Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert Results(I know what yere thinking!)

• 27-08-2009 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭

I though this was the best forum to put this in, because people have experienced getting their junior cert results already!:)

I was just wondering can you get the results online and if so, what time?:confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

If there is such a facility, I would imagine it would be from 12.00 noon, like the Leaving.

These days, most people are still in school following the Junior Cert., so there wouldn't be a big demand for an online service, but I don't know if there is one. Did you get a PIN number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

spurious wrote: »
    If there is such a facility, I would imagine it would be from 12.00 noon, like the Leaving.

These days, most people are still in school following the Junior Cert., so there wouldn't be a big demand for an online service, but I don't know if there is one. Did you get a PIN number?

No not yet but hopefully I will! I'd prefer to open my results by myself without people peering over me trying to get a look!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

Who cares about the J.C or the GCSE's ,

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Unless your school is terribly strapped for cash, I'm sure they'll be in an envelope.

At least some staff at the school will have already seen them before you do as they need to be checked over. This doesn't mean commiting everyone's results to memory but a quick glance to make sure there are no unexpected subjects on your sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Jako8

I'm sure we were able to get ours online. We were all given a code in May which we could put into this website after 3:00 to see our results.

Edit:See soccymonster's post :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

They can be viewed from 4 o clock on 9th september on examinations.ie
    you'll need your pin number. Mine was given to me by the school like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Nicole.

Hey, yes you can get your results online, providing you have your examination number and your PIN. You go to examination.ie, click on 2009 Examinations results, then simply type in both your PIN and your examination number.

The letter I have that has my PIN and my examination number says that the online service will operate from 4.00 pm on the day that the results are issued, Wednesday the 9th.

Hmm...I just read that you haven't been provided with your PIN number, that's odd, I got my PIN months ago, I can't remember who I got it from, I think it was the school :confused: Maybe they're handing them out late or something?

(As you've probably gathered I'm not a 5th year or anything, I'm waiting on my results too, I don't like the idea of people looking over my shoulder either, I'll probably open them somewhere outside on my own) :)

Edit: Soccymonster bet me to it, oh well:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭RexMundi

Nicole. wrote: »
    Hey, yes you can get your results online, providing you have your examination number and your PIN. You go to examination.ie, go to 2009 Examinations results, then simply type in both your PIN and your examination number.

The letter I have that has my PIN and my examination number says that the online service will operate from 4.00 pm on the day that the results are issued, Wednesday the 9th.

Hmm...I just read that you haven't been provided with your PIN number, that's odd, I got my PIN months ago, I can't remember who I got it from, I think it was the school :confused: Maybe they're handing them out late or something?

(As you've probably gathered I'm not a 5th year or anything, I'm waiting on my results too, I don't like the idea of people looking over my sholder either, I'll probably open them somewhere outside on my own) :)

Edit: Soccymonster bet me to it, oh well:D

Could you all not just go find a secluded spot in your school to open your envelopes? Honestly everyone will be too engrossed in their own results, ringing parents and the like to care less about anybody else's for a good while after the envelopes are given out. Well, that was my experience anyway.

RexMundi wrote: »
    Could you all not just go find a secluded spot in your school to open your envelopes? Honestly everyone will be too engrossed in their own results, ringing parents and the like to care less about anybody else's for a good while after the envelopes are given out. Well, that was my experience anyway.

I'm not too sure because I have no idea what it's going to be like on the day, I'm half expecting there to be aliens there.Wow that would be cool, but yeah:) I may go open mine on the tenis courts if they're open but I'm not sure if they are:)

So it's not that big of a deal is it?

I'm not too sure because I have no idea what it's going to be like on the day, I'm half expecting there to be aliens there.Wow that would be cool, but only aliens like Sparks from Aliens in the Attic...but yeah:) I may go open mine on the tenis courts if they're open but I'm not sure if they are:)

So it's not that big of a deal is it?

Well certainly not in my school. Our Vice-Principal handed out our envelopes in the assembly hall and everyone just went outside and opened theirs outside. Most people just opened theirs as they walked out into the carpark to find a quiet spot where they could phone home. Some, those a bit more nervous about the whole thing, had a bit of a sit down to calm themselves before opening and some others decided that passing the results around in a circle and getting someone else to open their results for them was a better option.. No one really cared about other people's results until after making the phone call home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

What's all this talk of pin numbers??? God, my school's bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I think some schools wait and give them out after the holidays on the basis that ye are less likely to lose them.

And don't say "oh, nobody would lose them!" :p ... there was a number of LCs around here just before the results who had lost theirs, and they're a lot more useful at that stage than after JC! :)

Well certainly not in my school. Our Vice-Principal handed out our envelopes in the assembly hall and everyone just went outside and opened theirs outside. Most people just opened theirs as they walked out into the carpark to find a quiet spot where they could phone home. Some, those a bit more nervous about the whole thing, had a bit of a sit down to calm themselves before opening and some others decided that passing the results around in a circle and getting someone else to open their results for them was a better option.. No one really cared about other people's results until after making the phone call home.

