Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problems with Neighbours

• 31-08-2009 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm a 19 year old and female.

My family and I live in a housing estate. We basically have a problem in that several of the neighbour around us have taken an intense disliking to us. Especially one around the the back.

It started about 2 years ago when we got a puppy who in fairness to them did bark a bit, after trying to train her/tire her out, tried all everything we could to keep her quiet, we accepted that it was improper to keep the dog as she WAS annoying the neighbours and rehomed her. The neighbours around the back complained, pretty much every other week. Again this was our fault about the dog. She DID bark at night sometimes. You won't hear me saying they weren't in their rights to complain about the dog or expect something to be done about it.

They were a couple and man and a woman and the man would always show up at night and shout. Fine, that was entirely his prerrogative. The dog was annoying them and even though he was very shouty and liked to point his finger and poke me in the face or in the chest when he was shout i didn't say anything to anyone because to be honest i was very intimidated by it. I'm not a very confident person, i don't often leave the house anymore either.

After we got rid of the dog we started to get letters telling us that if we didn't stop the incessant nuisance barking caused by our dog they would be contacting the authorities. Considering how the dog was gone, we ignored the letter. A few weeks later i got answered the door to the neighbour from round the back who was very irate, effing and blinding about how his wife was 9 months pregnant and she couldn't sleep because our "f*****g dogs were always barking". I tried to explain the dog was gone, i offered to show him around the house and prove there was no dog, but he called me a liar and said he would set foot into our house, because that would be "falling to your level". To be honest telling him there was no dog irritated him more. He was kicking the door frame, poking me in the chest, calling me names. Eventaully he said that if the dog wasn't sorted out he would "sort me out once and for all".

We continue to get letters saying the dog warden had been notified and we would be fined and prosecuted. This guy would sign these letters as from being the street i live on, the street he lives on and the street that runs along the bottom of the two joining them. This has been going on for just under a year now and none of our other neightbours have complained about any noise, not even when we had the dog.

Recently this guy has taken to walking around to the street we live on and and standing outside our house, and staring in for like five or ten minutes and walking off again. He does this every couple of days usually in the evenings, though when my mam was taking my little sister to school she said she saw him standing outside and told him to get lost. He gave out to her about how he couldn't sleep because the dog was barking so much and then told her it was a free country and he could stand where he wanted to, and watched them get into the car before he flicked her the finger walked off. The one time i saw him outside and asked him to leave he spat on me and walked off.

Its basically just the three of us and its getting increasingly intimidating. I don't know what to do. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

Ring the police??? His behaviour is not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Call the Police. There is no way that you should have to suffer that kind of abuse.

Ring the police, report him for harrassment, get one of those orders, safety order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Log down as much as you can of each incident. you need to get far more assertive with this scumbag;he's either delusional or looking for a fight.

When you've logged down everything and if he still hasn't left you alone,threaten him with the guards. if this doesn't work call the guards. He is harrassing you and his behaviour is violent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Reflector

he's a bully, write down everything and give it to the police as a statement. if he calls to the door again you have to inform him that you have alerted the police and they are aware of the situation and he is not to call in again. If this doesn't work get a barring order, he'll soon cop on when uniformed guards are calling on his door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

the next time he calls to your house, tell him either he rings the police, or you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Call the police - you have been assaulted.

Poked in the chest repeatedly
    &
    Spat on
    &
    Intimidated - stalked - staring in your house...

This guys sounds mental - definitely contact the gards asap and get some proper advice - he might be known and maybe them calling around might put an end to his carrying-on.

He might see that you do not like standing up to him and is getting his jollies off by being a bully...

So show you are not afraid - head held high and call the cops. Who knows he really could be off his rocker on drugs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

i wanna scream something bad out here but cant

he sounds like a twat and deserve's a punch and then some

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Call the police. He has both assaulted and harassed you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭rororoyourboat

Hi OP,

Please call the Gardaí! Or if you can get a male relative or friend to stay with ye, so that when this crazy guy turns up outside the house he sees that ye are not alone?

I was once in your position; a very intimidating man moved in a few doors down and accused our family and several others of allowing our dogs to bark at all hours of the night. (Most of his accusations were completley untrue, by the way - I never heard any of these all-night barking sessions!) He intimidated quite a few of the women on the street, never the men :rolleyes:.

Anyway, he was caught trying to break into someone's garden and poison their dogs. Several men on the street confronted him about it and he backed down. Think he moved away in the end. In this case the Gardaí weren't involved but to be honest I think they would be your best bet!

Best of luck!

I hope you can get this sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

Yep.Call the guards,he's harassing you.Take notes of each incident for the guards.Keep all the letters he's sending you.If you can, get a couple of hardy male relatives to stay with you and confront the guy when he starts staring at ye,it might scare him off.He sounds nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 newbie2009

This sounds awful. He has already assaulted so get the police onto him, filing an official report may scare him off. Keep a diary of every incident and why not go to a solicitor and seek advice regarding his harrassing you. Sounds like he has become fixated with ye and he needs to be stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

If a strange man was staring at my house..... i'd be onto the gaurds straight away

If someone assulted me at my own front door....i'd be onto the gaurds straight away

If someone was cursing and shouting at me at my door.....i'd be onto the gaurds straight away

You'll notice a trend here... how have you not done this already?????
    He really needs to know what level HE has bought it to, dont be a push over, stand up for your right to live in peace and enjoy the SECURITY of your own home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

TirNaNog, please note for the future that advocating violence on PI and RI is strictly prohibited as per the charter.

Ta,

Xiney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I don't get what your parents are doing about this?

As 17 year old at the start of all events you should have told your parents.

I am really surprised that any parent would let a man intimidated their children in this manner. They should call the police and file a complaint. Not really anything you should be doing except avoid the man.