Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tigers language

• 17-08-2009 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭

Did anyone else hear the F bombs thats Tiger shouted after missing the par putt on 17? He shouted F**K at least twice out loud and then shouted another couple of them into the sleeve of his t-shirt before spitting on the ground.

This isn't anything new but I thought he had it under control. Disgraceful behaviour from the world number one. I have seen it before but never as bad as this - he actually shouted it out and the crowd sort of went silent:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Pretty blatant alright, any other player and there would have been uproar. Harrington had as much reason to flip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

It's not good to hear and yes if it was anyone else then they would be quietly asked to refrain. It's not cool and he should cut it out.

However it's hardly an isolated case on TV - we now have a constant string of swearing on programs like Big Brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I was shocked.

I love Tiger but that is inexcusable. No golfer should behave like that but when its somebody who is such a role model and who so many people look up to its even worse.

He needs to sort that out, seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Yea what a tosser, a genuine meltdwown by the world no.1 .
    He is without doubt the worst loser I've ever witnessed in the game of golf.
    It's a shame really that the greatest golfer of our generation (if not all time) regularly has these outbursts, I suppose it's the price we have to pay to witness his brilliance, but I for one think it's excessive and completely unnecessary.
    By contrast the way Harrington, who suffered a worse tragedy than missing a twelve footer for par, conducted himself was exemplary and in the true spirit of the sport.

Would Nicklaus, Ballesteros, Faldo, Norman etc. have sworn.......I certainly don't recall any of them doing it. Professional golfers at the highest level get paid far in excess of their ability (relative to other professions) so they should be grateful and accept that sometimes things won't go their way.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

david-k wrote: »
    Yea what a tosser, a genuine meltdwown by the world no.1 .
    He is without doubt the worst loser I've ever witnessed in the game of golf.
    It's a shame really that the greatest golfer of our generation (if not all time) regularly has these outbursts, I suppose it's the price we have to pay to witness his brilliance, but I for one think it's excessive and completely unnecessary.
    By contrast the way Harrington, who suffered a worse tragedy than missing a twelve footer for par, conducted himself was exemplary and in the true spirit of the sport.

ironic infraction for abuse/language

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

McDowell had a similar outburst on camera on Saturday, sky commentators apologised for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭sneem-man

I'm more concerned with the amounts of spittle that he produces...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Woods doesn't interact with any gallery.

He is a terrific golfer but comes across with his caddy and two ignorant boors who most people (myself included) love to see getting tonked.

Ya gotta give sommat back Tiger.

Mickelson does.

Delighted to see YE win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

so no one here uses "choice" language after bad shots or missed putts?

he showed emotion, he's on camera all the time, what about all the other golfers who behave similarly but are not on camera all the time.

he constantly pays the most into the swear jar but obviously so as he is on camera all of the time.

what he does is wrong, he should cut it out, well try harder to cut back.

I'm starting to notice quite a few anti tiger behaviour threads around, maybe he is losing it a bit, or else we have all perfectly behaved gent and lady golfers here

Lee Trevino used to talk to the crowd all the time. He even did it when he was taking a shot.

He'd take of his glove and walk along with the crowd and chat away (in those days the crowd could often walk with the players). He'd often ask what type of shot he should hit and then he went and did it (probably only when he wasn't in contention though).

stringy wrote: »

I'll call myself an idiot but I learnt to cut out swearing on the course many years ago as I play with lots of different types of people and I'm sure none of them want to hear me moan about my bad shots.

