Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

War of the Buttons

• 27-08-2009 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭

Can this film be got on DVD?? I can't find it anywhere. I'd be grateful for any advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭MelonieHead

I've seen this on YouTube. Also here on Amazon but on VHS though. Can't seem to find a DVD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Sorry to drag this up again but has anyone found a dvd of this anywhere, id also appreciate it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

God i remember this film as a kid, brilliant stuff but it doesn't seem to be anywhere on DVD. I wonder why? They would surely sell alot
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111666/board/nest/112363852?d=154678676&p=1#154678676

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I seen it on TV last month or the month before, twas weird all the memories came back to me. but none of them seem to have gone very far in acting since (and I know some of it was bad but there was some potential there)

On Topic http://www.lovefilm.com/film/War-Of-The-Buttons/25342/

it says DVD not available :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Fantastic film, really don't understand why it's not out on DVD or at least iTunes or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

There's a petition on Facebook to release a DVD version. Still have a recording of it from a few Christmases ago.

Really nice movie, was filmed mostly in my village and my old man helped out on the set!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

There's a petition on Facebook to release a DVD version. Still have a recording of it from a few Christmases ago.

Really nice movie, was filmed mostly in my village and my old man helped out on the set!

Must sign up !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tony.aspergers

"War of the Buttons" IS now available on iTunes for download!!!!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Ah very fond memories of that movie as a kid. Must watch it again, is it actually as good as i remember anyone?

I have to say that personally I think it is the best kids movie ever made in Ireland.... next to Into The West of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Think its finally been realised on DVD and Blu Ray for a limited time in HMV, Tesco, Dunnes and Golden Discs, not sure what date it been realised though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

HMV in Grafton Street had it racked up at the front of their store yesterday with other new releases, so they obviously know there's a demand for it.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

HMV in Grafton Street had it racked up at the front of their store yesterday with other new releases, so they obviously know there's a demand for it.

Ill get it this week hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭MiloYossarian

Did your man every find out who took the horse to france?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Did your man every find out who took the horse to france?

It was the Jewish guy from Tralee, Kerry Gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Wow a facebook petition that has worked! Between this and the Wispa and Spice Burgers ones we'll change the world yet.

Now if only we could get I Went Down on DVD... :mad:

Wow a facebook petition that has worked! Between this and the Wispa and Spice Burgers ones we'll change the world yet.

I saw this recently and from what i heard about it, i was very disappointed with it. Which is a pity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Laser on the southside has it to rent.

Got my copy of War Of The Buttons today :)
    Thought it was available on Blu ray, guess i was wrong, i asked the girl in HMV, she said it wasnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

BEST FILM EVER!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Spent my Summers down in West Cork and my abiding memory was my cousin (my only source of fun down there) being shipped off to do extra work every bloody day. Jesus, what a boring summer that was for me.

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Spent my Summers down in West Cork and my abiding memory was my cousin (my only source of fun down there) being shipped off to do extra work every bloody day. Jesus, what a boring summer that was for me.

Any fighting between the Bally boys and Carrick Boys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Not sure. My cousin had run down a hill with his knackers hanging out in one scene. Poor guy.

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Not sure. My cousin had run down a hill with his knackers hanging out in one scene. Poor guy.

Sorry i actually misread your post, your cousin was in it!! that's a story to tell!!

It's now on DVD in Tesco, at No.1 in the charts! €10!

I watched it last night, still a great film, Little Con is gas!! One thing i noticed though, it seems to be set in the 70's or 80's, going by Reilly's Dad buying the new tractor, so how come at the end when Fergus and Geronimo are getting rescued, the helicopter looks so modern looking?:confused:

It's now on DVD in Tesco, at No.1 in the charts! €10!

I got it for cheaper!!, €9.99 in HMV :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭iii Stevo iii

On RTE One right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

On RTE One right now

thanking you for making my monday afternoon enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,285 ✭✭✭Deedsie

I'm watching it too, what village in cork was it actually filmed in? Great film, innocent, funny has it all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DOTHEDOG

it's not dvd quality at all what they done is ripped it of the vhs tape and stuck it onto a dvd,so basically it's not a dvdrip :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Deedsie wrote: »
    I'm watching it too, what village in cork was it actually filmed in? Great film, innocent, funny has it all...

The Bally crowd scenes and the majority of the movie were filmed in Union Hall, West Cork. The woodland scenes were mostly filmed in Rinneen Woods in Union Hall also. The rival village is actually Rosscarbery village.

The school the boys attended is Castlehaven National School.

Yet it is amazing how most of the cast (children and adult) have inner city dublin accents :mad:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

kind of half watching war of the buttons on TG4(while I write up my dissertation and post on here like a boss), just had a gander on imdb to see what happened to some of the cast and I spot that its been remade in france? Was anyone aware of this? anyone seen it? Must say I'm curious!

EDIT: Just had a gander at the wikipedia page and apparently it was originally based on a french novel which was filmed for the first time back in 1962 so this new one is probably a remake of that or another adaptation of the novel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

It was written by a French writer. From Wikipedia....
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/War_of_the_Buttons_(1994_film)
    The film is based on a 1912 French novel by Louis Pergaud, that was filmed in 1961 and originally brought to the screen in 1962, in the French film directed by Yves Robert La Guerre des boutons.

It was written by a French writer. From Wikipedia....
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/War_of_the_Buttons_(1994_film)

Yea I spotted that, learn something new every day! :)

There are in fact two remakes from France last year, haven't seen either of them but I gather that unlike our 1994 example (and the original French movie) there is no nudity in these two, how surprising! (After the rumpus kicked up by the Puttnam version).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭deisebhoy17

Some of the The bridge scenes were supposedly done in Carrick on Suir Co. Tipperary. Anyone know where the cliff scenes and dolmen secene was shot?

Gerard Kearney who played 'Big Con' is now a magician - http://www.corkmagician.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

as wiki says it was filmed in cork, mainly west cork i know some of it was filmed in skibbereen as ive been there once or twice, i also crossed a bridge that looked fairly like the one in it down there, the only part that does baffle me is when their running down the hill naked when yerman is up on the dolman yoke, dont ever recall seeing one of them down there, even though it say they,re located in the south east of ireland,