Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santa Claus existed!!!

• 27-08-2009 9:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭

Santa claus existed when you were young, but now he is dead. You remember waiting on christmas eve, excited at the thought of all those presents, like those action men or barbie dolls, those transformers, surprises and selection boxes. Then waking up on christmas morning at 5 o clock, $hiting yourself at the thought of how much fun your going to have playing with your new toys and eating all those sweets. Then one day your mum, dad or that boy in your class in primary school tells you that "santa doesnt exist" and your world changed forever. You may have felt like $hit, cried or accepted it because your cool. Then christmas comes once again and your like "f*uck, this is ****e"

So what age where you when you found out Santa Claus didnt exist and how did you take it? For me, it was just last week.:(:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

What are you talking about?

Of course he's real. :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Okay lay off the wacky tobackey:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Yeah, and I have an enchanted jock strap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I was about 10...or was it 11. I was beginning to cotton on by then just naturally, good few of the fellas in the class then knew it. Christmas wasn't the same...but I still love it for the time off school and the family being together again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

No one tell BrummyTom!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

I caught my parents red handed when I was a kid.

I used to be shi*ting it going into the sitting room, incase the big guy was still in there and then take my toys for being naughty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

ànyone else think this was going to be about how santa existed at some stage for real?

crushed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

of course he did, unless your talking about the anti-santa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

of course he did, unless your talking about the anti-santa

Atnas? :O

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

There's something very Nietzche about the OP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

i suppose i was nine, i found a receipt for fifa 95 in the back of our car. i was like, what the hell, ah that makes sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

this has to be a record for the earliest mention of Christmas on AH. Seriously wayyyy to early !! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

I was told when i was 6 by a friend who had an older brother and sister. I didn't believe her and then when i was 11 when i saw my presents in the garage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I was about 5 or 6 when I found out, was like some sort of weird antichrist child.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Ivona Tinkle

I found out when I was 8 a friend told me and I pretended to be asleep and heard parents rummaging in the attic

I let on for years that I still believed and got away with it till I was 13 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Idjit

At 10 or 11 because i would NOT stop asking my dad whether he was real and his reply kept being: 'he is if you believe he is',which being a child of science, was not a good enough answer for me. I kept putting forward logical arguements to suggest he couldnt exist so eventually he got so fed up, knowing that i had basically figured it out anyway,that he confirmed it. The knowledge sucked but it would've driven me mad if he hadn't told me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Ill never forget the day. I was helping my mam pack the shopping in Dunnes Portmarnock and she goes to the girl at the till "where will i get a cabbage patch doll". I was gutted. I kept on packing but that was the end for me. It was what my younger sister wanted from "santy"!

Id give my right arm(not literally like but ye know what i mean) to be back at that time, lyin in bed at 4.32am butterflies goin nuts, wonderin if santy had come and willing the time to go quicker. Christmas Eve night seemed to go on FOREVER!!!!Remember how good you were Christmas week? Ah..brilliant :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

When my daughter was 11 I asked my son 14 yo at the time did she believe and he said yes and added " but you have to get me a Santa present too or you will ruin it for her".

So 5 years on I still kept it up this year and have never asked the question again;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

I was about 8 when I copped on (parents had left the boxes of the bikes in the shed!). Pretended I hadn't seen them so I'd still get my present from santa. Worked till i was about 12, though Santa still brought me presents till I was 14 or 15 (parents' way of bribing me not to spill the beans to the younger siblings!). It worked out well! :)

But Christmas just isn't the same anymore... No excitement, sleepless nights with anxiety (of whether or not Santa would bring me presents. Has since been replaces with other anxieties :( ), remembering to leave out milk and Christmas cake (yep, parents had to cut the cake a day early and before family came for dinner!)

Just not the same anymore! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I was 8, whinging about my Gameboy advance I think.
    Mom told me to stop being so ungrateful, "Why?!" says I, "It's not like you bought it!!"

"Yes I did" she screamed.
    She sat me down, told me he wasn't real, I cried and then mom and dad took me for Lunch at Asda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Never believed it really, our chimney is sealed and me being the intelligent kid I was never believed it.
    Tried to prove I was right when I was 7 by making a list and leaving it under the tree.

Yup that was one hell of a crap christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Mad Leprechaun

I went up to go toilet and i seen my mam and dad puttin presents out.Kind of had a feeling he wasn't real and I didn't say anything. I was bad to my sister though when she annoyed me so I showed her what was in the spare room haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭blue_belle

anniehoo wrote: »
    Id give my right arm(not literally like but ye know what i mean) to be back at that time, lyin in bed at 4.32am butterflies goin nuts, wonderin if santy had come and willing the time to go quicker. Christmas Eve night seemed to go on FOREVER!!!!Remember how good you were Christmas week? Ah..brilliant :p

yeah,me too. it feels like so long ago, and im only 18! but seriously, those were the days, there was noting else like it. and then there would be soot on the sitting room floor and chewed up carrots in the fireplace...which really cemented my beliefs.

from going through the argos catalouge and writing your letter to wishing it was bedtime on christmas eve, but you were never able to sleep anyway, and getting up at 4 or 5 on christmas morning nearly killing yourself coming down the stairs, awh, what i wouldnt give to go back to those days!

i found out when i was 11, i had been thinking that he probably wasnt real, and then one day at school my friend goes,"sure santas not real anyway" and i said "yeah, i know!" then when i got home it really hit me...
    last christmas was my first without anyone in my house getting stuff from santa and it was so wierd, kinda sad...

