Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chance to Rate a young Garda`s Performance under stress !

• 30-08-2009 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055666686

The U-Tube clip in post #12 is where it kicks off..the rest is heresay I suspect !!

Wonder if any ES people have an opinion on this topic ??

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

More Indymedia drivel which as usual has been edited in the favour of the so called peaceful protester. Check out 1.37 minutes into the video when the Garda is talking with the tourists and suddenly is beside the protester. I have never seen anyone move so fast.

Fair play to the Garda. I think he had grounds enough for the S8 POA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Id be nearly taking him in for obstruction! And i know where id be putting that camera!

I would back this member up 100%!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

That young Garda was absolutely excellent and dealt with the situation 100% and under a lot of pressure, Its a pity that someone can't turn a camera on the protestor and show his actual behaviour, why should people have to be offended by these assholes when walking the main streets of our towns, be he'll be missing from his protest the day he has to collect his social welfare from the state and gladly accept his state handout that comes from the likes of that Garda's pay packet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

They must have taken their editing cues from Cops With Cameras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

They must have taken their editing cues from Cops With Cameras

:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭DCTF

Well done that Garda, didn't get wound up by the protester. We can assume that he gave the direction under s8 properly, heard him explain in ordinary language, heard him arrest him under s24 for offence contrary to s8 and caution the protestor.

Couldn't see that going anyway but the Garda's in court, to be honest I think the video is more detrimental to the protestor.

Well done to the member concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I'm all for free speech but that protestor was a tit. Everyone was 'abusing him', the old guy, the guard. Life must be hard for him! The young Garda was more than fair with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Removed by poster due to high expectation of seeing post on indy type site.

Sorry folks but I fear this whole thing is out there to elicit publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The garda did a great job. +1 on keeping a cool head.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Anyone knows this Garda, give him a clap on the back. Complete pro. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Well done to the Garda,
    Great to see him giving respect to all involved despite the nuisance of having a camera pointed in his face,The Garda new his role, the legislation and handled it perfectly.
    The guy recording got all the chances he needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭norrie_1001

Brilliantly handled by the member. He should have no trouble with getting a conviction in court. I dunno if I would have been as cool and polite with the protestor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

It`s interesting to note on the other thread relating to "The Suppression of Free Speech In Galway,Ireland" that some posters are referring to making a complaint to the Garda Ombudsman re the Members conduct.

Based upon what is available on this clip,is it open to individuals to contact the Ombdsmans Office to SUPPORT that Garda`s actions ?

I would be wary of the well oiled propaganda machines of the "Committed Activists" being used to attack the Garda for doing his duty.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Based upon what is available on this clip,is it open to individuals to contact the Ombdsmans Office to SUPPORT that Garda`s actions ?

Tbh (although fair play for you thinking of it and all) I dont think GSOC would listen to anyone but those who were at the scene.

But on that any member of the public can make a complain.......and of course the flip of that is that any member of the public can commend a member on his actions with a letter to the local supt. Doesnt happen often, but its always nice to get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I've got to love the responce of the Gardai in Galway, a paddy wagon and an extra 6? gardai in the space of a span of a camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Your man was just talking over the Garda all the time preventing himm from getting his point across, and I agree with brayblue on this, the video was intended for publicity and we are giving it just that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

donvito99 wrote: »
    the video was intended for publicity and we are giving it just that...

And why not? It has obviously backfired on the guy. He intended it to show AGS in a negative light and it has done the complete opposite. I think you'd be hard pressed to find a cooler Garda. He really is that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Unless the copper was standing there for duration of the whole incident he's a wee bit of a breagóir

Mate of mine had a similar incident years back, got punched in the face by some bouncer and when the law showed up one of them declared that he knew said bouncer was a decent, upstanding citizen and that such an event could never have occurred. My mate pointed out the garda wasnt there at the time so he didnt have a clue what actuallly happened. Legal drama ensued :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Bambi wrote: »
    Unless the copper was standing there for duration of the whole incident he's a wee bit of a breagóir...

It was yer man's behaviour after that garda showed up that got him arrested. You may have missed the part where the garda gave him a lawful instruction to leave the area, in which case no further action would be taken. He was ready to let it drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Well done to that Garda, no training could fully prepare you for that kind of situation. Cant be easy with a camera in your face, any self doubt would let you down badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Legally what is the position regarding using the camera?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭ria5000

fair play to the member. i think he did us all proud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

prinz wrote: »
    It was yer man's behaviour after that garda showed up that got him arrested. You may have missed the part where the garda gave him a lawful instruction to leave the area, in which case no further action would be taken. He was ready to let it drop.

