I got Arts

• 17-08-2009 08:16AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭

I dunno if many remember me, but when im online I had about in the Nooth forum. Anyways!

Didn't get my first choice, but quite happy :)

Best, cheap accomidation?

I've read the other threads, but It kinda doesn't help.
    What kinda prices are we speaking and what would one recommend for a 1st year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭internetaddict

Got arts too but commuting so i haven't a clue about accomodation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Got arts too but commuting so i haven't a clue about accomodation

Couple of threads below with house information, check them out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

Same, got my course and got my accom sorted.
    You should contact the college and get the housing list, they have a set rate of €86 a week with all bills included, anywhere else and your looking at over €90 a week fro places on Daft.ie. Although the college list of places are owner occupied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Commuting is death.

Edit: Forgot to say congrats. Congrats! Points were 450 in my day, you lucky so-and-so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Ah it's not that bad. All depends on where you're coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Revised: Commuting from Drumcondra is death. Tinkers having a piss standing up with their jocks down on the train platform; rocks coming through the window in Broombridge; tinkers getting on WITH HORSES in Broombridge; the constant fires in Broombridge station; that same goddamn announcement everytime the trains stops; the far-too-loud beep of the doors; the trains randomly not turning up, leaving you standing on this platform for another hour; I could go on for days.
    IrishRail wrote:
    ''And....Maynooth. Maigh Nuad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 keithconnolly

banquo wrote: »
    Revised: Commuting from Drumcondra is death. Tinkers having a piss standing up with their jocks down on the train platform; rocks coming through the window in Broombridge; tinkers getting on WITH HORSES in Broombridge; the constant fires in Broombridge station; that same goddamn announcement everytime the trains stops; the far-too-loud beep of the doors; the trains randomly not turning up, leaving you standing on this platform for another hour; I could go on for days.

Sounds fun can't wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Saysha

Try googling a couple of property websites... alot of them have info on renting or house sharing at reasonable prices!!

Congrats on getting arts!!Be seeing ya there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Points were 450 in my day, you lucky so-and-so :D
    Still would have got in ;)

Arts, can't wait. The draw for campus accomm was tonight. I'm not a religious man but I'll be thinking of Mary Magdelen tonight!

Edit: Got campus accomm :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Harpie

Jaysus when were the points as high as 450?!
    Just finished Arts and IIRC the points were only around 340 when I started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Mad...

Highest they were was 395 in my day, back in 2001. I dont think they have been as high since. At the time, UCC and UCD were in the 400's.

I remember hearing about it on the wireless.

Haha! I'm commuting from Broombridge :o. It's a kip but it's the kip that's closest to where I live and there's no ticket machine so free travel :cool:. As someone else said-I would've got it anyway :p and for the record I'm moving to Maynooth and far away from Broombridge when I raise the funds :)

As someone else said-I would've got it anyway :p

I had 150 points to spare for arts when I accepted- almost felt like a waste at the time, but it makes no odds what the points are in relation to what the course is like- supply and demand and all that!
    Good luck to all the newbies, and especially the commuters. I've been commuting by 4 trains up and back gach lá for the past 3 years, and yet still chose to come back to NUIM for my masters- says a lot about how attached ye will become to the place! :D

Harpie wrote: »
    I had 150 points to spare for arts when I accepted- almost felt like a waste at the time, but it makes no odds what the points are in relation to what the course is like- supply and demand and all that!
    Good luck to all the newbies, and especially the commuters. I've been commuting by 4 trains up and back gach lá for the past 3 years, and yet still chose to come back to NUIM for my masters- says a lot about how attached ye will become to the place! :D

Thanks for the encouragement.. I was a bit sick when I saw points in TCD dropped for English but then I reminded myself of the many reasons why Trinity hadn't been my 1st choice :rolleyes:

4trains? That's crazy! Fair play :)

Aww man.. so weird to be a newbie again!

Thanks for the encouragement.. I was a bit sick when I saw points in TCD dropped for English but then I reminded myself of the many reasons why Trinity hadn't been my 1st choice :rolleyes:

4trains? That's crazy! Fair play :)

Aww man.. so weird to be a newbie again!

At the time I found myself thinking about the other courses I could have done, based purely on points. The important thing is knowing that you are doing the course you wanted and worked for. The train isn't too bad, 2 up and 2 back, always a nap to be had! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

I got Arts too, but I applied through TAP/HEAR (Higher Education Access Route) as well. So now I have to go to a 4 day (residential) orientation programme which ends at 4 o clock on the date of me Debs!!! :eek: So no prep i the days leading up to it and then I have to rush to get there.. how sad :confused:

But overall happy enough to be doing the course and all that =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

so wait campus accom isn't there anymore? ****!