So no I don't swear when I miss putts or hit bad shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

stringy wrote: »

I'm starting to notice quite a few anti tiger behaviour threads around, maybe he is losing it a bit, or else we have all perfectly behaved gent and lady golfers here

this is certainly not an anti-tiger thread - I trust that you saw the incident last night? heres a bad youtube copy of it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72aK7tR2m0k

i was quite shocked at it because I hadnt seen behaviour like this from Tiger in any of the majors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭castle

stockdam wrote: »
    Would Nicklaus, Ballesteros, Faldo, Norman etc. have sworn.......I certainly don't recall any of them doing it. Professional golfers at the highest level get paid far in excess of their ability (relative to other professions) so they should be grateful and accept that sometimes things won't go their way.
    Ballesteros My favorite player used to throw his clubs at his brother who used to caddy for him when he did a bad shot, also Sevvy's gamemanship was known world wide coughing when the yanks where teeing of in Ryder cups.
    I think people are always trying to find fault with Tiger,we should enjoy the sheer class of this guy instead of trying to go on about silly little things like cursing,after all these are only words,
    he is a bad loser but if you can show me a good loser then you will find he does not have to many majors if any at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

he showed emotion, he's on camera all the time, what about all the other golfers who behave similarly but are not on camera all the time.
    That's the point.Nobody else does it. And when they occasionally do have a little meltdown they do it away from the spectators.
    he constantly pays the most into the swear jar but obviously so as he is on camera all of the time.

what he does is wrong, he should cut it out, well try harder to cut back.

I know nobody who doesn't admire his golfing ability. I don't know anyone who wants to see his behaviour replicated by their playing partners during their weekend fourball. It is boorish and loutish and reflects very poorly on a guy who has been rewarded beyond anyone's wildest imagination by the very game that he shows such little respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I dunno what the fuss is about - if anything... for me it helped me identify with the guy a bit more as a fellow human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

My opinion is that this thread is OTT. He swore a few times, big deal, an ill timed mistake. Ive seen where it has been said that Nicklaus, Palmer & Co and the past greats were never caught out like he has, perhaps thats because there was not the level of TV exposure that there is today with mic's and cameras capturing everything. Time to move on as im sure Woods will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

castle wrote: »
    Ballesteros My favorite player used to throw his clubs at his brother who used to caddy for him when he did a bad shot, also Sevvy's gamemanship was known world wide coughing when the yanks where teeing of in Ryder cups.
    I think people are always trying to find fault with Tiger,we should enjoy the sheer class of this guy instead of trying to go on about silly little things like cursing,after all these are only words,
    he is a bad loser but if you can show me a good loser then you will find he does not have to many majors if any at all.

Two words-Padraig Harrington. He always keeps his cool, and remains dignified, respectable but most of all has great sportsmanship whilst on the golf course. He had plenty of shots and holes where he could have gone on a serious cursing session, but didnt. He's an example to all golfers, and sports players alike, And guess how many majors he won????

A true Golfer.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Pretty sure I heard Stenson too... and he made some cool chicken noises as well. If I had putted as bad as Tiger in the Sunday medal I'd have uttered a few choice words myself... let alone in the final group on a Major Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

I was shocked.

I love Tiger but that is inexcusable. No golfer should behave like that but when its somebody who is such a role model and who so many people look up to its even worse.

I've always taken issue with the idea that Tiger is a role model. First and foremost he is an athlete who is driven to win. He did not ask to become a role model. If people want to idolise him that's their concern, not his. That's not to say I approve of his swearing - but it's going to happen. Plenty of other guys do it and plenty of others don't. Whatever works for you.

As for the spitting - that is something I abhor.

If you've got nothing better to do, I wrote a blog about Tiger's tantrums at the British Open

That's the point.Nobody else does it. And when they occasionally do have a little meltdown they do it away from the spectators.

When is Tiger ever away from the spectators? He farts and it becomes a worldwide media sensation!

I don't particularly like Tiger or his attitude, but he is one of the greatest competitors of any sport and his ability and drive and temperament make him the sportsman that he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

If your a good loser how can you have the drive to be a great winner?!

