Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are cops busy

• 22-08-2009 9:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭

Are Garda stations busy all the time? Say in a country town around 20,000 would the police be up to their eyes or not busy all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

your busy doing the million and 1 things people dont know we do.

paperpwork

reviewimg oncidents from gisc

serving summonses

taking statements

answering the corespondance from the super that a phone call would answer quite efficiently.

answering correspondance from insurance compaies re traffic accidents.

majority of my day now is paperwork..

and im in a small town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭RLJ

reviewimg oncidents from gisc
    ?gisc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

They have to prioritise. There are certain things to which they will not respond. Not by choice, by necessity!

Of course they are busy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 robdrog

Very suspicious question :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭noel32

being honst no i dont think so apart for the very busy stations,
    i think people have this idea that we are constantly going here and there and attending this and that, when a lot of the time we aint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

RLJ wrote: »
    Are Garda stations busy all the time? Say in a country town around 20,000 would the police be up to their eyes or not busy all the time

Im stationed in a small town of about 12,000 people and there are times when its not busy. During these times we serve summons, execute warrants, do paperwork, take statements, do checkpoints, be on patrol, review incidents or investigations, create summons etc etc.

In my district it seems when we are busy we are very busy.

Also just for your information the Gardai in your town dont just patrol the town only. If your local station is a District HQ they will also patrol other towns and villages in your district. Say in my district when I am on duty we cover the town I work in but also 7 other villages. The furthest village from the town is 10 miles away. In my district we have two stations which are 24hr due to the size of the district which is about 40 miles wide at its widest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

noel32 wrote: »
    being honst no i dont think so apart for the very busy stations,
    i think people have this idea that we are constantly going here and there and attending this and that, when a lot of the time we aint

Wanna swap? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Pensk

I always see garda up and down Grafton Street being "busy" catching drunk teenagers, when really they could be doing more important things. I'm 14, and some druggy about 30 years older than me started on me yesterday. Where were the guards? Looking for drunk teenagers as usual. -_-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Pensk wrote: »
    I always see garda up and down Grafton Street being "busy" catching drunk teenagers, when really they could be doing more important things. I'm 14, and some druggy about 30 years older than me started on me yesterday. Where were the guards? Looking for drunk teenagers as usual. -_-
    You could look at that another way, by stopping them from acting up as young teenagers they might cop on and keep themselves clean and not become one of those 30 year old druggies :) and contrary to most peoples beliefs they don't have crystal balls and can't predict where someone is going to start trouble or break the law, usually by calling them you'll find their response times are much faster :D

On Grafton Street they would probably be busy dealing with shoplifters, tourists looking for directions, drug users, drunks, people begging with children, the odd robbery/bag snatch, burglaries, thefts from cars, oh and stupid drunk teenagers who can't stand and need their mummy to come and collect them because the Gardai have nothing better to be doing with their time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Maybe teenagers should stop getting drunk and let the Guards catch those druggies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

A quiet station.... is there such a thing.
    Just because it's a small town, or low levels of crime, you'd be amazed how busy Gardai can be. In these spots we become the local friend of the elderly, the semi-social worker,the improvised ambulance service.
    There's always a main road nearby for safety checks, speed guns, etc.
    Then there's the community work, calling to the school, visiting the local sports clubs, meeting the local children.

And then there's the inevitable sheep/cattle straying on the road.

Anyway, I can only dream...meanwhile, back to the syringes and puke. The drunken louts and the terrible driving!!