Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Company meeting - cameras, whispers and shifty eyes

• 27-08-2009 9:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭

Company I'm in is bringing all staff(400) together after lunch for a top important meeting. All staff at other branches are being pulled in. There is a camera crew/audio visual engineers setting up a whole show where the meeting will be held.

Very tense times.

Me? not so worried, Sure I could lose my job and I'll find it difficult but i have no Dependants and my biggest income deduction is whiskey.

If you were offered redundancy, how many weeks pay would you accept before considering it. I've been thinking, 3 years, I'd want a months pay AT LEAST to consider it. 2 months per year. I'd probably accept it.

How about you? What would it take you to leave your job in the current climate? Do you think you'd regret it? Is there similar happening at your place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Depends on how long you've been there.

At the very least 1 years redundancy, and an extra year's for every 5 years you've been working there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

If Brent's knockin around I'd be nervous if I were you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

theTinker wrote: »
    Company I'm in is bringing all staff(400) together after lunch for a top important meeting. All staff at other branches are being pulled in. There is a camera crew/audio visual engineers setting up a whole show where the meeting will be held.

Very tense times.

Me? not so worried, Sure I could lose my job and I'll find it difficult but i have no Dependants and my biggest income deduction is whiskey.

If you were offered redundancy, how many weeks pay would you accept before considering it. I've been thinking, 3 years, I'd want a months pay AT LEAST to consider it. 2 months per year. I'd probably accept it.

How about you? What would it take you to leave your job in the current climate? Do you think you'd regret it? Is there similar happening at your place?

get off the internet and do some work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Sounds like they are trying for the worlds largest porno shoot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Is there similar happening at your place?

Nope. In fact we all just got a raise, a bonus and a second company car in my office.
    It's fun working on Cloud Cuckoo Land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Nope. In fact we all just got a raise, a bonus and a second company car in my office.
    It's fun working on Cloud Cuckoo Land.

Ah sure it was well needed then, Fitting everyone into the first car was a night mare i bet.

TV screens all over the place now. I think the guy with the porno shoot theory was correct.

I'll never get 1 years redundancy. Not a chance...
    It would be quite funny if they were simply announcing an increase in the price of the chocolate muffins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ah sure it was well needed then, Fitting everyone into the first car was a night mare i bet.

TV screens all over the place now. I think the guy with the porno shoot theory was correct.

I'll never get 1 years redundancy. Not a chance...
    It would be quite funny if they were simply announcing an increase in the price of the chocolate muffins.

They've either brought back "This is Your Life", to congratulate you on all your charity work, or they're going to gas you all to save on the redundancy.:eek:

well it happened.

about 30% lay offs. Very hard to watch so many people that walk proud have their careers ripped from them, redundancies immediately. Entire sections closed off.

Very 'out of nowhere' as far as corporate propaganda has been going..

Awful shame lads, even someone like me couldn't cant look on the bright side on this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Aw thats terrible *hug* sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Friends First employee???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Sorry to hear that theTinker. Why would they go to such effort to film it though, that seems odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭tagoona

Sorry to hear about it
    Most company's are going with statutory which is a disgrace.
    I'd be looking for 4 weeks per year, which isn't huge, but it's something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Rylan

Friends First employee???

Thought they were taken over by Hibernian.

OP. Sorry to hear of the news. Hope your job is safe. Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Sorry to hear that OP. No doubt another example of souless bastard company execs milking the recession, that is using it as a cover to streamline their business while pleading the bheal bocht (sp?) so as to get away with only paying the minimum. No doubt the limp wristed usless wankers from the unions will be giving out yards while doing fcuk all about it now that you can't pay your dues anymore! This country is really starting to depress me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭up them Schteps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

A redundancy package of 7 weeks per year of service -inclusive of statutory - and capped at two years will be put in place. The finance unit is based at the company’s head office in Cherrywood, Dublin.

whats this capped at two years thing?

Are they saying if you worked more then 2 years they'll just give you 14 weeks redundancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Are they saying if you worked more then 2 years they'll just give you 14 weeks redundancy?

