Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards Gear Review - PEARL iZUMi

• 26-08-2009 9:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭

**Fanfare and trumpets!!**

Some of you old timers might remember that once upon a time, a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away I asked if anyone had any contacts with kit suppliers so that we could see about getting some reviews going.

The basic idea was that this forum is in effect an interactive magazine and that old media mags get free gear all the time in return for reviews. Well it's taken this long but we are finally ready for our first set of official reviews.

After the first post Woddle (the man of a 1000 contacts ;)) put me in touch with Ger, who distributes PEARL iZUMi in Ireland.

Ger has been brilliant with Boards AC (special prizes on offer for BAC members at the Perl Izumi 10k, for example). And he's stepped up to offer 3 of our members some training kit in return for a review. So a huge thanks to him for that.

The rules

- This is to be an honest review. The 3 lads chosen are all well known and highly respected members of the site. I expect them to be honest. If teh products they have rock then I expect them to say so. If there are issues then I expect them to say so.

- Ger is a fully signed up member here. As such he of course has a right to reply - if a seam rubs or teh shirt falls apart after one wear or whatever then he is within his rights to explain and answer. Naturally though this is "editorial" rather than "advertorial". No-one is being paid or paying for this review and as such this thread will be moderated in the same way as any other thread.

- If you have any questions on teh gear (fit, quality, where to buy it, prices) post them up here and the lads / Ger will answer

We wanted to cover a decent spread of training and runners so I picked one athlete who is primarily track based, one who is mainly a triathlete but who does a fair amount of road running and one who is mainly cross country / mountain racing (feel free to try and guess who before they all come in and introduce themselves :P)

So, reviewers, without further ado - want to make yourselves known?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

**Fanfare and trumpets!!**

So, reviewers, without further ado - want to make yourselves known?

I'm here!

Edit:ooohhhhh, I thought you meant who WANTS to review gear....sowwy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

What stuff dids yous get to try?

Also well done Amadeus on following it through

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

what gear is being reviewed? I'd like to see a review of the maverick shorts with the built in lycra liner shorts..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Ger sent some stuff out to the lads, I *think* it's technical T's and a singlet but we'll need them (and him) to confirm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Great idea. Looking forward to the reviews

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

1834_2JZ.jpg&w=1000&h=1000
    When I first started running a few years back, I was a believer in spending good money on good running shoes, and nowt else. Top-of-the-range runners would be replaced every 500 miles, while my gear drawer became more and more crowded with smelly cotton 10k tshirts, cheap swim shorts, and "5 pairs for €5" white tennis socks. As running became more central to my life, so I started to copy what those around me would wear, and gradually the cotton was banished in favour of wicking material tech tops. Even then, I tended to go for the bargain bin, buying several cheap tech tops whenever I could get Decathlon own brand. I've also worn several "big-brand" tops, and generally found them better than the cheaper ones, but not so much better as to justify the big difference in price.

So when a year ago I got a free Pearl Izumi tech tee during a 10k race, I didn't expect much from it- I had convinced myself that a top was a top, not a huge difference between them. However, it quickly became my favourite, it did its job very well, skin could breath well, didn't become a sponge in the rain. Certainly, it was the highest-quality top I'd yet worn!

Consequently, I had high expectations when the Pearl Izumi Phase long sleeve top arrived. First off, out of the package, you can see the difference in quality. Every other top I've owned, there's a thread hanging out somewhere, or a seam that looks pulled, but this top appears very well made. I put it on, my wife said it looked too good for running in, I should keep it for good wear! One quick lesson in what a wicking top is, and she agreed I should let it take sweat from my skin on runs rather than at my in-laws Sunday dinner. The sizing may be a little generous, in that I'm usually a L, and this is a M which fits perfectly. And by "fits perfectly", I mean just that, no chaffing, no seam or tag cutting into the back of the neck, the sleeves don't feel tight... I had to try in on a run. Out I went, quick trail run 5k, and the top managed a perfect balance between wearing something substantial, and nothing at all. Some tech tops seem to "billow" in the wind; this was heavier than that, although you wouldn't notice any weight at all. Arms could move freely, body hung well, no riding up while running. When the drizzle came, there was no moisture problems, but I felt warm enough.

