Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday dinner

• 16-08-2009 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

I decided to cook sunday dinner for the family today. Normally sunday dinner involves me skulking home hungover to the parents house after ignoring them all week :o So, i decided id return the favour and go all out. Jesus im wrecked.

Had the menu all prepared and wanted to make most of the stuff from scratch. Chicken casserole with wild rice, cheese scones and banana and walnut muffins with icecream.How hard could it be? So trotted off to the supermarket this morning and got what i thought i needed. Got home and remembered i didnt have a sieve or a weighing scales or a casserole dish (kind of important for the chicken casserole). TK Maxx €30, back home. Forgot the margarine, spar, back home.

Started cooking and realised i didnt know the difference between baking powder and baking soda (only had soda), chucked it in anyway. Family arrived and the scones werent rising so was having a panic attack. Didnt have enough chairs for the table so i had to sit a foot lower than everyone else on a poufe (sp?). Muffins turned out nice if a bit smaller than "shop" ones, scones were mank, only 2 out of the 8 i made were eaten (one by the dog :o). Mountain of washing up to do and the place is a bombsite.

Never again. Its back to robbing the parents fridge blind on a sunday afternoon and coming home to a clean house :p

What is your sunday dinner routine and why is cooking so damn hard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cookie Jar

Go to work ( I know.. workin on sundays sucks)
    Come home where my dinner is usually just about ready for me:D
    Joys of still living at home.

Although during the week when im off work I tend to make dinner for the family... I like making things from scratch so it does take time.. usually by the time its ready my appetite is gone:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I normally cook for me and my Oh. Full works! Roast and all the trimmings!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Roast chicken, homemade stuffing, roast potatoes, mashed potatoes, peas, carrots, and lots of gravy (good thick brown stuff, not the watery kind.) Followed by a nice thick slice of Vienetta.

Mmmmm ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Fish burger and chips... The joys of working late on a Sunday!:rolleyes:

Have never attempted doing a roast myself, and my GF seems to enjoy making them so I think I'll leave her to it (I enjoy eating them, so its a win/win!)

Tis usually some kind of veggie nut roast, baked spuds, some form of peas/beans and some other random veg (cauliflower, cabbage or brocolli)... Drenched in gravy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

Usually go for a pub lunch on a Sunday, but today i made Lasagne for the first time. Tasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Roast chicken, homemade stuffing, roast potatoes, mashed potatoes, peas, carrots, and lots of gravy (good thick brown stuff, not the watery kind.) Followed by a nice thick slice of Vienetta.

Mmmmm ...

Oh hell yeah............I'm over at yours next sunday for sure. PM address please!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I've been cooking the Sunday dinner(when I am home) since I was 11/12. It lets them have a chance to read the papers and chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

tman wrote: »
    Fish burger and chips... The joys of working late on a Sunday!:rolleyes:

Have never attempted doing a roast myself, and my GF seems to enjoy making them so I think I'll leave her to it (I enjoy eating them, so its a win/win!)

Tis usually some kind of veggie nut roast, baked spuds, some form of peas/beans and some other random veg (cauliflower, cabbage or brocolli)... Drenched in gravy...

Where's the meat?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Where's the meat?!

Still on the animal I would imagine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Well, I'm now officially not allowed to cook for other people anymore.:(

My cooking has never been described as 'cordon bleu'. More like 'cordened off'.

Made a curry for the lads in the house years ago & they got a suntan looking in the bowl.:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My mam makes a savage Sunday dinner.

Roast beef or chicken or corned beef
    mashed and roast potatoes
    carrots
    broccoli
    marrowfat peas (Not the muck out of a can)
    cabbage if we're having corned beef, done in the water the meat was cooked in
    gravy

And then apple cake and cream for dessert, or maybe a trifle or rice pudding.

It's a proper job, she starts preparing it on Saturday night and all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I don't have that problem... I go to the Mother In Laws for dinner on a sunday! Roast beef, roast potatos, turnip, cabbage and gravy most of the time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Would have been easier to take them out for dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It just takes practice and preparation is all.
    just like sex :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Mom and dad normally do the meal between them.. mom will do the meat and dad the veg :P

Today though, we had a ready-cooked chicken from Sainsburys and chips from the chippy (we're on holiday, it's allowed)

I'm so fussy though; my meal's just roast chicken or beef; cabbage; broccoli, boiled potatoes, gravy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

phasers wrote: »
    My mam makes a savage Sunday dinner.