As far as I know it means you redundancy is capped at a maximum of two years salary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Just that the max package any worker can get is two years annual salary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Long Onion wrote: »
    Just that the max package any worker can get is two years annual salary

ah so if your annual is 30k that max the weeks can add up to is 60k.

tagoona wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about it
    Most company's are going with statutory which is a disgrace.
    I'd be looking for 4 weeks per year, which isn't huge, but it's something

Ah they have given a not a bad redundancy package out. 7 per year

Ye friends first.

Very sad times for alot of people. 92 forced, 40ish voluntary to come.

anniehoo wrote: »
    Aw thats terrible *hug* sorry to hear that.

Cheers, alot more in here could use that!

My job is safe enough. Though I'd say ill take pack it in if it comes down to axing people with Dependants on them. Far more people need it more than i do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...Though I'd say ill take pack it in if it comes down to axing people with Dependants on them. Far more people need it more than i do

Nice thinking there sir. Nice to see chivalry is still smouldering away in people and not died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

ah so if your annual is 30k that max the weeks can add up to is 60k.

That'd be the one Gummy Panda. OP you're a decent skin - hats off to you. Just got a mail from your Director of Sales & Marketing ... blah blah blah ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

What the fuk is the craic with all the " i'd be looking for more than the statuory redundancy"????? Ferfuksake. Get a grip would ye. What about those out there that were let go from firms with a week to go until they had their 2 years service? What about all those that got sweet fukkall when the companies decided to go belly up rather than pay out? I got the gate last christmas and didnt even get a poxy P45 for 10 weeks.

Where has this sense of more than entitlement come from? Jesus christ its no wonder we're fukked when people think that just because they handle money that they themselves are worth something. Ye'r a fukkin number not the godsent cure for all ills and ails and TBH if you worked in the financial sector over the last few years you should be handing OUR money back instead of being a cunt demanding more.

Tough that you lost your job but didn't we all. The queue for sympathy is that way>>>> take a ticket, your query will be dealt with

End of rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

you'd be some fun at a funeral, Daroxtar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Where has this sense of more than entitlement come from?

If a company mad massive profits while you worked there and is still in profit and they decide to make you redundant you may feel you deserve more than the minimum. I would anyway.

Companies are technically not meant to get in a situation they can't pay redundancy so companies that do were/are breaking employment law. Unless you are VHI and then you just rely on the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

anything better than statutory is a bonus imo
    try working in the building trades..... eh sorry your gone fri week here's your few bob
    sickens me to hear people ranting on that they aren't getting enough
    do they really think their employer is happy with the situation having to chop the numbers but surely they should understand they must be thinking of those who will be staying on and trying to stabalise the company for now and possible further expansion/reductions in the future

sorry to hear of todays losses but move on stop moaning,its a done deal unfortunately

typical irish poor mouth moaning minnies, money grabbing self pitying mentality,bugs me big time,

oh I only get 35k what will i do........ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

My job is safe enough. Though I'd say ill take pack it in if it comes down to axing people with Dependants on them. Far more people need it more than i do

That's the attitude. A great attitude to have and one I wish more people had in situations like this. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

you'd be some fun at a funeral, Daroxtar.
    I'm waiting for an invite to Ted's aul do in the shtates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

Stupid question, why was there a camera crew at the meeting? In case someone chucks a shoe?

I've worked in companies that do this but normally when they have some high ranking sort from the states over or what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Vim Fuego wrote: »
    Stupid question, why was there a camera crew at the meeting? In case someone chucks a shoe?

It may have been a video conference for people not on site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Daroxtar wrote: »
    TBH if you worked in the financial sector over the last few years you should be handing OUR money back instead of being a cunt demanding more.

the sentiment remains the same

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=61827939&postcount=29

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

A fine attitude which is a credit to you, but hang on to your job. You are not responsible for your colleagues and some may have partners or circumstances better placed than you. Let the dice sit where it falls