Psychologically you need to be pissed off with yourself if you perform badly,otherwise your happy with losing which is stupid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Tiger has been constantly referred to as "A world class sportsman".
    I have had this argument with plenty of punters that he is far from the World Class Sportsman. I think that he is the most awesome golfer that the planet has ever seen but far from the ultimate sportsman.
    This tantrum has been coming a while and we were lucky/unlucky to get to see it! This air of invincibility that he has is gradually eroding and I honestly think that the rest are catching up. Its slow but it is sure!
    I really think that he has pulled the most bizarre shots out of the top drawer so many times that he is even beginning to expect it himself now! I have said it before and I will say it again......... I believe that he must have sold his soul to the devil to be able to call upon some of the shots he has pulled off under the cosh. Wether it be a putt like Sawgrass, a chip like Augusta or like he chipped in out of the worse rough in history in Torrey Pines in the US Open or the holed 5 iron from 200 odd yds in Liverpool at the Open. This time the magic was not there and he ran up against a client that was not for melting (1st putt on 17 aside ;))
    I think we have some very interesting times ahead in Major golf with McIlroy, Kim, Fisher and even Westwood starting to feature a little more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

This air of invincibility that he has is gradually eroding and I honestly think that the rest are catching up. Its slow but it is sure!

Don't know what you've been watching put I don't see anything eroding away, he's won 5 tournaments this year since coming off over a 6 month break through severe injury and you think he's losing it?! Why,cause for once he was human and lost a tournament on the final day?! It was always going to happen at some stage, just cause it doesn't mean others have caught up with him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭BombSquad

Mayoegian wrote: »
    Two words-Padraig Harrington. He always keeps his cool, and remains dignified, respectable but most of all has great sportsmanship whilst on the golf course. He had plenty of shots and holes where he could have gone on a serious cursing session, but didnt. He's an example to all golfers, and sports players alike, And guess how many majors he won????

A true Golfer.

Two words - slow play. It's not good sportsmanship if your slow play affects other players and Harrington has been known for this in the past. While Harrington is a great role model and his attitude is exemplary let's not suggest he's perfect. Tiger's a great role model also. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone.... At least they're not premiership footballers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

ziggy wrote: »

true, all the knockers out in force.......i'd be more surprised now if he didn't swear, it's more natural imo

harrington might be better off letting it all out too
    as his cool exterior does little to belie the obvious turmoil he's holding in with his dopey cheesey "eh !! it'll be all right i'll learn from it,i'll talk to bob" grin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Wasn't Lowry warned about it in the Irish Open? I doubt anyone is going to warn Tiger, not good to see or hear, he is human though, we make mistakes, he has cameras and microphones everywhere he goes. Thankfully he plays some cracking golf which quickly makes me forget about his spitting and cursing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭castle

Mayoegian wrote: »

A true Golfer.
    I don/t fall into the trap that many Irish do with comparing Harrington to Woods,so unless Paddy has the amount of media pressure and about 4 time's more majors that he has then we really can't compare.
    On Paddy he said about his 8 just one of things that happen once in a while but he made a similar blunder the week before when he had an 8 on a par 5 and blew his chances,
    Bob Dylan once said don't judge a man unless you have walked in his shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

castle wrote: »
    I don/t fall into the trap that many Irish do with comparing Harrington to Woods,so unless Paddy has the amount of media pressure and about 4 time's more majors that he has then we really can't compare.

very good point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Ciano1012

Ye i deffo saw. Disgraceful

I've always taken issue with the idea that Tiger is a role model. First and foremost he is an athlete who is driven to win. He did not ask to become a role model.

Who does?

Does'nt change the fact he has a responsibility.

Also to the people who say he is driven..he hates losing....he is competitive...well of course he is! But thats a completely separate thing.

Imo a great champion should despise losing and find it absolutely abhorrent....Im sure Schumacher, Michael Phelps, Usain Bolt, Roger Federer all hate losing as much as Tiger, doesnt give them Carte Blanche to talk like that during a televised competition.

My young nephew is a huge Tiger fan, idolises the guy, what sort of a message doe that send to him? what about the other millions of kids who, wheter Tiger likes/wants it or not, look up to him?

If Tiger doesnt care he's not a very good person. If he does (and I suspect this is the case) he needs to do something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Imo a great champion should despise losing and find it absolutely abhorrent....Im sure Schumacher, Michael Phelps, Usain Bolt, Roger Federer all hate losing as much as Tiger, doesnt give them Carte Blanche to talk like that during a televised competition.

to be fair, how many of them have so many cameras and microphones on them constantly

I notice you dont mention footballers...its ten times worse than Tiger...but they dont have a microphone on them

Riskymove wrote: »
    to be fair, how many of them have so many cameras and microphones on them constantly

I notice you dont mention footballers...its ten times worse than Tiger...but they dont have a microphone on them

And if they did I would expect the same of them......so would the FA Im sure.

