Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

17 for freshers week

• 28-08-2009 3:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

im starting first year in a few weeks ,and i dont turn 18 until the end of september. so will i have any chance of gettin in anywhere during freshers week. would it be of any use using my real id which says im only two weeks off being 18, will the bouncers be a bit lenient. is there bouncers on the doors of the pubs in galway or is it just the niteclubs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

I was in the same position, sorry man i really dont think your id will cut it although i am a bit of a bollox so maybe if your nice you'l have better luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

get into the college bar early and then party it up at corrib village or somewhere like that at night.

lots of first years are in the same boat, the clubs aren't the be all and end all that week anyway, its like rag week everywhere is absolutley packed with pissed people sweating and screaming at each other.

much better craic to be had at house parties... if you really need to be invovled in town just get milled early and then join in the fun at supermacs from 12am onwards, best club in galway:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 xmegzxc

try bein 17 for the first year! older sisters are great tho for id haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Older siblings are a great option. What I did was order a fake one of the net.
    http://lmgtfy.com/ and got it with 'University of Co.Carlow', never got told by a bouncer that this college didnt exst and worked about 80% of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

My birthday happened at the end of September too last year. Most bouncers were sound, just be honest and don't go in totally hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭RichCRX

To be honest I think most bouncers dont allow drunken people in(hence the whole questions of many on ya tonight bud? etc...) the less drunk u are the more money you spend in the club which is what the owners want.

I used to use my normal ID and got away with it a good bit...bouncers can't always keep checking the exact date on every ID with about 100 people in a cue.

Just chance it and if ya dont get in...you'l find somewhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 catherinee

im not 18 untill next june :(:(:(:( rageeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭mr_november

catherinee wrote: »
    oh that cant be good...:(:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭batbaby

Not 18 until December... and i've been told that pubs Galway can be really strict.
    I think i'll just round up all the underage and invite them all to Corrib Village for tea and bickies every other evening....
    Up for it??!:pac::pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 xmegzxc

batbaby wrote: »
    Not 18 until December... and i've been told that pubs Galway can be really strict.
    I think i'll just round up all the underage and invite them all to Corrib Village for tea and bickies every other evening....

haha oh yeah i so am lol :D not 18 till april! pain in the hole! but i have my sisters id which seems to work at home, so im hopin it wont be a prob in galway! less than 2 weeks till we start! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭batbaby

xmegzxc wrote: »
    haha oh yeah i so am lol :D not 18 till april! pain in the hole! but i have my sisters id which seems to work at home, so im hopin it wont be a prob in galway! less than 2 weeks till we start! :cool:

Yay!! By the way, it's going to to be BYOB(The last "B" standing for bickies of course, with us all being underage...) I'm not made of money!!:pac:

I have a fake ID, works in the local town but doubt it'll work in Galway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dazzday

The college bar will ONLY accepted college ids to get in, so make sure you gat in early before the bouncers are on the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 ecstaticmidget

I'm 17 until January....:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 ecstaticmidget

batbaby wrote: »

Hell yeah I'm there:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

Id really hate to be underage going to college:rolleyes:

:D:D:D:p:p:p:D:D:D:p:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Leanne263

Not 18 until the end of March :mad:- you have it lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

catherinee wrote: »

In the same boat as you there, 18 in may, may get a serious id!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 barwy90

Hey man. I wasnt 18 till late april last year in 1st yr so I was 17 for all of the year! My advice is to either get into pubs as early as possible. Clubs are dodgy though. My friend got me a lads 1st year Student ID(From 2007-2008)and that worked most times.

But hey, late September isnt too far away so no worries for ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 technoman

Well I'm doing science in Nuig in two weeks, my birthday is on the 30th sep (turning 18 obviously) it's not that bad like, only two weeks and you can drink after the start of college, I'd try use someone else's ID tbh it works quite well depending on the person and how drunk you are. Most places do check the date and even if you're one day off 18 they more than likely will tell you to come back tomorrow. happened to friends. You could always go bushin for the two weeks cheap and cheerful. I'm more than likely just gonna wait anyway.

jaysus im 20 in march...ye're making me feel awful OLD for goin into 1st year arts...:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭english4490

jaysus im 20 in march...ye're making me feel awful OLD for goin into 1st year arts...:eek::eek:

I'm starting to feel old too, i'm 20 in april!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

ah just get one of ur mates ids who looks roughly like ya. I was 17 all of 1st year. i think u can survive a week

20? My God, yer making me feel like a child!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

just home from the NUIG HEAR grant orientation (total nightmare btw) and there was a girl there who was 16!!

Is that not fairly common?? Few of my friends are still 16....When did everybody start to age? And why did I get left out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

Leanne263 wrote: »
    Is that not fairly common?? Few of my friends are still 16....When did everybody start to age? And why did I get left out?

i duno.. like 16 and moving out?
    just.. i duno...
    like there was a guy there who'l be 21 soon :P

I'm starting to feel old too, i'm 20 in april!

I kinda feel like a paedo now...at least there's 2 of us though:P:P;)
    I started school when i was 4 but i stayed back in 6th class for the craic;) and then did TY...part of me regrets stayin back but then i wouldnt have the same friends i have now!!:D:D

There's a guy in my year that stayed back in national school, did TY and is now repeating the LC...he'll be 20 in january of LC!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭english4490

I kinda feel like a paedo now...at least there's 2 of us though:P:P;)
    I started school when i was 4 but i stayed back in 6th class for the craic;) and then did TY...part of me regrets stayin back but then i wouldnt have the same friends i have now!!:D:D

There's a guy in my year that stayed back in national school, did TY and is now repeating the LC...he'll be 20 in january of LC!!:eek::eek:
    Started when i was 4 and then i stayed back in junior infants! and did TY too!:rolleyes:

I know a girl repeating who will be 20 in february!! its odd though, there will be 16 year old freshers, and us years older!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

themau5 wrote: »
    im starting first year in a few weeks ,and i dont turn 18 until the end of september

You think you have problems? I'm not 18 until next May!!!!!!!!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

While not having any hard stats to back this up, I'd guess that 40%+ of freshers are underage for most of first year. I was.

Why the focus on drink? Why piss what little money you have against the wall?
    Teabags and chocolate polos >> warm cans of pale ale.

Also: houseparties.

Thread locked.