Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Registration plate style rules?

• 30-08-2009 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭

What are the rules on the styles of reg plates that can be used on an 1984 car. I know the rules are strict for current regs, county name and letter style, but is it a free for all on older cars. If so what is the cutoff date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

To the best of my knowledge, cars that are subject to the NCT are subject to NCT rules regarding registration plates so the cutoff point is 30 years. Until then it'll have to be standard Euro style plates with standard font and county name in Irish matching the registration county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

actually cars which were issued with pre EU plates originally (ie pre91) may keep them and many people interpret this as ANY pre 1989 can have whatever plates they like...strictly speaking I suppose all ZV platers and other imports(post 91) should bear EU plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

corktina wrote: »
    actually cars which were issued with pre EU plates originally (ie pre89) may keep them and many people interpret this as ANY pre 1989 can have whatever plates they like...strictly speaking I suppose all ZV platers and other imports(post 89) should bear EU plates.
    Didnt EU plates come out in 1991?But i think what you are saying is right,whatever plates they came with/or were availible when new they can keep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Didnt EU plates come out in 1991?But i think what you are saying is right,whatever plates they came with/or were availible when new they can keep.

.......yes deffo 1991. There were still rules for pre '91 plates, font & size.There is also some abiguity regarding imoprts since the regulations do not state "first registered in Ireland" so they are open to interpretation.

I have my (imported) merc on pre 91 style black on white plates.It looks much better than euro imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Euro-style plates were introduced in Ireland in 1991 ..in fact we were the first country to do so.

Vehicles originally registered in Ireland before 1987 may use any style, between 1987 and 1990 - white plates front and rear (i.e Euro or not).
    After 1991 obviously must only use Euro plates...tho pre-1991 imports with 'year' reg no's often use the older style plates.

ZV plates are exempt and may use silver-on-black plates. (As is the case with ZZ 'export', and Defence Force vehicles).

Now if you want to know what the appropriate (i.e. 'period' style plates) are for a 1984 car ..that is a seperate question!;)

Silvera wrote: »
    Now if you want to know what the appropriate (i.e. 'period' style plates) are for a 1984 car ..that is a seperate question!;)
    Haha..indeed it is,my 86 corsa has raised letter black over red/black over white from new.Suppose it is wide open really.

Those would be correct 'period' plates on your Corsa. I recall those type/colours also in acrylic plates, or silver on black in acrylic plates.

You have the Corsa from new? Not many original-reg '86 Corsa's about I'd say?!
    Are you a member of www.totalopel.com yet (Irish Opel site)? I know the lads over there would love to see your Corsa!

Any pics of the Corsa/plates?

Silvera wrote: »
    You have the Corsa from new? Not many original-reg '86 Corsa's about I'd say?!
    Any pics of the Corsa/plates?
    Havnt had it since new,though i have owned it the last 10 years,its been in storage the last 6 since i upgraded to a mondeo,needs some welding and paint really.If i had sold it when i took it off the road it would definatly be bean tins by now,so i figured i did it a favour by keeping it in storage.I dont have any pics at the min,but ill try and get some up.
    Oh yes,its a 5 door too,not as nice as the two door,but a little rarer i think.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

quenching wrote: »
    What are the rules on the styles of reg plates that can be used on an 1984 car. I know the rules are strict for current regs, county name and letter style, but is it a free for all on older cars. If so what is the cutoff date?

Search and ye shall find ;) :
    macplaxton wrote: »

Cut off date is 31st December 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

This is off the Revenue website....

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/leaflets/format-vehicle-registration-plates.html

Note the line:

"The above formats do not apply to vehicles registered prior to 1 January, 1991, or to vehicles registered in the “ZV” “ZZ” or Trade Licence series."

Now it doesn't mention if the car has to be first registered in Ireland on or after 01/01/91 to fall into this category, so imports are slightly iffy. But then again, if you've a 1990 import, i'd say you can easily get away with different style plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

as far as i remember cars in ireland pre jan 87 had to have rear black on reflective red plates and front black on reflective white ,it was i think so you could tell the front of the car (vehicle) from the back in fog . you were not allowed the alluminum embossed plates ,open to correction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ep71

This is what covers cars reg plates 1982-1991!!!