In short, its the best top I've worn, and have no hesitation in recommending Pearl Izumi. Sometimes its worth spending a bit extra on a bit of gear, this top felt so good thats deserves to cost a bit more, as it delivers a lot more than other branded tops. I'll write a bit more on it in a week or so, after I've fallen in the heather, got a bit of mud on it, dragged myself down a mountainside. That'll be a truer test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

1843_164.jpg&w=140&h=130

A few months ago, I volunteered on this forum to review some running gear, expecting to get a technical T for evaluation – you can never have too many technical shirts and what’s not to like about free stuff. I also volunteered on the grounds that I was a track runner but now that season is over and I am off-track, base-building or some other excuse for not pushing myself as hard in training as I was back then.

Turns out the product I got for review was a Pearl Izumi Infinity Singlet, so I should first declare that I am no expert in singlets as I don't usually wear one, except for my club colours which is usually kept for races.* I looked at buying one earlier in the summer when we got a few warm days (was that June?) but by the time I had got around to it the weather had changed again.

However it’s always nice to get a package in the post and it arrived this week, courtesy of Pearl Izumi’s man in Ireland, also of this parish and gersrunning.com. My kids were impressed, especially since they think it was free stuff that I got because I recently won a race (I did win but it was not the reason I got it) – they think getting free gear is the main reason to become an good runner!

Here’s what the Pearl Izumi website says about the top:
    •Elite UltraSensor® -Transfer fabric keeps you dry and cool
    •Integrated Bamboo carbon yarns are fast drying and offer anti-odor protection
    •Direct-Vent panels provide enhanced ventilation
    •Content: Body: 52% polyester/48% bamboo carbon, Mesh: 100% polyester

Yes, you read that right – 48% Bamboo! This will be the first time, I’ve worn anything made from bamboo. Apparently bamboo is a “sustainable textile” because its very quick growing and does not usually require the use of pesticides. Bamboo is highly water absorbent which gives it the wicking properties that pulls moisture away from the skin. Bamboo also has many antibacterial qualities, which bamboo fabric is apparently able to retain, even through multiple washings. Or at least that’s one view.

The other view (from the US Federal Trade Commission no less) is that a lot of what claims to be bamboo is actually rayon (made from bamboo) and has no antimicrobial properties. See: http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt160.shtm

Anyway enough about saving the world, what about the important stuff.

First, looks, its red - officially diablo red and white – like the kind of red you see on Pearl Izumi running shoes, that's just on the red side of pink with white breathable mesh along the sides and back of the neck. Also available in water blue & white (which looks remarkably like the boards ac singlet as modelled by Woddle a while back) and white & grey.

Size/Fit – it’s a loose fit as you would expect for a singlet. Openings for arms and head are on the generous size, without being too large. I think it was a previous bad experience with a singlet that had less fabric than opening and flapped about in the wind that put me off them in the past. My sample is a size medium which fits me well – usually Adidas and Reebok tops are too big in medium and Nike and Asics are a good fit for me.

I tried out the top on an easy run, so I did not fully test out the wicking and absorption properties, though it coped with all I perspired. It felt soft and comfortable, with no irritating seams. Even the label was discreet and did not need to be cut off yet.

At €29.95, this is at the top end of the singlet range. It compares well to my basic club singlet, which is not made from bamboo, 100% polyester I think and without the enhanced ventilation and mesh. It’s a well made, comfortable, stylish top and if this was in my club colours, I would wear it with pride.

In reality it probably won’t get a lot of outings unless global warming actually brings us warmer and not just wetter weather. But maybe I can effect global warming by wearing a sustainable textile?! The real test will be how it washes and wears over time so I will have to brave the elements in the interests of bringing boardsies a fair review and report back in a few more weeks on the performance and durability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

1830_2JZ.jpg&w=1000&h=1000

Ok so here was another top to add to the stack in my wardrobe... not! I enjoyed running in this top so much that I reluctantly folded neatly into my washbasket last night after back to back hill runs on road and mountain trail.