Look professional sportsmen make a lot of money and have a pretty good quality of life from doing something they love to do.....surely its not a lot to ask
    of them to watch their language while the cameras are on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

And if they did I would expect the same of them......so would the FA Im sure.

Look professional sportsmen make a lot of money and have a pretty good quality of life from doing something they love to do.....surely its not a lot to ask
    of them to watch their language while the cameras are on them?

thats a ridiculous statement to make, They have earned their money and way of life, its there for anyone who puts in the work and money has nothing to do with it.

its not much to ask ??? Whilst I dont encourage Tigers actions it is refreshing to see someone like him. He didnt get to become so good without being absolutely passionate and determined about his sport and practices more than anyone hitting thousands of balls, then gym then more golf on a daily basis, he starts at 5am and finishes at 6pm. If you spent so much time doing the same thing and then hit a stupid bad shot you would be the exact same. If you won and achieved as much as he has you would also feel that you could pull off anything and most times he has. whether you express this out loud or not is another thing but he does and what we saw the other night was a man losing a comp for the first time ever while going into the final round with the lead of course he took it badly so would anyone.

Also I can name at least 10 players or more in which I heard language from during the 4 rounds, its just passion and frustration. As for the Bolt, Phelps comment you cannot compare, would love to see Phelps give out as he is swimming or Bolt while he is running for that matter. There races are over in secs /mins, Woods is out there for 5 hours or so...not the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭BoardsRanger

Not to jump on the tiger bandwagon again but i think that fact the he walked off before Yang had finished putting was far more disrespectful than any possible swearing.

what hole did he do that on ??

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    thats a ridiculous statement to make, They have earned their money and way of life, its there for anyone who puts in the work and money has nothing to do with it.

What in the name of god does that have to do with anything.:confused:

You seem to have completely misunderstood the point I was making and assumed I dont think elite sportsmen are worthy of the rewards they recieve.
    its not much to ask ??? Whilst I dont encourage Tigers actions it is refreshing to see someone like him. He didnt get to become so good without being absolutely passionate and determined about his sport and practices more than anyone hitting thousands of balls, then gym then more golf on a daily basis, he starts at 5am and finishes at 6pm. If you spent so much time doing the same thing and then hit a stupid bad shot you would be the exact same. If you won and achieved as much as he has you would also feel that you could pull off anything and most times he has. whether you express this out loud or not is another thing but he does and what we saw the other night was a man losing a comp for the first time ever while going into the final round with the lead of course he took it badly so would anyone.

Again your missing the point. Your equating passion, commitment and determination with a lack of self control.

Tiger does not want to swear like that in front of million's of people and if he learned to control that (as many many sportsmen have) he would be no less of a competitor and no less committed, dedicated or frustrated when he does'nt play to his ability.

Im not saying he shouldnt be frustrated when he does not play to his ability. Obviously he should but its the wrong way to express it.
    Also I can name at least 10 players or more in which I heard language from during the 4 rounds, its just passion and frustration. As for the Bolt, Phelps comment you cannot compare, would love to see Phelps give out as he is swimming or Bolt while he is running for that matter. There races are over in secs /mins, Woods is out there for 5 hours or so...not the same

Again just because the camera is on him for longer its no excuse, people like that have a responsibility...ok it's tougher for a golfer to remain responsible in that regard but again thats no excuse.

Ill just say Im coming down heavily against this so its easy for people to assume I dislike Tiger or have some axe to grind. Ill just say I dont, he is by far my favourite golfer but his language on the course needs to change, for somebody so talented it shouldnt take much effort to do.

What in the name of god does that have to do with anything.:confused:

You seem to have completely misunderstood the point I was making and assumed I dont think elite sportsmen are worthy of the rewards they recieve.

