Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salute 2009

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Thread stickied until the end of the month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Syco 1

Hi, would you know if any airsoft devices are being sold at this event, im in the market for a new AEG and some decent tactical gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Yes there will be one or two airsoft retailers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Please visit the Airsoft Forum for all questions relating to Airsoft weapons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭enfeild

Here are some pictures from Salute for you. Many thanks for the kind and cordial welcome by Sean Curtis and his gang. It was a friendly affair like all these get togethers and it was great to meet old friends again. I neglected to say in the bit I did on Beltring that Sean Curtis's Club drove hundreds and hundreds of miles and that they were the only club ever to win prizes at Beltring and the Military Odessey. This is now corrected and all is well with the world and I can now expect a Christmas card from himself in the future. As you can see in the pictures it was a good turnout by re-enactors, living hisotrians and vehicles. Tea and coffee were free and sarnies were only a euro for anyone involved. The entrance at the gate was reduced from 15 euro last year to 7 euro reflecting our recessionary times and goodwill on behalf of the organisers.
    Naturally enough there was alcohol imbibed ( in the evenings) and the amount of drivel was up to my usually high standard. Battles in the arena were going on most the times and the crowd loved every minute of it. I know that the Monasterevin lads got at least two recruits, Emmet Kennedy has kindly invited me to attack an RIC Barracks in Cork City this Sunday morning.I look forward to it immensely. It was great to meet Himself and his lads again. Two bands of roaming redcoats like wildebeest roaming the Serengeti could be seen both in the arena and at their respective camps. The Romans were brilliant and questions were asked like' Do ye wear feck all under yer toga's like the Scots lads and their kilts'. I did not hang around for the answer, disturbing mental images and all that. The Vikings, Hiberno Celts and other medeval groups were great and I spent a long time bending their ear with questions that they may have found boring but I was fascinated by, like the fair maiden weaving the braid. To think they had such complicated weaving systems a thousand years is very impressive. Others who spring to spring is the Monasterevin guys, The Fermamagh Wallaces, The Cavan Yanks with their willies and fabulous collection of movie making cameras and collection of full beer bottles from Aldi. The coast guard put on a display of everything Coast Guardish including a beachers(Beechers?) Buoy aka the Bosuns chair. They also had a Tilley Searchlight which interested the heck out of myself and the Fermanagh Wallaces as we had bought two of these on tripods in Beltring. Ronan Caffrey was there with his son Martin and grandkids and his arsenal of weaponry and is always a favourite with the crowds. The bould Kevin McCormack and his beautiful wife was there dressed as Cumann Na mBan and the Irish Volunteers.
    The South Irish Horse (North Irish Horse) Man had his horse there and I can honestly say that every county in Ireland had someone in a uniform walking around the place. John Sweeney had his militaria stall as did Gary O'Brien and Matt and Paul from the north. There were other new militaria stalls there with new faces which is always a new thing. From reports they had a good show with very little drop in trade that they were expecting. Other stalls were cakes, sweets, models and displays. One young lady came to our camp late at night and said she was a burlesque dancer and was looking to do a gig like Marlyn Monroe in front of the troops. She showed the lads video on her phone of her dancing burlesquely and they seemed to like it and made some comments that I will not post here. I did not look at the footage as I would get upset. Weather was a bit of this and a bit of that and yes, you are right I got sunburned again. Now then there were four tanks in the gravelled area doing wheelies, and kicking up the dust. It was good to see four together. The most I have seen together in Ireland so far. There was a display of Artillery rounds and field guns dotted around the place. Germans, there were loads of them with great displays. Battle Group South I think. The Kilkenny Foxes were there attired as Germans also.Emmets crowd Killed lots of Nazis and the Airsoft lads saved an important female diplomat from a fate worse than death in the ring.
    Now then if I have missed someone in this little ramble of mine I apologise but my mind is still focused what I missed in yer womans camera........
    Good to see ye all there and enjoying yourselves.
    Regards.
    Tom.
    The Pictures.
    http://s888.photobucket.com/albums/ac88/tomburnell/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

What in God's name did he do to that Chieftain? (The one with the 70KE reg)

NTM

What in God's name did he do to that Chieftain? (The one with the 70KE reg)

NTM
    That's the one that is made to look like a Russian T-72, as used in the James Bond Goldeneye movie.

No, it isn't.

It may be trying to be a T-72, (and a pretty poor vismod at that), but the Goldeneye tank was a T54/55.

He needs to change it back the way it was. Chieftain is a tank of beauty. It's murdered right now.

NTM

I'm not fully up on the vehicle itself, since it's not mine, I had T-72 in my head, but T54 or T55 could also be it.

The tank was bought like that and has been left that way since (with some restoration work), it's an interesting piece given that it was actually one of the originals made for the movie and he already has another running chieftain in original form.

You misunderstand. That Chieftain is not the tank that you see Pierce Brosnan careening through St Petersberg in. They used a T-54 or T-55 with a new hatch cut out for him to stick he head out of whilst the real driver drove from the buttoned-up position. Let me bring up the movie and see if it might have been a different tank, though...

NTM

OK, never mind. I see it now: They had a couple of vismod Chieftain tanks sitting in the motor pool.

I still think it's a visual travesty.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

OK, never mind. I see it now: They had a couple of vismod Chieftain tanks sitting in the motor pool.

I still think it's a visual travesty.

NTM

This explains something about the actual tank used.

The text is utterly wrong. It's all Chieftain, with the thermal shroud, sideskirts, and TOGS/Light box removed, with simulated ERA boxes, a schnorkel and gas tanks mounted on it.

NTM