Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mathematical Sciences in UCC? Anyone??

Options
  • 17-08-2009 3:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

I know this is probably the umpteen thread and you're all tired and weary but i would just like to ask a few things regarding this course, and if anyone can add other bits of info it would be greatly appreciated. I am new to Boards.ie and going into 6th year so any help at all is great!

CK407 Mathematical Sciences is the course i hope to do. After first year i then hope to continue and get a Financial Mathematics and Actuarial Science degree and eventually become a qualified actuary! (Well hopefully anyway!)

Before I choose I want to ask a few questions about the course and eventual career:
    1. What should i prepare for?
    2. Is the workload fierce and heavy?
    3. What are the lecturers like?
    4. Do I need Applied Maths cause I didn't do it?
    My leaving cert subjects are English, irish, maths, french, biology,
    business and accounting (All higher level.)
    5. How many years after college will i still have to endure before i'm qualified?
    6. What is the salary like when training and when finished?
    7. Whats the work itself like? Boring or challenging?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 surfandturf

I know this is probably the umpteen thread and you're all tired and weary but i would just like to ask a few things regarding this course, and if anyone can add other bits of info it would be greatly appreciated. I am new to Boards.ie and going into 6th year so any help at all is great!