Upon first impressions I was quietly delighted with the style. Its very clean cut, no loose threads or rushed stitching. I got a limited edition white version with 'Run like and animal' on the back, and so I intended to do...

I asked for and recieved an 'L'. I'm about 180cm, 81kg and broad. The top fit nicely over my shoulders, hung well and gave plenty of room to move. Its a generous 'L' I'd have to say as often Tech tees don't quite fit over my shoulders and so the short sleeves look even shorter. With this top the seams were it the right places. I safely say I'd as quickly wear it as a casual top with jeans as I would running up the side of a mountain!

Its light. I'm not sure if its the 48% carbon bamboo/52% polyester combo that makes it so, but it definitelty feels lighter than my other tech tops. I'm a recent convert to the tech tops as a gentle 5 mile jog had me ringing out the old cotton race distributions.

It picked a good day to arrive in the post too, thank you Pearl Izumi Ireland, as I had a tough workout lined up. I had one major question to ask of this top and that was of its breatability and moisture transfer. When I put it on first it felt smooth against the skin as most tech tops do however, it almost floated it felt so light

Pearl Izumi say it has
    "Elite- Ultra Sensor transfer fabric to keep you cool and the Bamboo Carbon yarn is fast drying". And so it was.

First up an 8k hill run on road, by the top of the climb I'm usually very hot and sweaty however I noticed that it seemed as though I was not sweating as much nor was I overheating. The top felt quite dry and suprisingly after climbing 150m is was not clinging to me.

Next up a 10k Mountain Run with a much stiffer climb. Even at the turnaround with the evening mist starting to cover the mountain the top still felt fresh. I was cooler than usual and certainly than any form of cotton rubbish I'd sometimes wear. My heart rate was reasonably steady for a 5k climb. The descent is fast, almost out of control fast. you have to keep your arms quite high to maintain balance and often have to jump over an obstacle or across a narrow gap. I was flat out last night. Tops can often rise up and chaff my neck or underarms. I didn't even notice this top which is a very good thing. Usually when I take the top off I have to put it in the mesh part of my gearbag, however I was quite suprised with how dry the top was. Not bone dry but it sure didn't show the normal indication that I had spent the last 90 mins running hard.

Hence my reluctance to put it in the wash basket, it didn't smell of sweat and it was fairly dry... I actually contemplated putting it back in the gearbag for today. So, the question about breathability and moisture transfer was answered. Its an excellent running top and from the outset great value. It looks cool too.

The next test will be to take it out in the rain and wind and see how it fairs. Does this 'light feel' translate to it blowing about it the wind, upon evidence of running down steep descent at full speed, no. I will however report back to confirm its duarabilty over time and elements...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Brilliant idea & my Pearl tek tee which came free in last Septembers run is great 12 months & a few hundred miles later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Great informative reviews and a fantastic idea.

One question: Are the tech shirts worth the price considering there are cheaper alternatives currently available?

nerraw1111 wrote: »

One question: Are the tech shirts worth the price considering there are cheaper alternatives currently available?

What cheaper alternatives have you in mind? I used to feel the same and was wearing the old Conn 07 Conn 08 cotton (why didn't I do this year as I saw they gave out polyester versions of that lovely blue tee :rolleyes:) jobbies. The technical tees 'breathe' more keeping you cooler, lowering your heart rate a tad. Also they wash and dry out very quickly so you can have back in your bag a few hours after a wash. As they wick away moisture it means less chaffing from more abrasive materials. Especially during the winter when you might be wearing layers. Having a cotton sponge inside a longer, heavier top could have you do your last few kms and stretch in cold sweaty top not exactly good when your immune system is at a stretch already holding off every strain of bacteria the easterly breezes are throwing at us.

