Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Loughman Randonee

• 24-08-2009 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭

Sunday 13th September 2009
    Leisure cycling challenge, all cyclists are welcome
    Sign-on is at Bray Wheelers Clubhouse, Schools Road, Boghall, Bray from 8.30 to 9.30am
    Refreshment stop at Kirikee Hall, between Glenmalure and Greenane
    Contact: For further information please contact Victor Edmonds 086 8734059
    115k or 45k routes.
    €20.00 Sign-on.

The long route will bring you over the Shay Elliott from the Laragh side, then Brown Mountain, Slieve Mann and back over the Elliott.

Details here:http://www.braywheelers.com/events.htm

This is a charity event in aid of Bray Cancer Support Centre http://www.braycancersupport.ie/randonnee.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

plenty of views......................no one interested?? It will be a nice one for keeping the legs going after doing the Sean Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

would love to go but in work and then to kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Might do this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

I'll be doing it, and will be dragging a friend along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭rughdh

Will probably do this. Looks like a good route. What's the N11 bit like?

rughdh wrote: »
    Will probably do this. Looks like a good route. What's the N11 bit like?

fairly flat, but once you get into Ashford and turn inland, it's all uphill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭munkee

What's the story with the refreshments stop- will there be food or should you bring enough of your own stuff for the day?

munkee wrote: »
    What's the story with the refreshments stop- will there be food or should you bring enough of your own stuff for the day?

Yes, there will be tea,coffee, sandwiches etc at the refreshment stop, bringing extra food of your own is not a bad idea also, as this is a demanding route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

New to cycling so think I'll go with the 45k option.

Cheers,

rigal

just bumping this as a reminder, as it is only 2 weeks away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭2x4

Its Bray Wheelers CC Joe Loughman Randonnee time again, Sunday 13th September 2009 A leisure cycle challenge, all cyclists welcome, all proceeds to Bray Cancer Support Centre. This year we have two new routes to challenge cyclists of all abilities. The 47km route is down to Ashford and back to Bray through Nun's Cross and Newtownmountkennedy. The main route is a real challenge taking in climbs of the Shay Elliot Monument from both directions as well as Greenane Maze climb, Aughavannagh and Brown Mountain..............whew! Sign on from 8am until 9.30 fee EUR 20 with free sign on if you are carrying EUR 100 or more sponsorship. Feed Stations on both routes and at Bray Wheelers Clubhouse at finish. Neutral Service will patrol the route which will be signposted and we hope to have marshals at danger points. Please do your best to obtain some sponsorship. Small amounts can all add up and all money collected goes to a very good cause which can affect us all and our families. Details here: http://www.braywheelers.com/events.htm and here: http://www.braycancersupport.ie/randonnee.html Sponsorship forms avaialble from Bray Cancer Support, Main St. Bray Tel. 01 2866966 Looking forward to seeing you in Bray on the 13th. Victor Edmonds 086 8734059

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Really regretting missing this one due to injury...
    Interesting changes to the course this year and it certainly has a bit for everyone. Short course isn't so easy as to be patronising:) and the longer route will cater to the climbers and demon decenders. I notice also that this year the lads are putting support cars out on the course - a good provision if anyone is unfortunate enough to have trouble. To the guy who asked about food - I've always eat far too much at the food stops on this one owing to the food being too good and theres always plenty of it. The world famous Tess Martin oversees the catering crew and shes always on hand in the clubhouse to see you get plenty when you return. Good luck to all of you doing it and I really wish I was able to join you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Sunday is supposed to be nice weather. Good luck with it.

Anyone else from here doing this?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Will probably do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

Sounds good to me, think i'll try and get leave of absence for this one. Bray's a lot closer to Dundrum than Cork !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Come to Cork ya big wussie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

Hi - will probably go for this, hope to see loads of the Boardsies there - Empty going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭2x4

This could be your last chance to to do a 110Km or 50Km challenge as the season comes to a close. Tea and sandwiches on route at Nunn's Cross School, Kirikee Hall and at finish, neutral service car, Garda Traffic Corps and Civil Defence to watch out for us at junctions, two routes 50Km and 110Km, beautiful Wicklow scenery. We have even organised the sun to shine on Sunday :cool:

Hope to see you all there.

http://www.braywheelers.com/events.htm

http://www.braycancersupport.ie/randonnee.html

Is this a mass-start event?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Wasn't the last time I did it. People drifted off in groups once they'd signed on.

el tonto wrote: »
    Wasn't the last time I did it. People drifted off in groups once they'd signed on.

