first to go out and do it, I felt self conscious at the start too but you do get used to it. People are too busy concentrating on their own stuff to notice what you're doing, and if they do give you grief, well, that says more about them than it does about you.

I also started a thread in the Running Logs so I could track my progress and it is a way of accounting to myself that I am keeping to my schedule. Maybe you could do one too, or create a private log yourself? I definitely found that useful. Everyone here is very helpful too and I have learned lots and been inspired from reading the other logs.

Best of luck and let us know how you are getting on!

thanks so much for all the replys....i still havent gone out!!! i do plan on going tonight though! the person i was meant to go wit that said theyd help me bailed and the my friend has a good level of fitness so dont really wanna go with her you know....

that link you sent there is there any way you could tell me how i download it to put it on my ipod im listenin to it in the back ground there and it seems very good but not sure bout how i get it on my ipod!!!! technology retarded im afraid!!

im glad its not only me that was havin problems wit lookin weird at the start think im just goin to give it socks tonight and go for it lke!!! thanks again for everyone supporting me even though ye dont know me....ye dunno how nice it feels not to actually be knocked!!!!

found how i put it on....im off now for a run im going for it.....might just be a walk depends how conscious i feel!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

found how i put it on....im off now for a run im going for it.....might just be a walk depends how conscious i feel!!!

Good on ya, getting out the front door is the hardest bit. Let us know how you get on, we'll be waiting for the news :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

everyones mocking me saying I wont do it which is making me worse...I want to start running
    Fair play to you is what i say! they'll soon shut their gobs when you're out running regular so pass no heed on them.

Great advice given already but i'll reiterate what one or two said about starting slowly and building up bit by bit. If you do too much too soon you'll end up hating it and possibly injured... do your own thing and you'll know instinctivly after a few runs how far to push it each time.

all the very best!