Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Komoran' Tyres... Are they sh1te????

• 19-08-2009 6:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭

My wife got two new front tyres on her Volvo v40 last week. Tonight I took her car to town and on route had to edge to side of the road to avoid some muppet, slight pot hole but nothing that startled me. 10 mins later noticed pull to the left and the side wall of the tyre is holed. No scuffing on tyre and really the pothole impact was very minor.

Anyhow was pissed off and had a look at the tyre which is a 'Komoran' make. She paid €55 (ex VAT) per tyre and as its side wall punctured I am not sure if it should be repaired? Anyhow never heard of this make and are they any good? Do we have any comeback as tyre is so new? Personally I feel the tyre must be pretty crap to calf after such a minor bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,145 ✭✭✭✭L1011

No tyre place worth using will risk repairing sidewall damage. I've never heard of the brand either, but a price that low fitted for what I presume is a large enough tyre is a bit of a warning sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A quick Google suggests they are a Polish budget brand. Online reviews are pretty scarse though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Firestone FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭milltown

€55 for a tyre!!?
    How much quality could you rightly expect for €55+ vat? Moot point anyway, sidewall damage means it's time for a new tyre and I'd say you'd have more chance (but still none) of getting money out of the council that own the pothole than the tyre place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭sundodger5

be glad it was a budget tyre. how annoyed would you be after taking out the sidewall of a branded tyre at twice the cost.
    Twice the cost would not make it withstand pothole damage any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭Avns1s

AFAIK they are made by Michelin as their budget brand.

I have a set on a car here and they seem fine. No issues at all.

The weak point in any tyre is the sidewall if it comes on contact with something solid or sharp. My guess is that a firestone, or bridgestone or any other "brand" you care to mention would have the same holed sidewall in the same situation.

No fix btw. Its a replacement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭blackiebest

sundodger5 wrote: »
    be glad it was a budget tyre. how annoyed would you be after taking out the sidewall of a branded tyre at twice the cost.
    Twice the cost would not make it withstand pothole damage any better.

Well I guess thats the point, I think a known branded tyre would have been fine. I drive a number of cars and have bought a lot of tyres in my time, none for € 55 though, and where I live the roads are pretty bad but have never had such a minor bump burst a sidewall. I think the split is because of a weak spot as opposed to an object physically puncturing the wall. My wife knows the owner and asked him for the best price he could give but she did not ask him for sh1te tyres. It was less than a week ago and I want to not have inferior tyres on the car my kid is driven around in. I will happily pay a balance to upgrade the tyre but really believe that if these are completely sh1te then I will not pay for the damaged tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

you haven't a leg to stand on, and do you really expect the garage to refund you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

€66 (ie 55 plus VAT) would have you into name brand territory like Vredestein (I priced 195/65 R15 Sportracs at €65 each fitted, only last week).

But anyways, take a photo of the pothole and the damaged tyre and send them into the local authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I think the split is because of a weak spot as opposed to an object physically puncturing the wall.

Sidewall damage usually happens for two reasons;

1) something slicing the wall open

2) the sidewall gets pinched between road and rim. Even a small pothole could cause this, it's all about the angle of impact (and karma :D)

The sign of a quality fault in the tyre sidewall usually is a bulge, not a hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Have Kormoran tyre's on my car too, they seem grand tbh. Drive an a fair bit of rough roads too and they seem to grip OK, although i wouldnt exactly be testing them! They are most certainly budget tyres though, only got them because they were cheap!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    you haven't a leg to stand on, and do you really expect the garage to refund you?

Maybe not, but as I said I drive alot and have at the moment 5 yokes:o 3 of which require tires soon sadly, and although bobs are seriously tight I do not buy sh1te tyres for the Hilux or Forrester so if he wants our continued business then he will at least listen to me. My wife would never knowingly put crap tyres on her wagon and if he does not want to know then so be it, I'll buy another sh1te tyre for €55 to replace damaged one and never darken his door again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Maybe not, but as I said I drive alot and have at the moment 5 yokes:o 3 of which require tires soon sadly, and although bobs are seriously tight I do not buy sh1te tyres for the Hilux or Forrester so if he wants our continued business then he will at least listen to me. My wife would never knowingly put crap tyres on her wagon and if he does not want to know then so be it, I'll buy another sh1te tyre for €55 to replace damaged one and never darken his door again.

I'm afraid I have to agree with the other posters here - there appears absolutely no evidence that anything other than the pothole caused the damage to the sidewall. Peasant explained it well. Any effort to extort money from the person who sold you the tyres would be both wrong and unlikely to succeed, IMO.

One more question - if you're so convinced that the tyres are rubbish then why would you put another one on your wife's car?

peasant wrote: »
    Sidewall damage usually happens for two reasons;

1) something slicing the wall open

2) the sidewall gets pinched between road and rim. Even a small pothole could cause this, it's all about the angle of impact (and karma :D)

The sign of a quality fault in the tyre sidewall usually is a bulge, not a hole.

Yes and I have had this with other brands, it did not puncture and I was able to change the tyre when it suited pocket and schedule and did not have to drive on the hideous 'temp' wheel.

From the posts I gather that yes the Komoran is a tyre that might well appear in Lidl at some stage! Well lets see what the garage does. I will take the pics and harass the local council, think I would have a good case too as bad spot with overgrown hedge rows, fcuk it I may as well harass the Garda to find the muppet who caused the dive to the left! Think it was a micra hmmm:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Yes and I have had this with other brands, it did not puncture and I was able to change the tyre when it suited pocket and schedule and did not have to drive on the hideous 'temp' wheel.
    Read this again:
    peasant wrote: »

It's the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

I had a V40 myself for a good while (grand car altogether) and found the biggest pain in the hole to be the tyre size it takes. Most cars its size would accept a 195 65 15 whereas they take a 195 55 15 which isn't stocked in many places, or a 205 on 16" rims.... I'd guess you need the 195 55's, yeah? I noticed they really were quite a bit more pricey than available options in 195 65 15's, so I can underestand the temptation to go with a budget tyre....

