Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Healion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Jaysus. Tragic. Rip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Terrible news. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

Very sad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Collumbo

Top man, an all round nice guy, and a beast on a bike.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Muller_1

Very very sad news. He was a great champion, it was great to see him get his first Rás stage win this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Tragic news ... RIP Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

Shocking news, condolences to his family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Speechless. An amazing rider, our lot have competed against him in recent years and had nothing but respect for him on and off the bike. We all took great pleasure in watching him being the first Irishman to break the stranglehold the foreign riders had on the RAS this year in Castlebar on Stage 6 and who could forget that ride in the crit championships. Saw him up close destroy me and indeed everyone else present in a TT in Mayo once as well. He was awesome. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭biker_joe

I had the privlage to ride on Team with Paul back in the early 00's, he was a super rider and a super guy. He was in a class of his own, and used to show that week in week out .....

The last time I was fit enought be in his company in a race was in the Harry Reynolds in 2007, a few of us were 2mins ahead in a break which Paul had missed, he rode across to us on his own ... he spent a lap or so with us .. and then left us !! no one could go with him !! In the last lap he put 2mins or so into us ( the break ) and won on his own in Pure Style !!! He showed pure class that day, and it was n't a nice day either, a hard day ...
    Paul will be sadly miss by all in the cycling community here as he had a lot more to give us, so sad not to see him line up this Friday on the National Team.

But spare a thought for his family during a very difficult time.

RIP Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭oheilis

Shocking and very tragic news. I used to go to Paul's wife for sports massages, lovely lady. Thoughts are with her and the rest of his family.
    RIP Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Shocking news to hear about his death. May he rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭paddy's hill

It was an honor to know Paul and to have raced with him. Rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

RIP Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭liamtinney

Sad news, R.I.P. Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Just saw this on the news, very sad news. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Big Mig

Such shocking shocking news :(

R.I.P. Paul Healion...

Our prayers go to your family and friends...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

RIP.

Some further information in the Irish Times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Terrible news, RIP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

Very tragic news :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

RIP.

Some further information in the Irish Times.

On cycling news also now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Billy Whizz

Tragic news, I'm still in shock. Was racing with Paul only yesterday. A great rider and a gentleman, RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭andun84

Just seen the news on IrishCycling.com. That really is a shocker.

RIP Paul and sincerest condolences to all your family & friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam, may all the roads above where ever you are Paul be to your liking !

My thoughts are with his family, friends and colleagues.

Cycling has lost a gentleman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

So sad... RIP, Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zico

RIP Danners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

A sad day for Irish Cycling.

Our thoughts are for the Healion family and friends.

Rest in Peace Paul... (Irish Champion,Irish Legend and just a nice guy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

was in work all day and this isnt exactly what you want to come home to, a true champion my thoughts are with the Helion family and friends.

"Genious is one percent inspiration, ninety nine percent perspiration" Thomas Alva Eddison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭amjon

RIP, didn't know him very well but only ever came across as a top man with a great sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

funny, all my years out of the racing scene, and Paul was one of the lads who'd still pop into my head every once in a while. Lived near enough, so we'd pass each other on roads near Dunboyne.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

What sad news. Never met the guy but admired his impressive talent. My thoughts goes out to his family. RIP Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Very sad , RIP and condolences to all his family and many friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭TheGreenGiant

RIP Paul. Some great times working with you in Super Valu, Trim. Always had a few jokes to crack and always really happy in yourself. As he said to me one day, he was having the time of his life! Such a tragedy for Irish cycling, really talented and you showed that a lot this year especially when you won a stage in the FBD Ras! Its realy sad that he won't be up against the likes of Lance Armstrong now at the weekend :(

But more important than that, its such a tragedy to his family and everyone that knew him.

Once again, my condolances to all the family, especially his wife, and everyone that knew him.

RIP Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭liamtinney

Some photos of the last corner in Castlebar before the stage win, by the look on his face dont think even Cavandish would have passed him.

R.I.P. Paul and condolences to his family.

3832593453_115e283981_b.jpg

3833377234_405d201f9e_b.jpg

3833381988_75fb4a961b_b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

RIP Paul Healion and condolences to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Very sad,

One of the best riders in the country

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

Lance has just paid his repsect to Paul on his twitter!

fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭smoochie06

RIP Paul. Still shocked by the news. Condolances to his family.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

Was so happy to see Paul get his stage in the Ras this year. If anybody deserved it, he did. I always admired him not just for his class on the bike but his attitude to the rest of us. No air's or grace's, just decency and honesty. We've lost a true gentleman.
    2009FBDRasStage6010.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Very touching photos...............

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_4272.shtml

RIP Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭rochefan

liamtinney wrote: »
    Some photos of the last corner in Castlebar before the stage win, by the look on his face dont think even Cavandish would have passed him.

R.I.P. Paul and condolences to his family.

Stunning photos. So good he wasn't wearing sunglasses as his eyes show how determined he was, such a fighter. I remember been so delighted he won that day.
    R.I.P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Gidazzle

Really tragic .