Any rough idea of the total numbers doing it last time?

Twas two years ago I did it. Think about 100.

Should be a few groups to hang with so.

Only bit I don't get about this route is the stretch along the N11. My most despised road.

Really??? Never bothered me. The Bray club spins seem to go down it all the time.

Just find it dull and don't enjoy riding along a dual carriageway with tons of traffic. There are plenty of nicer routes that run parallel to that road.

At least that bit will be over quickly.

Ah it's a real belter that gets you into the heart of Wicklow in no time at all.

True, an easy road to get a good fast train going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Should be doing this also.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Should be doing this also.

See you at sign on.

Are you cycling out from town? Could meet you along the N11 if you would like company on the way out to bray?

EDIT: I have just been told "The Blast" is on in Ballinastoe tmw. I'll have to get back to you later when I decide which to do.

You're choosing mountain biking over a what looks like a great route in the sun?

[shakes head and walks away]

You're chossing mountain biking over a what looks like a great route in the sun?

[shakes head and walks away]

Nah, I've decided to do this one, gotta test out my new bar tape :)

What time are y'all hoping to check in/head off by? I'll head down the N11 planning on getting there for 8.30ish. My mate has pulled out at the last minute, so if there's a boards train count me in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

Well that was a toughie :eek:

Gorgeous day for it though, a perfect way to end the summer :)

LastGasp, Tonto, Cadex & Lukester are all gents, massive massive thanks for helping me with my mechanical & puncture, dunno what I woulda done without ye!

Hey lads (and GODIHATETHEHILLS!) - thanks for a great day out in the hills and sun! It was great to meet more of the Boardsies again and have the company on the route. It was tough one alright and I was a bit unsure of the wisdom of cycling over and back from the event near the end.....

Stats for the day:
    Distance 171k (113k for the event)
    Max Speed 69.6k/hr
    Average 25.9k/h (overall)
    Cycle time 6:36:23
    Temp 20+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

A great day out and a tough route - there must have been more climbing in that than the W200 and what weather - wow! Many thanks to Bray Wheelers for their efforts and the very welcome and tasty food during and after.

What a fantastic day - weatherwise ! Once we got out of Ashford it just seemed to be one hill after the next all the way round.
    I'm more knackered after that than I was after WW200 or Sean Kelly ! Thanks to Cadex for the "tow" from Laragh most of the way back to Bray ! I know I wouldn't have fancied another 30k at each end to get home-that's a good spin. Well done to Wheelers for excellent organisation, and several great spreads of grub, cake etc. 113 kms, 24.3 kph, 4hrs 39min.
    Cadex, thanks for the photos !

Greyspoke wrote: »
    A great day out and a tough route - there must have been more climbing in that than the W200 and what weather - wow! Many thanks to Bray Wheelers for their efforts and the very welcome and tasty food during and after.
    Greyspoke, were you the "nutjob" hero on the Fixie today ?????

Many Thanks to all who turned up yesterday to make it a fantastic day, there was a really good turn out for this event, which was for a worthy cause.

I passed by some "nutjob" on the descent from the Shay Elliott into Laragh, wearing red and white gear. Whoever that was, fair play for doing that route on a fixie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

LastGasp wrote: »
    Greyspoke, were you the "nutjob" on the Fixie today ?????
    I'm not sure that sounds very complimentary (!) but yes, that was me on the white Langster. Don't ask why - for the challenge I suppose! (and I do feel a bit stupid pedalling/braking down all the descents and not even getting to 50kph because my legs won't go fast enough!)
    I thought it was a great route particularly from Ashford all the way through to Laragh on the return journey The road from Garryduff crossroads past Cronybyrne forest gave great views across the valley towards the Shay Elliot climb and the stretch from Greenane around the back of Croaghanmoira to the foot of the Slieve Maan climb was a good one too.

Excellent job and big thanks to the Bray Wheelers, the support vehicle (thanks especially for the timely dangerous descent warning), the people who did the food and water stops (always much appreciated), the Gardai, the ‘Boardsies’ and all the other cyclists who make events like this great craic. Hope the charity had something left after looking after all us cyclists so well.

