Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Youth in Revolt

A big fat meh for me, Cera is one of the most over rated actors around. Like Jack Black he's been playing the same role over and over again, each time with diminished returns.

Year One ranks as an all time low in comedy cinema and a quick look at his upcoming films sees Cera playing the same character in pretty much each one. He needs to reinvent himself fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

It looked ok for about 30 seconds. I don't see the big deal about him either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭PunkFreud

tyler durden

Isn't that Brad Pitt's character in Fight Club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,440 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

A big fat meh for me, Cera is one of the most over rated actors around. Like Jack Black he's been playing the same role over and over again, each time with diminished returns.

Year One ranks as an all time low in comedy cinema and a quick look at his upcoming films sees Cera playing the same character in pretty much each one. He needs to reinvent himself fast.

He's only recently turned 21!! Given his physical profile and experience, it's only right that he be making the films he's making at present. I'd expect him to start diversifying with some meatier and challenging indie roles over the coming years. As a male actor, he has such a long, long portion of his career to go where he will be a viable lead in a wide variety of roles and genres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    He's only recently turned 21!! Given his physical profile and experience, it's only right that he be making the films he's making at present. I'd expect him to start diversifying with some meatier and challenging indie roles over the coming years. As a male actor, he has such a long, long portion of his career to go where he will be a viable lead in a wide variety of roles and genres.

I agree and this film looks to be a good way to do something different, while at the same time, doing a role similar to others he's done before. It will be a good test to see if audiences accept him playing a different type of character. I'm looking forward to this, looks like fun..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Interested in seeing this too but the only reason cera ends up with loads of roles like this. Is because he looks so young for a 21 year old, really excited for arrested development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Last post was months ago I guess when word of the film got out.

Just back from cinema and seeing it. Thought it was hilarious!
    Wasn't expecting it to be funny in anyway due to previous films I've seen him in, but this was mighty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

One word: solidarity! That joke was awesome. The rest was kind of forgettable, to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 starlett

I want to see it, but only to see if Michael Cera can pull of something other than the meek and sweet little mousy guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Don't actually like Cera but there was nothing else on!
    Plenty funny parts in it. Check it out for the craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Was alright

Nothing hilariously amazing

but not crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,454 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is Zach Galifianakis in it much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

"i want to wrap your legs around my head and wear you like the crown you are..."

I lol'd.

Great film though especially
    the bit with the magic mushrooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

The book this is based on - Youth in Revolt is much funnier than the film.

Would recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is Zach Galifianakis in it much?
    Not at all, he hardly says two words in it. Reckon on the back of the hangover they reckoned if they pushed him in the trailer more people would go and see it. Its a fairly crap film so don't blame them for using every trick in the book to promote it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Film wasn't bad....for the cheap leaughs that I was looking for when I went to see it.

Hated going through the motions with the dead plot of a teenager trying to get laid but like I said, got a few good laughs and really enjoyed the supporting characters, like yer man from The Hangover, Ray Liotta, Steve Buschemi, and dare I say it...Justin Long.

I liked the Francois character alot, but Nick started to grate really early in the film.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Watched this last night, must say I enjoyed it for the light entertainment it was. First half an hour was particularly fun - pleasantly honest take on the 'geek comedy'. It had an awesome Kenji Mizoguichi (or was that Ozu) joke, so maybe that won me over.

Kind of meandered around after that, but a few belly laughs to be had. I preferred it to Superbad in any case!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Watched this last night, must say I enjoyed it for the light entertainment it was. First half an hour was particularly fun - pleasantly honest take on the 'geek comedy'. It had an awesome Kenji Mizoguichi (or was that Ozu) joke, so maybe that won me over.

Kind of meandered around after that, but a few belly laughs to be had. I preferred it to Superbad in any case!

Watched this a couple of weeks ago, its pretty good. I liked how Cera got to do something a bit different to his usual awkward geek with Francois.

You didn't like Superbad eh? I didnt think this even came close to superbad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Watched this a couple of weeks ago, its pretty good. I liked how Cera got to do something a bit different to his usual awkward geek with Francois.

You didn't like Superbad eh? I didnt think this even came close to superbad.

Not a fan of Superbad at all tbh. I didn't like the characters (hatred of Jonah Hill mostly) and the crude humour missed more times than it hit for me. I actually liked 40 Year Old Virgin and Knocked Up, but Superbad for me was the first sign of the inferior 'Produced by Judd Apatow' films to come.

Youth in Revolt is hardly a masterpiece, in fact it's little better than average. But I preferred the characters and humour in this to Superbad.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Not a fan of Superbad at all tbh. I didn't like the characters (hatred of Jonah Hill mostly) and the crude humour missed more times than it hit for me. I actually liked 40 Year Old Virgin and Knocked Up, but Superbad for me was the first sign of the inferior 'Produced by Judd Apatow' films to come.

Youth in Revolt is hardly a masterpiece, in fact it's little better than average. But I preferred the characters and humour in this to Superbad.

40 year old virgin and knocked up are great yea, but I would have rated Superbad as good as them, I think its a borderline cult classic at this stage. Each to their own I guess :)

What did you think of Adventureland? very different movie to superbad but same director. (sorry about the off-topicness)

Adventureland is great, pretty much fixes the problems I had with Superbad! Pleasantly realistic and personal. Would consider it more a drama than a comedy in some respects. YiR gets a bit silly on occasion, which means you can't really invest in the characters the same way you can in Adventurland.

Really want to watch Miguel Attera's (director of Youth in Revolt) film Chuck and Buck. Was going to pick it up in town the other day, but didn't have the cash on me. He's another graduate of the Freaks & Geeks crew. Shame is none of them are ever likely to top that!

Yeah Adventureland was definitely more a drama. It also had a great sense of time and place, I felt like i was watching an 80's John Hughes film soometimes.

Youth and revolt, even though some of the humour was a little dark, I felt it held back a little, played it a bit too safe.

Freaks and Geeks is legendary! Undeclared, Apatow's other show ain't bad either, more of a sitcom though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Yeah Adventureland was definitely more a drama. It also had a great sense of time and place, I felt like i was watching an 80's John Hughes film soometimes.

Youth and revolt, even though some of the humour was a little dark, I felt it held back a little, played it a bit too safe.

Freaks and Geeks is legendary! Undeclared, Apatow's other show ain't bad either, more of a sitcom though.

All very true. Used to love Freaks and Geeks. Any fans of Zach Galifianakis would love Bored to Death, very funny show and its got Ted Danson, what more can u ask!!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bored_to_Death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

I enjoyed YiR. It's very slight, but it failed to bore me, and most of the jokes were at least mildly amusing. I really hate it when I watch a comedy where most of the jokes fall completely flat: Zack and Miri Make a Porno did that for me yesterday.

Superbad was also a bit of a bore for me: the scenes with Hader and Rogan were manic and ridiculous enough to be entertaining, but the rest of it was pretty dull.

I also rate Adventureland. Some people dismiss it as just another coming of age romance, but it's a superbly made one - great characterisation, soundtrack, pacing and the jokes are organic to the plot - and it's also about the loss of faith in father figures which marks growing up, and talks about the prejudices of a small town.