S.I. No. 311/1982:
    ROAD VEHICLES (REGISTRATION AND LICENSING) REGULATIONS, 1982
    THIRD SCHEDULE.
    FORM OF IDENTIFICATION MARKS.
    Provisions to be complied with:
    1. ( a ) Where the identification mark of a vehicle consists of an index mark followed by a registration number it shall at the option of the owner be arranged in conformity with either Diagram No. 1 or Diagram No. 2 shown above.
    ( b ) Where the identification mark of a vehicle consists of a registration number followed by an index mark it shall at the option of the owner be arranged in conformity with either Diagram No. 3 or Diagram No. 4 shown above.
    2. Unless the identification mark is so constructed that it can be illuminated by translucency, or is exhibited on a surface constructed of reflex reflecting material in accordance with paragraph 4 of this Schedule, it shall be formed of white, silver or light grey letters and figures upon a black surface and every letter or figure shall be indelibly inscribed or so attached to such surface that it cannot readily be detached therefrom. If the letters and figures are exhibited on a flat plate, the plate may be constructed of cast or pressed material having raised letters and figures.
    3. If the identification mark is so constructed and used that it is illuminated by transparency or translucency the letters and figures must all, when so illuminated during lighting-up hours appear, in the case of the front identification mark, white, and in the case of the rear identification mark either white or red. At all other times the letters and figures shall appear white against a black background.
    4. An identification mark may be exhibited on a surface constructed of reflex reflecting material and if so exhibited—
    ( a ) the identification mark displayed on the front of the vehicle shall be formed of black letters and figures upon a white surface constructed of reflex reflecting material but no reflecting material shall be applied to any part of the letters or figures,
    ( b ) the identification mark displayed on the back of the vehicle or on any trailer attached thereto shall be formed of black letters and figures upon a red surface constructed of reflex reflecting material but no reflecting material shall be applied to any part of the letters or figures,
    ( c ) every letter or figure shall be indelibly inscribed or so attached to the surface constructed of reflex reflecting material that it cannot readily be detached therefrom.
    5. Subject to the provisions of paragraph 9 of this Schedule, all letters and figures must be 89 millimetres high, every part of every letter and figure must be 16 millimetres broad, and the total width of the space taken by every letter or figure, except in the case of the letter "I" or the figure "1", must be 63 millimetres.

^^^^ glad someone was paying attention to my link!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

kasper wrote: »
    as far as i remember cars in ireland pre jan 87 had to have rear black on reflective red plates and front black on reflective white ,it was i think so you could tell the front of the car (vehicle) from the back in fog . you were not allowed the alluminum embossed plates ,open to correction

What about the black on red plates on the back of the car? A lot of the older stuff seems to have those plates....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭Kafer

Try www.eireplates.com for plates.

They are doing red, white and black plates in the vintage and German font style. Really nice they are.

http://www.eireplates.com/samples.asp

If you're going to get red plates, at least do them properly.

German font indeed! :mad: :rolleyes:

macplaxton wrote: »
    If you're going to get red plates, at least do them properly.

German font indeed! :mad: :rolleyes:
    +1.

+1.

+2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 hypernova

Hello. Just simple question, can I use on my 1989 reg. car black background plate with white letters?
    Cheers

Standard Plates in Ireland from 1987 to 1991 were - black digits on a white reflective background (front and rear).

simple answer: no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

perhaps im wrong a 1984 car can have black plates with silver letters, untill it goes for NCT then it needs the euro plates when when you drive out of the nct you can put your black plates back on. They are leagal just not an NCT pass, perhaps its some kind of loophole? I think provided you dont break the law/rules of the road the guards will not be concerned with the colour of your plates so long as they can read them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

perhaps im wrong a 1984 car can have black plates with silver letters, untill it goes for NCT then it needs the euro plates when when you drive out of the nct you can put your black plates back on. They are leagal just not an NCT pass, perhaps its some kind of loophole? I think provided you dont break the law/rules of the road the guards will not be concerned with the colour of your plates so long as they can read them.

Anything before 1986 can have silver-on-black, white-on-black, black-on-red, or black-on-white plates. No need for Euro plates for the NCT at all.

Only cars after 1991 need Euro plates for the NCT.

only those registered here I think,.If you bring in a car it should have the current style of plates fitted.

Only if the car is 1991 or newer, otherwise it can have have of the listed plates I mentioned above.

i beg to differ. I believe you will GET AWAY with any of those styles BUT I believe a car imported should strictly have the plates current at the time of importation.

Correct.
    With the exception of vehicles registered within the 'ZV' series.

Learn something new every day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 hypernova

I can order this plates on eireplates.ie, so I think its official?

86923752.jpg

Still no, unless you have a bus or something.

Do as you wish, but don't be crying into your pint when it fails an NCT or a tug results in a fine.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I got an imported '83 through the NCT with non-Euro plates - so I can confirm that one can at least get away with it. :p

hypernova wrote: »
    I can order this plates on eireplates.ie, so I think its official?

86923752.jpg

All sorts of plates can be ordered online - that doesnt means they are road-legal....many are technically sold as 'show plates'