I seriously considered dumping all my old gear last night, except I remember how hard earned a lot of it was. Some tech tees are better than others. The DM long sleeve ones are very heavy, I'd love to get a lighter short sleeve version of it this year!

nerraw1111 wrote: »

I *hate* brands, *hate* advertising, and *hate* pimping, and yet, and yet...! Sometimes an item is so good as to justify the extra expense- having worn plenty of cheaper alternatives, this one might be twice the price, but its more than twice the value. Certainly worth the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

As somebody who has plenty of pear izumi gear I'll just add my 2 cents worth here:

I have 3 of the infinity singlet and they are my preference for training and racing in. the seams are super flat and the fit is excellent so no billowing gaps under your arms with chaffing on the biceps or the edge of the pecs.

I have run 4 marathons in these singlets and also own addidas and new balance singlets. They are worth the money and have lasted for 3000 miles and 2.5 years of running (although in the winter I wouldn't wear them on their own).

They are first on from April to September and all racing.

As a result of my great experience with the infinity singlet I recently (in the last month) treated myself to the short sleeved technical Tee. First up I'd say that the anti-odour technology works fantastically. After 3 X 8 - 10 mile runs in the Irish 'summer' it doesn't smell. I almost feel guilty about not washing it! Secondly, I got it in white with green detailing and it looks great in real life. The only (and main drawback) is that I have found that the 'smooth' fabric on the main body of the tee shirt does not allow vapour transfer away from my body. As a result I have found that I am both over heating in it and sweating excessively. I will hold off on the final judgement on it until the autumn to see whether it will work in the October/November season. As a comparison I have an addidas technical tee from the Rotterdam marathon and that is much more 'breathable' - as they say in the adverts!

To Ger - my local shop isn't stocking the 2009 infinity singlet so if you're around Cork I'll buy them out of the back of your car! (I have the 2007 & 08 colours)

Well, how is teh gear bearing up?

Quick question to DP as well - like you I would run a lot in cotton T's but my benchmark for technical T's is the Addidas Climacool T from Rotterdam. The 09 version (with a slightly different cut / design) is outstanding. I know you have teh same shirt so how does it compare to the Pearl Izumi one?

Well, how is teh gear bearing up?

Quick question to DP as well - like you I would run a lot in cotton T's but my benchmark for technical T's is the Addidas Climacool T from Rotterdam. The 09 version (with a slightly different cut / design) is outstanding. I know you have teh same shirt so how does it compare to the Pearl Izumi one?

I'm going to wear it this weekend in the boggy filth of the Glenealo valley, that'll be a good test.

Yeah, the T from Rotterdam is a great one all right. Fits well, light to run it, great fresh feeling from it. The PI one is at least on a par, its a teeny bit heavier (although it has long sleeves), my impression is the PI one is a bit more rugged, and better made. It would be more suited to the Irish seasons, ie, will keep you a bit warmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gersrunning

What can I say, Took a bit of a gamble (was Happy with our Product,but reviews can swing both ways)with giving the gear in for review.

But I have to be honest these are by far some of the most thorough and professional reviews we have got in, are you sure you lot are not really runners world kit testers or something????

Well I would like to sincerely thank Amadeus for getting a non biased Review going,
    donothoponpop,dna_leri & MCOS for a thorough and highly professional review of the three items.

I look forward to our future reviews, but I also look forward to looking out for the Boards Ac singlets ( Yes They are Pearl Izumi) and racing against you guys and having a laugh.

Thanks again.

Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Davie_m

hi all,
    really enjoyed reading the reviews for this particular gear..

I wouldn't consider myself to serious runner compared to some here (longest run i did was the frank duffy 10 miler this year and do about 30 k ish a week)
    but i still enjoy heading out for run most evenings even if i am not matching the same distance as others yet.

at the start of the year i went out looking for a new pair of running shorts for the season and by chance picked up a PEARL iZUMi pair in runways on parnell street.
    cant fault them at all, definitely consider them to be my favorite pair for the comfort and fit.

so since reading the reviews and others opinions i really want to treat myself to a long sleeve for the season ahead.

just wondering where in Dublin city centre is there Pearl izumi gear available to purchase?
    or is it worth buying online?

many thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭blind_hurler

Ger,

Where in Cork stocks PI?

My singlet has held up fine after its first wear and wash. I will continue to use, probably under my rain jacket, over the next few weeks to test out durability.