Training Diary entry: The Joe Loughman Randonée (with Bray Wheelers) – this was a really well organised event with Garda escort, motorbikes, support car, food and water stops – even the weather was perfect! Pretty happy with how I managed too despite being so rusty. To start with, I cycled over to the clubhouse which was 29k (Artane to Bray). I met up with 4 of the folks from Boards (LastGasp, Lukester, Tonto and GodIHateTheHills) and we headed off in the mass start sticking with the front group. This was great as we had garda escort etc. down the main road (N11) for the first part and there was a neutral service car following along behind. After the first section down the main road, we headed inland and up! We climbed up out of Ashford into Glenmalure and up over the ‘Shay Elliott’ (‘easy side’) then down the steep side as a fantastic descent (69.6k/h) on a good surface before heading to the stop (Kirikee) for teas and sambos. After that we headed off up a really steep but short piece which I think I heard is rated at 18%! As we headed to that bit, GodIHateTheHills went for a bottom gear only to have her chain come off so she spun and then fell over. We then spent a while sorting this as it appeared her derailleur had taken a bang in an earlier incident and was a bit off, causing the problem. We got going and then headed over some ‘undulating’ countryside before landing at the foot of Slieve Maan (very tough – as featured in the W200). As I was going along, I thought to myself that when I got to the top, I’d stop and have some water and maybe a little heart attack! I found myself on my own, so after getting up this I waited for the others. We were well split up now so when I was joined by one of the group (LastGasp) we two stuck together. After a short water break followed by a fantastic descent, we then faced the steep side of the Shay Elliott which went ok but was still a piece of work. Had some water and food before taking some pics here then we headed off again. We had a bit of craic but some of the descents were a little hairy with potholes and gravel, wet sections etc. so we had to back off on a few. Big thanks to the support car for the timely warning before the worst bit. The Shay Elliott was the last of the real climbs so after that it was more of the long (I thought it would never end!) undulating stuff (complete with head wind) before we headed down by the Sugar Loaf mountain on the ‘Old Long Hill’. I’d never cycled the whole way down before and it was fantastic - 70k/hour time again – Wheee! I’d become separated from LastGasp on the descent but as we were nearly home, I reckoned it was ok. This brought us to the main road (N11) again and on then to the clubhouse for a great welcome and the healing cup of tea and a bit of chat in the sun. I met up with LastGasp (and his family) again and Kevin(?) from Swords CC who’d survived his fall. After that, it was back on the bike for the cycle home. After the open roads and beautiful countryside, I found the traffic and traffic lights no fun and was glad to finally arrive home. The usual, bath and a beer followed – very therapeutic. I was a bit tired afterwards but pretty much fine, even my back stopped creaking now that I was off the bike (had been v. sore earlier). It felt like there was nearly as much climbing as in the Wicklow200. All in all a great day.

I’m a little tender today (hamstring) but happy that I am ready for next weeks event on the Isle of Wight. Not running today but will do a couple during the week.

P.S. Believe Greyspoke did it on a ‘fixie’ …..oh man – there’s always one! (is it always the same one….?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

Nice report Cadex, I don't think you give yourself enough credit there though, you were really motoring on Sunday!

No offence intended of course - fixed it now, if you'll pardon the pun. I was just putting faces and user names together and when I realised you took part I reckoned it must be you. Fair play to you - must have been tough ! You're right-the mountains really looked fantastic on the day.
    Greyspoke wrote: »
    I'm not sure that sounds very complimentary (!) but yes, that was me on the white Langster. Don't ask why - for the challenge I suppose! (and I do feel a bit stupid pedalling/braking down all the descents and not even getting to 50kph because my legs won't go fast enough!)
    I thought it was a great route particularly from Ashford all the way through to Laragh on the return journey The road from Garryduff crossroads past Cronybyrne forest gave great views across the valley towards the Shay Elliot climb and the stretch from Greenane around the back of Croaghanmoira to the foot of the Slieve Maan climb was a good one too.

Too many you's in that post !

Nice report Cadex, I don't think you give yourself enough credit there though, you were really motoring on Sunday!
    That makes me feel a bit better for "dying" between Laragh and Sugarloaf !

@ Lastgasp that section along to the Sugar Loaf was a real drag, especially with the headwind so don't feel bad about it, it was simply tough going (for us all). I have been over that a good few tiimes and knew it seemed to go on forever but even still I was caught out by how long it seemed on the day. That's why I pointed out to the 'steep downhill' warning sign with such glee! I was really looking forward to the downhill after the long bit. I'd have hated to do that bit on my own - it was good to have the company.
    I think all the Boardsies did great on the day - as usual, natch!