We need to bring him BACK!!! but how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

Aw I thought this was going to be about Santa existing.

(Warning: the following story may be bull, i only heard it from a friend)

apparently there was a Santa of sorts, in Turkey or somewhere, centuries ago, that gave Muslims(or other religions) presents on Christmas day to convert them to Christianity:D
    would love to believe it, can't be sure though... i should really google this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭procure11

I would personally be very upset if my son is 7 year old and didnt realise that it is all a farce tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭*giggles*

I was about 11 when I started noticing things, like how we don't put stamps on the letters. Or seeing the price stamps on the boxes on Christmas morning. Or looking it up online to see if he really does exist. There was a Saint Nicholas: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saint_Nicholas who used to give gifts to the poor, thus brought about the idea of Santa Claus. Also, how does one man manage to travel the world in one night with all those presents? http://christmas.howstuffworks.com/santa-around-world.htm
    Does anyone think it's a little weird that "he can see you when you're sleeping"?
    Then came the age when you started to look for the presents hidden around the house. To this, I've never found one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

*giggles* wrote: »
    Does anyone think it's a little weird that "he can see you when you're sleeping"?

Ah, so the head of the church is actually Santa Claus? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Yeah I know-St.Nicholas of Myra.
    Another thing,stay off the drugs.Drugs arent cool.Stay in school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Did you hear about the Cavan man who took his child to see Santa's grave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Feck, my carefully prepared Word document is now in the recycle bin. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

Neighbour to my older brother's friends on his birthday: "So how did ye find out Santa doesn't exist?"
    Me, aged 10: "Oh, I haven't found that out yet."

Had come to realise it for a good while at that stage though. Wasn't 'officially' told until I was 12, once I still got the presents I was happy :D

Must be hard for parents keeping the fib from their children these days, what with broadband and all. We used to sneak downstairs when the folks were asleep to watch TV when we were younger, surely some of the yungins are doing that with the internet nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

*giggles* wrote: »
    I was about 11 when I started noticing things, like how we don't put stamps on the letters. Or seeing the price stamps on the boxes on Christmas morning. Or looking it up online to see if he really does exist. There was a Saint Nicholas: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saint_Nicholas who used to give gifts to the poor, thus brought about the idea of Santa Claus. Also, how does one man manage to travel the world in one night with all those presents? http://christmas.howstuffworks.com/santa-around-world.htm
    Then came the age when you started to look for the presents hidden around the house. To this, I've never found one.

Ask Ben Linus.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Christmas forum--->

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭tarbuck

I think I was about 10 when I realised but I kept up the pretence for another year because 'hey I didn't want to blow a free ride'. After all, people here might have noticed that once you stop believing your christmas haul suddenly diminishes by about 50%, and who wants that (other than your parents of course!)?

So anyway after my 'bonus year' for some reason still unknown to me I thought it'd be great to show my family how cool and grown up I was because now I didn't believe either so the following xmas I deliberatly walked in when I knew they were wrapping my little brothers 'Santy present'. Biggest mistake ever. I should have kept it going until I was 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Christmas is fcuked up, we should celebrate Festivus instead.

All you need is an aluminium pole, no tinsel, that's distracting

And at the Festivus dinner, you gather your family around, and tell them all the ways they have disappointed you over the past year!

a Festivus for the rest of us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

I was 5... damn those bullies... however believed in the tooth fairy until I was about 11... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Christmas is fcuked up, we should celebrate Festivus instead.

All you need is an aluminium pole, no tinsel, that's distracting

And at the Festivus dinner, you gather your family around, and tell them all the ways they have disappointed you over the past year!

a Festivus for the rest of us!

But what about the aluminium pole - Cmon Mum shake that thang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Think I was 4 or 5, kinda shatters the illusion when you wake up at 1am on Christmas eve to find your da playing the Super Nintendo "santa was bringing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭snicket

It's kinda sad but I don't remember ever believing fully in Santa. In second class we had to write him a letter for homework and mine accused him of being made up. I had to read it out in front of the class the next day, think I spoiled all the other kid's Christmas :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

This might sound really bizarre, but I was actually terrified of Santa Claus, when I was growing up. Spurred on by a fear of burlgars.

My aunt came into my room one night to find me with a pile of toy bears at my feet, shoving them up the fireplace one by one, crying my eyes out.

When she asked what I was doing, I told her I was blocking the chimney, so "a strange man" couldn't come into my house while I slept.

I was hysterical for hours!

:o

Did you hear about the Cavan man who took his child to see Santa's grave.

fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Stopped believing in Toothfairy, God and Santa Claus in that order. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

sells wrote: »
    Santa claus existed when you were young, but now he is dead. You remember waiting on christmas eve, excited at the thought of all those presents, like those action men or barbie dolls, those transformers, surprises and selection boxes. Then waking up on christmas morning at 5 o clock, $hiting yourself at the thought of how much fun your going to have playing with your new toys and eating all those sweets. Then one day your mum, dad or that boy in your class in primary school tells you that "santa doesnt exist" and your world changed forever. You may have felt like $hit, cried or accepted it because your cool. Then christmas comes once again and your like "f*uck, this is ****e"

So what age where you when you found out Santa Claus didnt exist and how did you take it? For me, it was just last week.:(:rolleyes:

i dont remember

though my friend walking into the bathroom and the bath was piled high with christmas presents, his parents had hidden them up there so they could move them under the tree quickly

still makes me laugh