Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We Aint seen Nothing Yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

feck.....very dark indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

really, really, REALLY scary :eek:

But not that there may or may not be a(nother) crash, but that these clowns, them with financial gobbledeegook and woeful metaphors, them that make their money out of predicticting the future in such a way so that their investments pay off ...these guys, playing roulette with other people's pension money ...that they still haven't learned anything from the last crash and are allowed to continue rambling and gambling ...that's scary.

We are not victims of some anonymous global phenomenon ...our future will not be shaped by God or our hard labour ...it's in the hands of these clowns, all of their ilk and all who pander to them.

Plant potatoes ...that's my advice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭randypriest

peasant wrote: »

Self-sufficiency here we come. Im off to buy some seeds....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

peasant wrote: »
    Damn right. Peak oil is nearly upon us. Global society will collapse and I can see us all reverting to a small-holder agrarian basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Kent Brockman: Professor, without knowing precisely what the danger is, would you say it's time for our viewers to crack each other's heads open and feast on the goo inside?

Professor: Yes I would, Kent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭PANADOL

There will be a massive massive stockmarket crash in October according to this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wa4sCDz0WJk
    all the jews will lose their money:eek:

Damn right. Peak oil is nearly upon us. Global society will collapse and I can see us all reverting to a small-holder agrarian basis.

It depends on how proved reserves and proved and probable reserves are interpreted (as far as I recall) and who is interpreting them. That is, oil companies say it's far in the future (2060 at the earliest) and the other side says anwhere from 2012 to 2020.

Anyway, I like chopping wood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

Sleipnir wrote: »
    It depends on how proved reserves and proved and probable reserves are interpreted (as far as I recall) and who is interpreting them. That is, oil companies say it's far in the future (2060 at the earliest) and the other side says anwhere from 2012 to 2020.

Anyway, I like chopping wood.

2060 ?
    What oil companies are saying that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

I love people who make sweeping statements about things that will happen in the future.

I love people who pop on to threads, post a comment regarding previous posters, add nothing and then disappear.

2060 ?
    What oil companies are saying that ?

Sorry, I should have said that this was one that I had read about, not from a oil company per se, but from an oil producing group (like OPEC) I must see of I can find OPEC's figures because they were similarly crazy.

The EIA in the States say 2037, but then that's based on discovering oil at a far higher rate then is currently being seen.
    The IEA in Europe say there won't be a global peak before 2030, but say that non-OPEC oil will peak around 2015.

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Sorry, I should have said that this was one that I had read about, not from a oil company per se, but from an oil producing group (like OPEC) I must see of I can find OPEC's figures because they were similarly crazy.

The EIA in the States say 2037, but then that's based on discovering oil at a far higher rate then is currently being seen.
    The IEA in Europe say there won't be a global peak before 2030, but say that non-OPEC oil will peak around 2015.

If you read the 2008 IEA Report (or maybe "read between the lines") there has been a sea change in their outlook.
    The worst case scenario (in my mind) is that peak oil has come and gone in 2008. We will see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,887 ✭✭✭✭Sand

If you read the 2008 IEA Report (or maybe "read between the lines") there has been a sea change in their outlook.
    The worst case scenario (in my mind) is that peak oil has come and gone in 2008. We will see.

On the bright side, global warming will be solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Kama

Greenish shoots, brownish shoots, lightly mottled shoots with infested economic tubers...

Lads! I think the Global economy got the Blight!

NBB Bohs wrote: »
    some people are so ignorant, humanity won't revert back to pre industrial revolution times, we will continue to reach for the stars if we don't manage to kill each other.

EDUCATE YOURSELVES AND WATCH SOME MICHIO KAKU VIDS ON YOUTUBE. the world is much bigger than you think.

Explain to me how I'm ignorant .... what do you know that I do not ?

NBB Bohs wrote: »
    some people are so ignorant, humanity won't revert back to pre industrial revolution times, we will continue to reach for the stars if we don't manage to kill each other.

EDUCATE YOURSELVES AND WATCH SOME MICHIO KAKU VIDS ON YOUTUBE. the world is much bigger than you think.

You think you're educated just because you watch YouTube? Gimme a break.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I laughed when I saw his face and then closed the video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 MiniDriver

Actually the highest month for global crude production was May 2005 (86 million bbl/day).

Peak oil is very much here, now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Sconsey

MiniDriver wrote: »
    Actually the highest month for global crude production was May 2005 (86 million bbl/day).

Peak oil is very much here, now.

I would guess that that figure is based on demand not on the existance/availability of oil. OPEC and co. decide ahead of time how much oil to produce, if May 2005 was the highest month for production it was probably because of demand.

