Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should men be paid more than women (again)?

• 26-08-2009 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

Just thinking about this He Drives She Dies business.

If the court upholds the precedent (which, it won't. Unless Ireland's Y2K clock reads 0009 AD) then it opens the way for carte blanche discriminations based on statistical findings.

For instance (approximated figures) the average Female can lift 25 pounds. The average Male, 50 pounds. This makes the Male a more efficient worker. I dont care that I'm only asking them to carry paperwork - they will be able to carry more paperwork before becoming fatigued, or breaking a nail. I can present cold hard evidence that women break more nails than men on the job. Its true!

Similarly to all the above BS, when youre just talking about this Pricing Discrimination on Insurance - that means the Cost of Living for a Male is going to be markedly higher than the Cost of Living for a Female.

On that, do you think it would be justified to pay male workers more money because they have to pay more for insurance, and this drives up their cost of living?

/and yes - im taking the piss to prove a point.

Should men be Paid More than Women? 128 votes

No
    0% 0 votes
    Yes
    32% 42 votes
    Whachoo Talkin' bout Overheal?
    59% 76 votes
    Uninsured Atari Jaguars
    7% 10 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Well, as the saying goes "A womans work is never done".
    So it only stands to reason they should be paid less.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

there is feminists currently trying to find you Overheal and kill you for suggesting such a notion.

Mind yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

dannym08 wrote: »
    there is feminists currently trying to find you Overheal and kill you for suggesting such a notion.

Mind yourself
    They can do what they like as soon as we kill affirmative action.

Yes we work harder and have bigger cocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Yes, yes we should

But not for any of your reasons, because we're better :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Yes we should, we're atleast 2x faster at doing anything than females.

Ohh I can't wait for the wimminz to get here...

EDIT: Oh crap I thought the poll was should men get paid more than women not vice versa! Scratch one yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

It would help if you posed the same question in the poll as in the thread title.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

/grabs popcorn and waits for the ladies to arrive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Poll is giving middle finger to lifeboat feminists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

from my browsing of the PI and relationship issues forum it seems that women still expect men to pay their way while on dates...

more reasons for increased pay:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Men require a higher daily calorie intake, that doesn't come cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If I take some kind of weightlifting test can I be paid the same? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Very misleading title Overheal, your thread topic is:

"Should men be paid more than women"

yet your poll is :

"Should women be paid more than men".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭ChickenScratch

We're higher maintenance so we need more munnies.

You boys want us to look pretty don't you?

*bats eyelashes*

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It's so women will get some votes

TheZohan wrote: »
    Very misleading title Overheal, your thread topic is:

"Should men be paid more than women"

yet your poll is :

"Should women be paid more than men".
    Its been tweaked now. Thanks to Dr. Bollocko I believe

Overheal wrote: »
    Its been tweaked now. Thanks to Dr. Bollocko I believe
    Yes but now I've voted yes to "should men be paid more than women"

I do not agree with this.

phasers wrote: »
    Yes but now I've voted yes to "should men be paid more than women"

I do not agree with this.
    well, I didnt agree to being discriminated by my insurance company based on my gender

Overheal wrote: »
    well, I didnt agree to being discriminated by my insurance company based on my gender
    I don't either, but your poll mislead me

I shall be reporting this to... well nobody, but still you're a meanie :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

I dunno what kinda fukn eejits start these bullsh*t threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

oh nice lets over turn the ruling which had to be yet again dicated by the eu courts to bring about the equal pay act cos this is such a backward country and all the hard work it took to get that to happen cos a bunch of guys don't like those adds.

Personally I think those adds suck ass and ye should all complain about them asap rather then blathering on about getting rid of equal play with no gender bias, let try and move things forward in this fúcking country not backwards for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

WTF?
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭ninjasurfer1

Thaedydal wrote: »
    oh nice lets over turn the ruling which had to be yet again dictated by the eu courts to bring about the equal pay act.

Thats where it all started going wrong!!! :pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

We may only be able to carry 25lbs Vs the male 50lb but you can bet your ass we are multi tasking while we are doing it.

