Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swine Flu death: expressions of sympathy by HSE and MH

• 18-08-2009 3:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0818/swineflu.html
    The HSE and Minister for Health Mary Harney have offered their sympathy to the family and friends of the victim.

This makes no sense to me.
    At what point will it stop, once the death rate reaches that from smoking, alcohol, road deaths, botched operations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Carlow52 wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0818/swineflu.html

This makes no sense to me.
    At what point will it stop, once the death rate reaches that from smoking, alcohol, road deaths, botched operations?

I guess it'll stop when it ceases to be news worthy, atm only 2 people have died so it is biggish news
    why do you have an issue with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

In fairness the 1st girl who died already had cystic fibrosis, and there's no details on the 2nd death. Don't think widespread panic is called for just yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What about all the people who died as a result of the HSE and Harney combined incompitence, will they get an apology too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Somebody stole my picinic basket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Can it be Captain Trips tiem nao plz?

I know I say this everytime, but I am sick of this Swine Flu crap. Regular flu kills people too. It's just silly season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Its alot worrying this time round. http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0818/swineflu.html
    A man in the east of the country died from the virus (H1N1) last night. He had contracted it from another person in Ireland.

It is understood that the man did not have an apparent underlying medical condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

gurramok wrote: »
    Its alot worrying this time round. http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0818/swineflu.html

What age was he though?

A7X wrote: »
    What age was he though?

They won't say. FFS, the public have a right to know the details of this case to quieten down any fears!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Well im telling ye lads all hell is going to break loose when the kids go back to school, we are going to have a full scale pandemic, thousands possible tens of thousands are going to die, the goverment have already plans and green field sites in place for mass graves that will fit 20,000 people, when it gets to a pandemic im taking no chances im going to buy at least a months supply of food and frezze it and lots of water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

I personally don't think its anything to worry about but i have a friend with CF. So if I get it I wont go near him for a good while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Dartz wrote: »
    I know I say this everytime, but I am sick of this Swine Flu crap. Regular flu kills people too. It's just silly season.
    Actually, apart from the "dog hitches ride in state car" story, we haven't had a silly season. Yes this is 'just' a form of influenza and we should remember that, but be that as it may the vast majority of us have no resistance to the virus, unlike other viruses. Usually we can predict how a influenzachanges and mutates so we know what to expect, swine flu is totally new and unpredicted, largely new to us as a population, and therefore poses a greater potential danger to life. It is quite news worthy.

Furthermore, as far as we know (or as known on the news at one) this individual had no known serious underlying health problems.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

All this swine flu makes me want to have a rasher sandwich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I have the flu the last 2 weeks, it's really bad aswell. It seemed to be up and down. Started off 2 fridays ago, eased up slightly last monday... went into work, felt terrible tuesday - have been out of work since.

Hit hard last night - shakes, aches and all that good stuff. Doctor said it's the flu, but he didn't test to see which kind. I'm hoping it's not the swine flu - but mortality rates are very low, so I'd say I'll be grand. Just drinking litres of water and pumping vitimin c into me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It will run riot through the schools alright. Even without swine flu there are all sorts of nasties infecting everyone in schools during September. There is always a week or two where schools struggle to cover classes because of staff being out with respiratory infections. This happens as standard so it will certainly happen again this year.

Whether it will be a serious problem or not depends on whether all these tales of a new improved strain are exaggerated or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

gurramok wrote: »
    They won't say. FFS, the public have a right to know the details of this case to quieten down any fears!!

the previous family asked for no details to be realised but they were anyway and all info got out, the hse are being extra careful this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

the previous family asked for no details to be realised but they were anyway and all info got out, the hse are being extra careful this time

Surely some info should be made public though.. their age at least, it would hardly be an invasion of privacy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

on rte at 0830...deceased had underlying health symptoms
    at 1330 rte...deceased had no underlying health issues

at 1730 on todayfm hse doc ...unacceptably..refused to clarify above, or if a healthy citizen has been killed after getting into the luas at the wrong time..

i wont be using cinema and public transport while swine flu is in news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

those are quite random choices, what about work, handling money, shopping, socialising and crossing the road!?

if you're healthy you're far more likely to die crossing the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

those are quite random choices, what about work, handling money, shopping, socialising and crossing the road!?

if you're healthy you're far more likely to die crossing the road.

I'm studying the documentary 'Outbreak' with Dustin Hoffman. And boiling everything. Even toast.

on rte at 0830...deceased had underlying health symptoms
    at 1330 rte...deceased had no underlying health issues

at 1730 on todayfm hse doc ...unacceptably..refused to clarify above, or if a healthy citizen has been killed after getting into the luas at the wrong time..

huh?

well when the soldier in the north died, they put out a statment saying he had underlying health problems then had to retract that when the fairly complained, but look at the picture of him that was one fat p/t soldier if he didn't have underlying health problems....

The victim was in his 50's. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0819/1224252867897.html

No more info yet though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

As any lady will attest, man flu is much more serious

http://www.gubuwire.com/?p=1995

Personally, I think the whole thing is a waste of space but, if it is deemed by some to be genuinely worrying should the HSE be allowed withold information from the public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Well im telling ye lads all hell is going to break loose when the kids go back to school, we are going to have a full scale pandemic, thousands possible tens of thousands are going to die, the goverment have already plans and green field sites in place for mass graves that will fit 20,000 people, when it gets to a pandemic im taking no chances im going to buy at least a months supply of food and frezze it and lots of water.

listen to piers morgan here.

this won't happen, in fact this flu is killing less people than regular flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

If this is a piss-take. If not, em...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Thanks JONJO THE MISER at least we now know why the ESB won't demolish those chimneys - fire the furnaces lads, the infected are on the way ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

The Undead will walk the Streets, mobs will tear innocents limb from limb and Mothers will kill and eat their Children as the infected blood flows like swollen rivers......

If you and your family could be vaccinated against this for €5 Jonjo - would ya pay it? Could ya pay it Jonjo? COULD YA!?!?!?!

- I hope that evil Bitch Mary Harney gets it and has to suffer one of her own shítty inadequate Hospitals......

More info today http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0820/1224252950463.html , http://www.independent.ie/health/swine-flu/swine-flu-victim-was-on-annual-leave-from-aibs-antifraud-unit-1864681.html

Victim had previous heart disease which ironically is not classified as having an underlying condition as it was not 'chronic' heart disease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Jesus Christ, a few people die from swine flu and the world wants a mask, yet you couldn't make people practice safe sex if you ****ing beat them with a metal condom.

Guess what....your more likely to die from AIDS mate.

Dragan wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, a few people die from swine flu and the world wants a mask, yet you couldn't make people practice safe sex if you ****ing beat them with a metal condom.

Guess what....your more likely to die from AIDS mate.

Getting AIDS can be preventable, everyone is susceptible to this type of flu hence the genuine fear especially among high risk groups.

Swine flu victim was on annual leave from AIB's anti-fraud unit :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

I know (knew) the guy.

As per request of privacy from the family I'm not saying anymore except that ther was an underlying (albeit short term) condition that accellerated in recent weeks. Swine flu was contracted at the very end (in the hospital within which he was being treated for the unrelated illness no doubt)...

very sad, he was a lovely man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

statistically a person is twice as likely to die from obesity than swine flu....

we have a fatty foods pandemic people!!!

:P