Emm...he gave him a lawful instruction to leave the area based only on hearsay, our boy in blue repeatedly said "they are not all making it up", now unless he was there at the time he had no idea if the americans/jews were or weren't making it up (and if he was a clever boy he might have deduced that when someone claims that they've been called "every name under the sun" then they might just be prone to excaggeration).

Smacked of being arrested for not giving the guard a graceful exit after realised that he had made a bit of a balls up tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Emm...he gave him a lawful instruction to leave the area based only on hearsay, our boy in blue repeatedly said "they are not all making it up", now unless he was there at the time he had no idea if the americans/jews were or weren't making it up (and if he was a clever boy he might have deduced that when someone claims that they've been called "every name under the sun" then they might just be prone to excaggeration).

Smacked of being arrested for not giving the guard a graceful exit after realised that he had made a bit of a balls up tbh

True any story that came from the Jewish couple were hearsay but I think the hearsay was pretty much confirmed when that man with the cam became totally uncooperative and a little aggressive closely followed by the American couple, who were siding with the man with the cam, tell him he wasnt helping himself.

My verdict = the Garda took the right course of action

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭gilly0512

ria5000 wrote: »
    fair play to the member. i think he did us all proud

Fair play to that member, he will go a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Just to state that the area that this took place in is in full view of Gardaí via CCTV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Paulzx

I've no idea of the legal standing of what the garda did during the incident. But, jeez how did he not deck that pompous, ignorant f**ker. The man has the right to protest but he should also have the manners to shut up and at least listen to the Garda and then debate properly with him

He was only interested in shouting and roaring and creating a scene. I certainly wouldn't have the patience to listen to him so fair play to the Garda for keeping his cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm not a member of AGS as everyone here knows, but I can say that that young man is a shining example to all members of the force.

If every member was a calm, collected and as professional in carrying out their duties we'd have, without any doubts, the finest police force in the world.

Tbh, I wouldn't be surprised if that clip is used as a training aid for further trainee guards.

Weldone - he done you call proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

No. The Garda most likely took statements from several people. In fact, when he is first shown in the clip, he is doing just that. The woman can be clearly heard saying ''he called me everything under the sun''; also she states the protester called her a ''****er'' and that he was abusive. The Garda probably questioned other witnesses.. but editing(Indy style..) of the clip does not show this.

It is quite clear from the clip itself, that the Garda had very reasonable grounds to issue a warning, as this man was reported for his actions by member(s) of the public. I think it's fair to say the protester backed up those reports by his attitude and actions towards the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

I'm not a member of AGS as everyone here knows, but I can say that that young man is a shining example to all members of the force.

If every member was a calm, collected and as professional in carrying out their duties we'd have, without any doubts, the finest police force in the world.

Tbh, I wouldn't be surprised if that clip is used as a training aid for further trainee guards.

Weldone - he done you call proud.

That footage would make great viewing for a training video to show how its done, well done to that member

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Shin Bet

Could anyone tell me when at 2min 32 seconds when the guy says 2pack of f***ing Jews" could that be seen as incitement to hatred based on religious grounds,
    And if so would I have to make a complaint or would the footage be enough to act on it.

The whole video,as presented is little more than a crock `o shytt which even on constant reviewing serves only to take away from any sympathy for a Palestinian cause...crikey If I was a REAL Palestinian activist I would be reviewing my franchise arrangements in Éire

And if so would I have to make a complaint or would the footage be enough to act on it.

Oh There is a raft of agencies and authorities to complain to.....starting with Galway County Council I suppose and working your way up to Aras an Uachtarain.......Let`s know how you get on....always remembering,of course,*SNIP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Shin Bet

I always made a point never to scream to a Gaurd on camera which religions I dont agree with.
    I always tought these guys didnt care if you were Jewish or not and there problem was Israel obviously not if the actions of the guy who made that statement on video are anything to go by.

Yes i`m fairly irreligious meself,it`s all pretty much baloney to my simple mind...only time I thnd to get worked up is when ****tt is stuffed in front of my face or when the VERY earnest representatives wont get to fluich away from my door.

Oh and I nearly forgot the times the Virgin Mary is driven down along O Connell St on the roof of an elderly Mercedes-Benz under GARDA escort...but hey I suppose she`s entitled to the same level of reverence shown to the Hare Krishna devotee`s when they parade their God on a Giant Handcart along Dawson St....God when you think of it one can see why we have such stuff as a "Parades Commission" over here !!! :o