I will certainly look for Pearl Izumi gear when buying my next running gear, the long-sleeve technical top is on my list, although I don't think my local shops stock the brand.

Ger - given the demand that you have now created, you might want to post up a list of Irish stockists on your website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

Ger,

Where in Cork stocks PI?

the Edge - North Main Street

Davie_m wrote: »
    hi all,
    really enjoyed reading the reviews for this particular gear..

I wouldn't consider myself to serious runner compared to some here (longest run i did was the frank duffy 10 miler this year and do about 30 k ish a week)
    but i still enjoy heading out for run most evenings even if i am not matching the same distance as others yet.

at the start of the year i went out looking for a new pair of running shorts for the season and by chance picked up a PEARL iZUMi pair in runways on parnell street.
    cant fault them at all, definitely consider them to be my favorite pair for the comfort and fit.

so since reading the reviews and others opinions i really want to treat myself to a long sleeve for the season ahead.

just wondering where in Dublin city centre is there Pearl izumi gear available to purchase?
    or is it worth buying online?

many thanks.
    Hey,

I would recommend The Cycle Inn on the Long mile road,ask for Richie.
    If they dont have what you want they will get it in.
    Any probs mail me on gersrunning@gmail.com

dna_leri wrote: »
    My singlet has held up fine after its first wear and wash. I will continue to use, probably under my rain jacket, over the next few weeks to test out durability.

I will certainly look for Pearl Izumi gear when buying my next running gear, the long-sleeve technical top is on my list, although I don't think my local shops stock the brand.

Ger - given the demand that you have now created, you might want to post up a list of Irish stockists on your website.
    Good point, That will be done in the coming days, I was just thinking the same thing.
    Ger

Ger,

Where in Cork stocks PI?
    Hey,

I would recommend The Edge Sports as the Cork stockists
    If they dont have what you want they should order it in.
    Any probs mail me on gersrunning@gmail.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

Gear Review: Pearl Izumi Peak XC
    http://www.pearlizumi.com/product.php?mode=view&product_id=1237489

Did this review for Ger from Pearl Izumi a while back - decided to add it here as it may be useful to some.

My initial impression of these shoes was good - they looked the part - light, flexible, bouncy & a decent tread. They are almost identical to the Pearl Izumi road racing Streak shoe, but have added durability and traction for trail racing. The shoe weighted in at at 265g on my kitchen scales, which is as advertised. Some manufactures have a tendency of advertising the weight of a size 5 or something, so it I was impressed that Pearl Izumi gave real stats for their products.

My first time wearing these shoes was in an IMRA race around Howth head in Dublin. The shoes are so light, responsive and really bouncy. The grip is more than sufficient for trail running in dry conditions. I knew in my pre-race warm up that I wasn't going to regret wearing the shoes as I could hardly feel them on my feet. My only concern was in relation to the 360 lacing system - it seem to loosen during my warm-up and it was important for me to re-tighten the shoes before the race. During the race the shoes performed exceptionally well, with good grip on both the steep up-hill sections and rocky descents. The shoes helped me win the race and perhaps more importantly I felt as if I hadn't raced as the cushioning is superb for a racing flat. Normally my legs would be suffering after such a race.

Since then I've worn the peak XC in another 2 hill races and have recorded wins in record setting times in both races. Guess that's a super endorsement.

I also tested the shoes in the Irish Adventure Challenge. This is a 6 hours race across some of the roughest terrain in Ireland. The race is based near Killarney and involves and 10k trail/marsh run, 10k kayak, 10k road run, 10k mountain run (over 3 highest peaks in Ireland), abseil, 20km mountain bike. On this test the shoes didn't perform as well. The grip on the soles doesn't perform on wet, grass or extremely rocky descents - it was perhaps unfair on me to expect it to. Also the very top of my right shoe separated after the turmoil of the day - it was an extreme test, but it does suggest that the shoes won't last the test of time. On a positive note the cushioning on the shoes meant I was relatively sprightly after this endurance race. It only took me 2/3 days to recover from race - sometimes the recovery from a race like this can be weeks ...