Anyway, found the best price I could get on a decent tyre was for Bridgestones, just before I gave it to my brother to carry his two babógs around the place in, fitted and balanced at €80 a piece.

Personally, I've seen the state of Kormoran tyres as supplied off the truck here to dealers - They're mishapen and I wouldn't consider them as an option for 1 minute on a car my wife and children were to travel about in.... My brother is a mobile tyre fitter with about 15 years experience, and he refuses to fit kormoran, sunny and federal branded tyres, flat out. He'd fit anything else, but won't be responsible for helping someone fit those tyres to a family car!

If I were forced to go with a budget brand that's seen often enough in Ireland, it'd be GT's. YMMV.

What part of the country are you in?

Anan1 wrote: »
    I'm afraid I have to agree with the other posters here - there appears absolutely no evidence that anything other than the pothole caused the damage to the sidewall. Peasant explained it well. Any effort to extort money from the person who sold you the tyres would be both wrong and unlikely to succeed, IMO.

One more question - if you're so convinced that the tyres are rubbish then why would you put another one on your wife's car?[/QUOTE]

Funds dictate at the moment, we will know they are sh1te and be really careful, dont want different tyre brands on the front, and will drive carefully.

I will not be trying to 'extort' money from anyone, its bad salesmanship. Had he pointed out to my wife these tyres were the lower end of the market she would have paid more, maybe a bit naive on her part but I would have had I been selling them to a friend. So I will let him know that if he can make a deal we both can live with then we will change both front tyres for a better one and he will continue to have our business and if not I will take my business elsewhere. I think its reasonable.

Gil_Dub wrote: »
    I had a V40 myself for a good while (grand car altogether) and found the biggest pain in the hole to be the tyre size it takes. Most cars its size would accept a 195 65 15 whereas they take a 195 55 15 which isn't stocked in many places, or a 205 on 16" rims.... I'd guess you need the 195 55's, yeah? I noticed they really were quite a bit more pricey than available options in 195 65 15's, so I can underestand the temptation to go with a budget tyre....

Anyway, found the best price I could get on a decent tyre was for Bridgestones, just before I gave it to my brother to carry his two babógs around the place in, fitted and balanced at €80 a piece.

Personally, I've seen the state of Kormoran tyres as supplied off the truck here to dealers - They're mishapen and I wouldn't consider them as an option for 1 minute on a car my wife and children were to travel about in.... My brother is a mobile tyre fitter with about 15 years experience, and he refuses to fit kormoran, sunny and federal branded tyres, flat out. He'd fit anything else, but won't be responsible for helping someone fit those tyres to a family car!

If I were forced to go with a budget brand that's seen often enough in Ireland, it'd be GT's. YMMV.

What part of the country are you in?

Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭cuddlycavies

Kormoran(was Stomil) are made by Michelin owned operation in eastern Europe. They are at the top end of budget tyres in terms of quality. The sort of pinch rupture suffered in pothole damage will effect a premium tyres also albeit to a lesser degree. Often the extra reinforcing in the sidewall would mean the tyre would not puncture on impact but would bulge as a result of damage to the plies, would be illegal and would go later anyway. I tackled Bray Town council last year on a pothole, sent an invoice for tyre and tracking. Got a cheque the next week. But that is the exception rather than the rule. But Kormoran, not bad. Oh and GTs. Means Gajah Tunghal, indonesian made. Now they are pure rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

:

Am I reading this correct? you knowingly drove with a tyre that had a bulge in the sidewall.. for your own & other road users sakes stick with the kormorans

at least you wont be driving

snowman707 wrote: »
    Am I reading this correct? you knowingly drove with a tyre that had a bulge in the sidewall.. for your own & other road users sakes stick with the kormorans

at least you wont be driving

Yeah, your reading this correctly, I might have been driving with bulge for quiet a while as on one occasion it was on the inside sidewall and I was unaware untill the wagon went for nct, the other I noticed myself and changed the tyre in a timely fashion.

Going by your logic, should we all drive on the cheapest tyres so as they will blow rather than bulge thus avoiding the possability of anyone driving, wittingly or not, with a bulging tyre?

Hey why not approach the well know tyre companies and let them know of your theory, you might have somthing there.

Thanks for your constructive post, I hope mine is equally helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

You wife went in and asked for a "good" price, Maybe its just mean but when someone asks for this in a tyre place they are going to get a budget brand.

Its impossible to give a "good price" on a bridgestone/perelli, beacuse regardsless of how much reasonable discount your get your still looking at 85-90 quid a cornor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

I don't want to start a thread on the same topic, but maybe I'm not allowed to 'resurrect' zombie threads.....

I recently got a Kormoran tyre fitted onto my car.

I was told it's made my Michelin and was told it's a better choice than the next make that was €5 more expensive.

Are they not a great make??? :/

What are the differences between a Bridgestone and a Kormoran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I don't want to start a thread on the same topic, but maybe I'm not allowed to 'resurrect' zombie threads.....

I recently got a Kormoran tyre fitted onto my car.

I was told it's made my Michelin and was told it's a better choice than the next make that was €5 more expensive.

Are they not a great make??? :/

What are the differences between a Bridgestone and a Kormoran?

Yeah start a new thread...this ones 4 years old...