Incidently it looks like they are now producing more than they can store because of a drop in demand, so you can expect procuction figures to drop off for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

on energy prices http://ftalphaville.ft.com/blog/2009/08/20/67881/the-not-so-bullish-case-for-energy-prices/

I would not be taking investment advice from you tube!! Although that is not to say that there will not be second crash. The future and bond markets are starting to price one in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

Supply or not my guess is that those in power will play their cards so close to their chests that we will not find out how bad things are until we`re in the middle of it. In the mean time our politicians will go on hoarding the information and the money for themselves and walk you and your children into crippling financial debt with your eyes open. Sorry im only an ordinary bloke but I thought that we were supposed to "save for a rainy day" not save ourselves from the flood. Tomorow is the day you will cop on and make a bigger effort to find out how much money the government is haemoraging to lost causes,politicians wages,the list goes on. My fear is that the real vital resourse(decent human nature) will run out and the country will decend into anarchy, in a way we are lucky to be so stupid ,ignorance is bliss after all ,lets see how blissfull it is to scrounge around in the rubbish for something to eat. A nation of guards and nurses cant pay enough tax to pay all the dole money, since the countrys management have priced us out of every market there is there are no other jobs anymore .Please God none of this will come to pass but it will if you dont stop it!!

A second crash is likely on the cards - what we have seen so far is probably best explained by massive borrowing by governments to spend, spend, spend, spend, spend. Fighting fire with fire.

Eventually you cant borrow anymore, and the government spending has to be rationalised...if the real economy hasnt recovered by then (and it hasnt) then the economy runs into a brick wall for a second time.

October 29 1929 the date of the start of the "great depression", Sad and a wee bit scary that I would feel like quoting that date, Maybe we wont see another time like that ,at least I hope not.
    Hitler made good use of the depression because he used the failure of the American economy to convince the Germans that capitalism did`nt work and he had good evidence to prove his contention, America was awash with corrupt politicians, policemen, and gangsters, sound familiar, It dosent take a genius to figure that without good christian leadership any country could go the same way, The majority of politicians in Ireland are guilty of some form of corruption, whether it is simply that they are neglecting their duties or claiming unnessary expenses, The reason you dont hear from them is because they are hiding in fear of scrutiny
    , their finances are so screwed up that if they were made public they would loose their jobs. And still I say its not their fault ,its a progressive thing that has happened over years where we as a nation have learned to turn a blind eye and say nothing just as long as we get some potholes filled or planning permission for the new extension,( and they cant even afford that any more)I HAVE NEWS FOR YOU, they dont have any clout in the council house any more, the decision makers in the council are the engineers and officials who like the rest of us have rules to work by and the input from nosey self seeking politicians in the decision making process only confuses straight forward planning which they are not qualified to coment on ,and dont tell me they represent the voice of the people because that takes us full circle to the problem of them not serving the people at all, but either party intrests or financial gain! When the last local elections came about I thought I saw a glimmer of hope I thought maybe after this election we would see a grass roots change in our so called "public representatives" who realising the serious consequences of the situation we are in would step up and show some leadership, start up some local information evenings, go on the radio ,keep us up to date , SHOW US THAT THEY CARE, but no they dont even need to do that because we dont demand it of them, we dont demand enough of our politicians and we dont scrutinise them enough, we let factories close without asking our government why negotiations broke down or why temporary concessions cant be made to companies through tax relief free electricity anything to keep us working, but no even our highest politicians even the Taioseach himself cant seem to able to string two phone-calls together to find simple solutions to simple questions. It is a sad indictment of this country that we sit by and let this happen,and the only way we can release our frustration is to remember Hitler and sort of wish anarchy on ourselves, the next thing you know vigilante groups will start to emerge in response to low garda numbers as the more desperate of us resort to stealing what they want. and that would be a direct effect of mis-government at a local level as well as national, if there is anarchy ,if there is unrest , if right wing fascist politics becomes a viable option to the Irish people then it will be a direct result of the vacuum left by the present politicians. And finally this NAMA thing where`s that going? We are going to be in debt to the European Central bank for so much that they wont need a treaty to make us do what they want because they`ll own half the country!!!. and in their own unbelievable logic they will convince us that we actually owe them something! JEBUS!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

Stopped reading when you said "Good Christian leadership"

Yeah, that stopped me too, along with my eyes beginning to bleed from the lack of paragraphs.

Sorry about that i`ll type a bit slower next time TMI sorry!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Kama

Heh just hit return once in a while and it'll all be grand...