Overall, I would rate these shoes extremely highly. They are designed for a specific purpose - trail running in dry conditions. For this purpose they are by far the best shoes I have tried to date. They don't have the grip of an Inov-8 or PB Walsh in extreme mountain/fell running conditions, but that's not their objective. They are designed for fast trail running and they certainly achieve that. I had a tendency to wear racing flats in trail races and as a result sacrificed traction in favour of speed - with the Peak XC I don't have to make that compromise. Perhaps the biggest plus for me with the Peak XC is the cushioning - it's fantastic - it really does shortern the recovery period required for trail racing.

Positives:
    - extremely light for trail running shoes
    - impressive cushioning which minimises impact from hard trails
    - super bounce which helps you get up those hills and recover quickly from races
    - sufficient grip and rigidity for dry trail running conditions, meaning you will be confidence to run full tilt

Negatives:
    - Not convincenced on durability of mesh or soles
    - Lacing system (or perhaps just laces) can result in shoes getting loose over time

Overall I would highy recommend these shoes for any athlete looking to set PBs on the trails in dry conditions. They may not last the test of time, but if any serious athlete is asked which is more important performance or durability, I supect performance will win hands down every time. These are racing shoes, not training shoe. For me these shoes are best in class for performance and deserve a 9/10 rating.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

interesting review Bazman, have you ever tried the speedcross? How would you compare them to the XC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

As Bazman says they are a great shoe, I have a pair of these in which I wear for road races and love them, I would agree though on a wet day they can be slightly slippy but I still wear them over anything else :D
    I'm a bit heavier than Bazman and I reckon a 10 mile race would be the longest distance I would wear them for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

copacetic wrote: »
    interesting review Bazman, have you ever tried the speedcross? How would you compare them to the XC?

Yes I also own a pair of speedcross - I possibly have every shoe on the market - it's a minor obsession :) Speedcross are a bit heavier, but have much deeper lugs. Speedcross more suitable for wet terraine. Peak XC only suitable for dry solid trails.

For slippery mountain conditions my racing shoe of choice would be the Inov-8 Talon 212. For dry trail conditions I'd favour the Peak XC. You could also wear the Peak XC on the road, like Woodle has done, as they are very similar to the Streak. They are ideal for something like the Wicklow Way (where there is bits of road & trail) and for most IMRA Leinster League races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

Would anyone know where in Galway I can source PI gear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Thanks Bazman lookibng to pick up a pair of racers myself soon so have given me something to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Cheers for the reviews lads. After reading them I bought two of the Phase t-shirts on ebay at £12.99 a pop :D.

I wasn't impressed with the t-shirts initially as I had ordered medium (nearly always my size) and they were closer to large. The shoulders are very wide so I would recommend trying on in advance or ordering a size smaller than you usually take if you are slim build like me. Then when I was putting it on before my run tonight I managed to put a tear in one of the seams :mad:.

Anyway I went out on my 11 mile run including some tempo miles and I have to say the t-shirt is class. It is so light compared to my other asics/ronhill/adidas t-shirts. I sweat a lot and I didn't even notice how wet it was until I stopped at the end and touched the t-shirt. Very hapy and would recommend it for a race day top - especially if it's hot!

Well we're pretty much a month in, have the shirts fallen apart yet? :D

Wore my singlet for a local race last night - still looking good after over 4 uses. Does not seem to have lost any absorbency. I suspect slight shrinkage after the first few washes (at 40 deg) but not really noticeable - has still kept its shape. Dries quickly so gets back to the top of the pile for regular use. Just need to find a local stockist for the next time I need more gear.

Mines been through the wash about 10 times or so: its still as good as the day I got it. Didn't shrink, fade, or flay at the seams. No loose threads.

If it was a jazz tune, it'd be a stone groove, man.

Are you eating the funny mushrooms on those mountain runs of yours? :D

There's loads of ways to get high around these hills... natural endorphins do me just fine these days!

Washed mine about 5 times since. Still as good as new. Best thing about these Tech Tees apart from the usual is that they dry so quickly. Hang em outside for an hour and good to go again.