Again your missing the point. Your equating passion, commitment and determination with a lack of self control.

Tiger does not want to swear like that in front of million's of people and if he learned to control that (as many many sportsmen have) he would be no less of a competitor and no less committed, dedicated or frustrated when he does'nt play to his ability.

Also Im not saying he shouldnt be frustrated when he does not play to his ability. Obviously he should but its the wrong way to express it.

Again just because the camera is on him for longer its no excuse, people like that have a responsibility...ok it's tougher for a golfer to remain responsible in that regard but again thats no excuse.

Ill just say Im coming down heavily against this so its easy for people to assume I dislike Tiger or have some axe to grins. Ill just say I dont, he is by far my favourite golfer but his language on the course needs to change, for somebody so talented it shouldnt take much effort to do.

I understand the point your trying to make totally but disagree with your comparisons, its not the same thing !! You also get to see Tiger curse more than anyone else as the camera is always on him and not the other golfers as much, they all do it including Harrington he is just more discreet about it and one of my closest friends have witnessed it ( not me personally). I dont know who anyone is trying to kid to assume that most sports people never curse or have bad habits and are always in control of themselves. Sport is not like that and anyone who has competed at that level or any reasonable level understands this. why is it when a footballer spits it accepted??? yet a golfer cant do it ?? its pure ..shi..te !!

I agree its not the most attractive thing to do but at the same time this is a sport, and it wouldnt never be an issue on a football pitch or a tennis court

I think there were two occassions. Here he does it on the 17th....

Ah here... that was a gimme! I know there is no such thing in pro strokeplay singles but people often line up their own putt/walk off while someone is tapping in a tap in. Personally I think everyone's getting a bit carried away with the Tiger Bating now at this stage.

[/quot

I never copped that first time I saw it and agree he shouldnt have done that, also think it was a tap in and he had no need to wait but if it was me I would have waited !!

Ah here... that was a gimme! I know there is no such thing in pro strokeplay singles but people often line up their own putt/walk off while someone is tapping in a tap in. Personally I think everyone's getting a bit carried away with the Tiger Bating now at this stage.

It aint matchplay! Take it to a basic level - if i was out playing with a friend, i would not walk away before he finished putting out. Tiger should not either. Its a sign of disrespect. As for the Tiger bating- well im not. I think he is great for golf and i dont enjoy watching a tournament as much if he is not playing. However- he should have waited! :D

It aint matchplay! Take it to a basic level - if i was out playing with a friend, i would not walk away before he finished putting out. Tiger should not either. Its a sign of disrespect. As for the Tiger bating- well im not. I think he is great for golf and i dont enjoy watching a tournament if he is not playing. However- he should have waited! :D

it is getting silly in fairness

if it was at a basic level with you and your friend would you swear if u missed a putt or played a bad shot ?? lets not go there

It aint matchplay! Take it to a basic level - if i was out playing with a friend, i would not walk away before he finished putting out. Tiger should not either. Its a sign of disrespect. As for the Tiger bating- well im not. I think he is great for golf and i dont enjoy watching a tournament if he is not playing. However- he should have waited! :D

If you were playing with a friend you'd have given him the putt... - otherwise he might have called you an *expletive deleted* :p

it is getting silly in fairness

if it was at a basic level with you and your friend would you swear if u missed a putt or played a bad shot ?? lets not go there
    I didnt say anything about swearing did i? Point stands- i wouldnt walk away before someone had putted out.

If you were playing with a friend you'd have given him the putt... - otherwise he might have called you an *expletive deleted* :p
    Haha! Im not a charity- nothing is a given!:D

I didnt say anything about swearing did i? Point stands- i wouldnt walk away before someone had putted out.

no your right u didnt my apologies

However taking your point Tiger is not playing a friendly game is he, and although it wasnt match play it came down to them 2 guys and everyone knew it, still should have waited but as was said it was a tap in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,418 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Pretty much every hole.
    Its gamesmanship and Tiger knew well what he was doing.
    Its completely unacceptable at that level.