Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isis-Cork,Dublin,Belfast-Oct 22/23/24

• 30-08-2009 3:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭

From their myspace

22 Oct 2009 18:00
    Cyprus Avenue Cork

23 Oct 2009 20:00
    Button Factory Dublin

24 Oct 2009 18:00
    Black Box Belfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

F***, on the same night as Buzzcocks. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

Hoping to go see these guys at the end of the month. They were deadly last time they played here. Just wondering if anyone else heard the rumour that Kylesa are playing support at this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭ShotgunblueZ

whiterob81 wrote: »
    Hoping to go see these guys at the end of the month. They were deadly last time they played here. Just wondering if anyone else heard the rumour that Kylesa are playing support at this?

Didn't hear that and would be surprised as Kylsea only headined here back in August or so in Crawdaddy...on Isis's website, the only remaining shows with no support details on their Euro-autumn tour are the Irish ones!

To be honest, even if 'Big Tom' supported I wouldn't give a cat's mickey as long as Isis play afterward...such a superb band - cannot wait to see 'em!

Didn't hear that and would be surprised as Kylsea only headined here back in August or so in Crawdaddy...on Isis's website, the only remaining shows with no support details on their Euro-autumn tour are the Irish ones!

To be honest, even if 'Big Tom' supported I wouldn't give a cat's mickey as long as Isis play afterward...such a superb band - cannot wait to see 'em!

yeah, i saw kylesa back when they played around july. they were deadly live. I would be surprised if they were playing here again so soon. I'm just going on what a mate told me. anyone know for definite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MeetReality

Kylesa are not supporting Isis, they are doing the Clutch tour instead. The booking agent told U:MACK to get an Irish band as support.

That's grand, thanks for letting me know. Pity they're not playing with them but twill be a deadly gig if the last one's anything to go by. On next week. lookin forward to it now

Have heard that 'Altar of Plagues' are supporting Isis for the 3 shows in Cork-Dublin-Belfast this week..anyone know if they are any good?

Thinking of heading up to Belfast for the Sat. night after seeing them in Dublin...as it ain't too often Isis come to town...

Roll on Thursday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I might just go to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

heading to the Cork gig myself. can't wait

was at the gig last night in Cork. ywas tough going. my ears nearly melted! Dunno who the support band were, but I thought they were sh1t, just noise, and yer man didn't acknowledge the crowd at all, must have been a bad hair day...
    ISIS were pretty good, something kind of cold/clinical about the genre of music though...
    makes me want to scream at everyone in work today though.. :)

seachto7 wrote: »
    was at the gig last night in Cork. ywas tough going. my ears nearly melted! Dunno who the support band were, but I thought they were sh1t, just noise, and yer man didn't acknowledge the crowd at all, must have been a bad hair day...
    ISIS were pretty good, something kind of cold/clinical about the genre of music though...
    makes me want to scream at everyone in work today though.. :)

grand, think I might pick up earplugs at lunch time

yeah, recommended!! I forgot mine. i was up front for the first 4 or 5 songs, then I just couldn't take it anymore!!:) I am an old fart though...
    I've never experienced a sonic onslaught like it, maybe it was the venue (pretty small), and I've been to metal gigs, but it did almost melt my face off... \m/

The 3 lads were playing some savage custom guitars, dunno if the bodies were wood, the necks had an aluminium shine off them....

They look very placid, but made an almighty racket!

Duck the earplugs! I won't be standing at the front but I want to feel the full sonic onslaught of Isis...

Presumably the support in Cork last night was Altar of Plagues..?

Duck the earplugs! I won't be standing at the front but I want to feel the full sonic onslaught of Isis...

Presumably the support in Cork last night was Altar of Plagues..?

yeah, not my cup of tea at all. They were good in places, but not my cup of tea....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭fobster

Altar of Plagues "Sol" ep is quite good imo, live they can come across as just a lot of incomprehensible noise though. Their drummer is awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Aaron Turner spits a lot. I got quite worried standing right in front of him a few times. Too many songs off the last two cds. Needed some celestial material too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭fobster

Went to this on a whim after a full run-through of their myspace, got in just as Isis were kicking off. Good stuff, I'm liking this type of stuff more and more. Any ideas on a set list?

fobster wrote: »
    Went to this on a whim after a full run-through of their myspace, got in just as Isis were kicking off. Good stuff, I'm liking this type of stuff more and more. Any ideas on a set list?

Great gig on Friday night but should have went to Belfast the next day!

...from what I can remember, the following songs were played:

hall of the dead
    stone to wake a serpent
    dulcinea
    20 minutes/40 years
    backlit
    ghost key
    threshold of transformation

carry
    altered course (with a punchier ending to the panopticon track)

Belfast I heard was as follows:

Hall Of The Dead
    Hand of The Host
    Holy Tears
    20minutes/40years
    Ghost Key
    Wills Dissolve
    Threshold of Transformation

Carry
    Celestial