Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Rack

• 28-08-2009 10:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

Usually we put the bikes into the car when we take them somewhere, but we're going on hols so don't have space in car so want to get a bike rack for the car. It's a Volvo S40, so not a hatchback. Can anyone recommend a bike rack that won't break the bank (looked in Halford - v expensive) and won't wreck the car,

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

if you have a tow-bar.......
    We got the 4 bike Thule from Wiggle
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Thule_9705_BoltOn_Universal_4_Bike_Towball_Carrier/5360036130/
    4 heavy bikes all the way to South of France and back again without a problem. Very sturdy and keps the bikes well away from the car. Had to get a number plate/ light board to attach as it completly blocks the number plates and lights. We also got a lock for ir from wiggle meaning some well intentioned little bollix couldnt help himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭cluelessx2

Should have mentioned - no tow bar:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

get one. :) Its dead handy to have.

And if you get one I may even lend you mine (and by lend I mean small fee :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭cluelessx2

Thanks - you're so kind:cool:

But I won't get one - my car would then end up pulling trailers and used for stuff that I didn't buy it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭redmenace1

cluelessx2 wrote: »
    Usually we put the bikes into the car when we take them somewhere, but we're going on hols so don't have space in car so want to get a bike rack for the car. It's a Volvo S40, so not a hatchback. Can anyone recommend a bike rack that won't break the bank (looked in Halford - v expensive) and won't wreck the car,

Thanks.

I've a Hollywood rack.:P Its very good, but think about €80 when I bought it on my local shop. Usually Halfords are cheaper, so I imagine its that sorta money that you need to budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

I got a towbar on my towbar free car for the pendle 3 bikerack. The base unit clamps onto the towbar so the towbar is not so handy for the relatives to use. If it can't be seen -it not's there -really works. Or just say no:)

The two bars that hold the bikes take up no room in the boot. Good simple system.
    The Thule one is better at holding the bikes apart but is much bulkier in the boot when not in use.

If at all possible get a towbar system, the peace of mind alone is worth it. The constant looking out the back window at those strap on yokes wobbling away is not worth the hassle..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,578 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭TheBandit

I was up at gaelforce last week and we got a 3 bike carrier from argos. It was €65 and did a great job. We were driving on horrible country roads and it held up fine.

Edit: Think it was €55 actually and you don't need a towbar either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I got a Thule roof rack and then bought a Thule 591 roof mounted carrier. I got it all from roofbox.co.uk for about €250, but you would need to buy a bicycle carrier for each bike so it could start to work out quite expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

fletch wrote: »
    I got a Thule roof rack and then bought a Thule 591 roof mounted carrier. I got it all from roofbox.co.uk for about €250, but you would need to buy a bicycle carrier for each bike so it could start to work out quite expensive.

Not a bad price - have the same and would also recommend.