In fact, to hell with equality, i want more than my male counterpart!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

I voted NO for absolutely no reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Women can have multiple orgasms. Men get more money to make up for that. FACT*

*may not be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Men have to put up with women. We deserve more for that. Its aural danger money. Time and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭wexican

Yes we should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Women who are good at their jobs should get paid the same as equally talented men and vice versa. Just to simplify like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭MmmmmCheese

*Burns bra*

Ya well.......Women smell nicer! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I worked in a bank, one of the managers asked me to lift some boxes with files, because the women were not allowed to lift them, beats me why. Pretty sexist though. Well if a man is expected to do more work why not pay him more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

oh nice lets over turn the ruling which had to be yet again dicated by the eu courts to bring about the equal pay act cos this is such a backward country and all the hard work it took to get that to happen cos a bunch of guys don't like those adds.

Personally I think those adds suck ass and ye should all complain about them asap rather then blathering on about getting rid of equal play with no gender bias, let try and move things forward in this fúcking country not backwards for a change.

But there is gender bias.

I thought I disclaimed the blatant sarcasm in my OP? ;)

Just further underlining how wrong not only that these ads are, but the Insurance system in general. I have no plans to abolish equal pay for equal work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Dubs

It should be about the individual, not their gender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

look at athletics, men are better built then woman and can work harder.

If women can have cheaper car insurance, then let us men have better wages!!

look at athletics, men are better built then woman and can work harder.

If women can have cheaper car insurance, then let us men have better wages!!

Yeah, that makes everything equal.

<snip> Get a grip - Hagar <snip>

thats kinda sick, I should let those ideas stay untyped...

I seriously hope you are joking and even if you are its a fcuking bad joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Haha way to give away a golden business idea. These women would be better paying for the service. Artificial insemination and all that. To the Shootersf cave!

(This post is intended as humourous, though it may not be funny. I am not actually thinking of starting such a business. Please only over-react with this in mind)

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Haha way to give away a golden business idea. These women would be better paying for the service. Artificial insemination and all that. To the Shootersf cave!

(This post is intended as humourous, though it may not be funny. I am not actually thinking of starting such a business. Please only over-react with this in mind)

it hast to be after 5-6 months, might be a bit hard to hide if you want to fight.

funny true story, a mate of mate was out one night a few months back and some local girls were given her dirty looks. they started on her, one of the girls shouted at my mates mate "dont hit her shes bleedin pregnant!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

No. Both should be paid the same. But everyone has to realise that you can't change natural law. We live in a financial/worth society. A man wants to believe that he is the protector. He cannot believe this if it is his wife who the family depend on for breadwinning. This may seem stupid and I have no doubt it is due to the frail male ego, but the fact remains that that frail male ego is there. It is why cool female doctors can't get together with cool male nurses.

Equality is right. It is our belief. But it will never change the fact that the more successful a man becomes, the wider becomes his field of prospective partners, while the more successful a woman becomes the more hers narrows. And it is not just the male psyche.But I'll let the wimminz respond on that.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

</ Reads thread...>
    Sees that once again the ****e has been stored too close to the fan ...:eek:

Leaves quietly through the back door:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

If ever there was a poll that exposes the demographic of boards users....

There was a big study done on this before. On average men are 13% better educated than a woman in the same position, more likely to work late, more likely to travel for work, less likely to call in sick and take less time off. Who would you pay more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

If ever there was a poll that exposes the demographic of boards users....

There was a big study done on this before. On average men are 13% better educated than a woman in the same position, more likely to work late, more likely to travel for work, less likely to call in sick and take less time off. Who would you pay more?

That makes no sense.
    Why are these men better educated than the women who all work in the same positions? The qualifications these men have can't actually be necessary for the job in question, because lesser educated women can do it. So the employers are missing a trick there, they should sack all these educated men who can only do the same job as the lesser educated women and pay the women less than they were paying the over educated men.
    Or is that too sensible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I suppose it can only mean that the men have extra qualifications. Typically someone with a MSc will get paid more for basically the same job as someone with a BSc. The thinking is that they'd be working to a higher standard and more skills to call on when they encounter a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

yes... as a majority of women at some stage will want to raise a family and take a few years of work... of course men should be paid more... we will have to be the provider for this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

No.

Mr. Mann and Ms. Beefcurtains do the same job - should be paid the same.

Insurance being higher for men is simply because insurance companies are **** who paint everyone with the same brush. It's not the employers fault, it's ours lads. I mean, who let the birds out of the kitchen and allow them to get jobs in the first place? We have only ourselves to blame :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

men have to be the higher earner. otherwise they would not be able to "keep" their wives in the style they believe they are entitled to and the institution of marriage would be irreparably damaged as women seek other means to bleed money from men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

dannym08 wrote: »

Mind yourself

Not if he kills them first with his bad driving!!