Thanks, I at least have an idea what to expect now:) I feel kinda silly now though because I have been counting the days down till the results since 59 days ago, even knew the hours (kinda) I was dreading it but I wanted it over with.
    I think some schools wait and give them out after the holidays on the basis that ye are less likely to lose them.

And don't say "oh, nobody would lose them!" :p ... there was a number of LCs around here just before the results who had lost theirs, and they're a lot more useful at that stage than after JC! :)

It sounds reasonable actually now that I think about it, I lose things a lot and I got mine around May, (I still have mine though) during the first few minutes of arriving home with the letter my mum stuck it on the notice board and it hasn't been moved since, apart from last night. Now it's on top of my TV:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

How did this end up in here? How bizarre.

Piste wrote: »
    1st and 2nd years have hijacked the JC forum

Piste wrote: »

I thought it t'would be better in here, because the LCers would have experiences from getting their JC results already, whereas the JCers wouldn't. Plus it's really quiet over there-there are more posters here!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Oh ok, for some reason I thought I'd already seen this in the JC forum and it had somehow wormed its way into the LC forum. I think you have your answer so I'm going to send it on over to the JC forum just to tidy up this one. Maybe some peopl over there will find it useful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Moved from LC forum. :)

We moved house!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Halla Basin

Seriously lads, I'm ****tin' myself waiting for these results.

Im rather excited :D.
    My feelings will prob change though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Ciaramb92

Yeah you use your exam candidate code along with the pin you got back at the start of the year on the letter with your code etc.

go to examinations.ie after 4pm and click the link!

I feel nothing. Which is slightly worrying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Namlub wrote: »
    I feel nothing. Which is slightly worrying...
    It's not really I don't really care atm either. The results are ages away.

We're getting our results in about 12 days now, less than two weeks... I've really just been waiting and waiting for the results. I feel worried as the day looms closer, during the exams I was much more relaxed at the end of the day than I thought, but now I can't remember much about the exams and that makes me uneasy.

I'm most worried about Music, Science and English (I don't want a terrible grade in English because I want to be an English teacher some day)

jumpguy wrote: »
    It's not really I don't really care atm either. The results are ages away.

12 days... One four hundred and twenty billionth of the history of the universe...

It's like saying a grain of sand is an awful lot when set against the entire mass of the solar system.

Please, try to get a little perspective. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

12 days... One four hundred and twenty billionth of the history of the universe...

It's like saying a grain of sand is an awful lot when set against the entire mass of the solar system.

Please, try to get a little perspective. :rolleyes:
    I'm sorry, yeah, next Easter is actually really close. After all, it's one four hundred and twenty-first billionth of the time the universe has been around. A tiny grain of sand. I suppose that makes sense!
    Stop dwelling on it, 12 days is not a tiny time, you're not 50.

jumpguy wrote: »
    I'm sorry, yeah, next Easter is actually really close. After all, it's one four hundred and twenty-first billionth of the time the universe has been around. A tiny grain of sand. I suppose that makes sense!
    Stop dwelling on it, 12 days is not a tiny time, you're not 50.

hmmm... 175 days till Easter... Around one 28965517241th.

Don't mess with the mathman.

hmmm... 175 days till Easter... Around one 28965517241th.

Don't mess with the mathman.
    Ok then, guess what number I'm thinking of.

Knowing you, I can't see how it could contain more than two digits.

But even then, I'm a wizard of mathematics and reason, not a supporter of ESP.

Being that you are browsing a Junior Cert forum I will presume that you are a teenager.
    Judging by boards.ie's general demographics, I will hazard a guess that you are a boy.

Therefore the only possible number that you could be thinking of is "69"...

Knowing you, I can't see how it could contain more than two digits.

But even then, I'm a wizard of mathematics and reason, not a supporter of ESP.
    Being that you are browsing a Junior Cert forum I will presume that you are a teenager.
    Judging by boards.ie's general demographics, I will hazard a guess that you are a boy.

Therefore the only possible number that you could be thinking of is "69"...
    Nope.
    Yeah, it was actually 145. As in, the number of lipglosses I own, lol <3 !!1! :rolleyes:

Nope.
    Yeah, it was actually 145. As in, the number of lipglosses I own, lol <3 !!1! :rolleyes:

i own about 10 :P
    cant wait till the results. Gonna be the best craic afterwards unless i fail something :eek: and history is cuttin' it close..

You will do better than you think you will.

Why would you do that? Why would you set everyone up for the fall? Why?

hope you're right! :o

Or else.

Or else.

LOL! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

Good idea!!