Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Maldives

• 18-08-2009 8:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭

I know this agency has been mentioned here before - http://www.markstravel.co.uk

A girl in the office was looking for a week away this weekend so I said I'd give them a call to see if they had anything leaving this weekend.

They have a 2 week all-inclusive stay in the Maldives for £879 STG (Flights & Accomodation, Speedboat transfer to Island and more) leaving Sunday from Stansted - i think it was stansted anyways...

The girl in the office cant go as she cant leave for 2 weeks but i thought it might be of interest to somebody here, seemingly there arent many seats left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭karlyk1

Traveled with Marks Travel to the Maldives in June, all inclusive. One of the best holidays me and herself were EVER on. (by the way, I got the heads-up about Marks Travel from a previous thread on boards... nice one! Would rate them highly).
    The island we went to was Kuramathi, and the food in the all-inclusive was second to none, with a huge variety to choose from. And the fact that you don't have to put your hand in your pocket for your drinks is class too!:D
    A dream hollier....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

Is Maldives the place that half of bargain alerts went to last year on a cheap package deal. There was something about paying an extra e100 for as much beer as you can drink for the week. Sounds like a pretty good bargain this year also

Yeah, I think that was to Thailand or Mexico, not quite sure, but it was that thread that I got my info from - it inspired me to check out their other deals. By the way, our week in the Maldives cost 1600 euro in total for the two of us... that's all flights, accommodation, food and drink - and it was a paradise island.
    Thinking of going back again in the near future, if we can afford it. Feck the recession!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

looder wrote: »
    Is Maldives the place that half of bargain alerts went to last year on a cheap package deal. There was something about paying an extra e100 for as much beer as you can drink for the week. Sounds like a pretty good bargain this year also

Went on that package deal last year to Biyadhoo for less than €900 each all inclusive :D Most that went last year went full board if I remember correctly!!

This year we are going back to Orlando - but I will return to the Maldives. Unreal!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Been thinking about this one a lot, might actually go for it depending on the weather in November...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭rameire

went with marks travel this year to sri lanka in june.
    saw it recommended last year.
    saved around 1500 euro by using marks travel instead of the local traval agent.
    they are always happy to help and take you call,
    very good company.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

rameire wrote: »
    went with marks travel this year to sri lanka in june.
    saw it recommended last year.
    saved around 1500 euro by using marks travel instead of the local traval agent.
    they are always happy to help and take you call,
    very good company.

And my trip, which cost us 800 euro each, was available in a local Dublin travel agent for nearly 2,500 each - for the exact same holiday!!:eek: That's some mark-up he was making. I hate the naff phrase 'rip-off Ireland', but it sums up some of these operators perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Stewy18

hi all,
    thinking of going to maldives in may/jun 2010,
    was looking at trailfinders...,

but now saw this on marks travel...,
    way cheaper here...,

wondering if people have experiences on mark travel & trailfinders??

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Klingon Hamlet

This would make a killer honeymoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭another native

I have just one question - Is this travel company bonded?. That would be my first concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

I have just one question - Is this travel company bonded?. That would be my first concern.

Gives all their bond details under 'About Us'

As mentioned above, travelled to Kuramathi in the Maldives with Marks Travel last June, and they were an absolute pleasure to deal with, very personal service and most of them seem to have had a 'busman's holiday' on the islands themselves. Plenty of boardsies have travelled with them before and I have never heard of a bad word. I found it was better to give them a call direct (I think they are based in Newcastle???) and talk to them if you are close to deciding.
    By the way Stewy18, the Maldives is an AMAZING place to visit, you won't regret it.
    PS don't have any info about Trailfinders. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭dodgey69

Hi karlyk1, thinking of heading to kuramathi myself with marks travel this year, just wondering what your experience of the place was? reading mixed reviews about restaurants, being allocated a certain one for duration of stay and buffet food??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭bigdogbarking

I'm looking for a holiday too this year, frig the recession, only thing is we'll be taking our daughter, she'll be 18 months by the summer. would anyone who has travelled to maldives recommend it or would it be more suited to couples?

dodgey69 wrote: »
    Hi karlyk1, thinking of heading to kuramathi myself with marks travel this year, just wondering what your experience of the place was? reading mixed reviews about restaurants, being allocated a certain one for duration of stay and buffet food??

Apologies for the delay in replying... still having email/account issues! dodgey69, I suppose it depends on what part of the resort you are staying in. We stayed in the ‘Beach Villas’, which had the Fung Bar and The Haruge restaurant as part of the deal. The buffet is unlike any buffet I had encountered before – there was a HUGE range and variety to choose from and it was gorgeous food (I certainly put on a few pounds while I was there!). You could get everything from pizza and European dishes to curries and Maldivian dishes… top notch. Find out what part of the island you will be staying on and then ‘Tripadvisor’ the rest of the info. I couldn’t tell you about any of the other restaurants on the island. Wish I was there now…
    However, my Mrs remembers them saying something about ALL the restaurants on the island being included in the all-inclusive deal this year. Ring Marks and ask them direct, I suggest.
    bigdogbarking... There wasn't many kids on the islands when we were there, but there was a few babies/toddlers. If you had a six-year-old, there would be nothing there for them for entertainment (other than the beach), but if you are just bringing a wee nipper then it would be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭the_one_&_only

Thanks for all the info. Defo looking into this for a nice holidays away with the girlfriend. Rang them and it really does tick all boxes:D:D:D:D