Roast beef or chicken or corned beef
    mashed and roast potatoes
    carrots
    broccoli
    marrowfat peas (Not the muck out of a can)
    cabbage if we're having corned beef, done in the water the meat was cooked in
    gravy

And then apple cake and cream for dessert, or maybe a trifle or rice pudding.

It's a proper job, she starts preparing it on Saturday night and all

It's the only way to serve cabbage, cook it in the meat water.

Delish.:pac:
    Cabbage cooked in water is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It's the only way to serve cabbage, cook it in the meat water.

Delish.:pac:
    Cabbage cooked in water is disgusting.

Boil the shredded cabbage with some sliced carrots , when tender, drain and chop further. Add a little seasoning ftw.:cool:

I'll give it a try, but I still say cabbage cooked in bacon or corned beef water is the sweetest cabbage.

Cabbage cooked in bacon = perfection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

brummytom wrote: »
    Cabbage cooked in bacon = perfection

Then fried in butter.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Then fried in butter.

Fúcking hell, d'you want me to have a heart attack?! :eek:

I'll have to try it some day :p

TheZohan wrote: »
    Then fried in butter.

Sauteed, Goddammit! it's sauteed.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Sauteed, Goddammit! it's sauteed.:P
    Ah SS an auld Alt Gr on the "e"..."Sautéed"!

So sorry :o

anniehoo wrote: »
    Ah SS an auld Alt Gr on the "e"..."Sautéed"!

So sorry :o

Banned.:p

My computer has Windows 7 on it and I can't do fadas.

Also the @ and the " have swapped places

ALso regular cabbage is absolutely mank, when it's done in the meat water though I could eat a ton of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Cabbage is mank!!!

Control Panel -> Date Time Language blahhh -> Regional and Language Options -> Regional Options -> English (UK)

Cabbage is mank!!!

Well if you only eat bamboo how can you tell?:pac:

Yes, it has to have meat, but i don't like corned beef.

My computer has Windows 7 on it and I can't do fadas.

ALso regular cabbage is absolutely mank, when it's done in the meat water though I could eat a ton of it
    That happened to me before, something to do with settings for your keyboard.
    Alt Gr plus the vowel will give you the fada. á é í ó ú

galwayrush wrote: »
    Yes, it has to have meat, but i don't like corned beef.

Just buy a cheap cut then, and give it to the cat.:pac:

galwayrush wrote: »
    Alt Gr plus the vowel will give you the fada. á é í ó ú
    It used to, but it stopped working one day.

Either the keyboard is an Anglophile or it's pulling the old switcharoo on me...

brb rebooting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Well if you only eat bamboo how can you tell?:pac:

I don't just only eat bamboo.

I like birthday cake and pringles as well :D

No wonder you need belly rubs.:eek:

áéíóú

I'm back baby!

My computer is like a feckin woman, it's so tempermental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

áéíóú
    My computer is like a feckin woman, it's so tempermental
    Imagine Pighead,Javaboy etc had said that :p

I know exactly what ya mean though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

I'm a good cook, I rate myself very highly.
    My favorites to make / eat are:

Pork loin stuffed with home made stuffing (who in the hell buys stuffing anyway?) with roasties, veg and gravy.

Or roast chicken, stuffing, roasties, veg and gravy.

Gravy must not be watery, but thick and full of flavor.

I like when you have a selection of green veg like broccoli and green beans with melted butter and shaved Parmesan over them.

It's amazing how cheap a traditional dinner for multiple people can be if you shop in the right places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Gods stop it your making me drool.
    As much as I enjoy cooking there is still nothing like a well prepare meal which I didn't have to lift a hand to,
    which is rare enough to be a utter pleasure.
    Damn maybe I need a kitchen slave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Cook the veg, mash early on, that stuff can be microwaved later on. Then cook the rest when the time comes. Do the dinner buffet-style to save on the prep, and buy the scones and muffins next time!!

Oh and a bottle of wine too!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I , in good company , went out for sunday dinner today followed by a few pints .

I need to do this more often than I do .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭shift

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Gods stop it your making me drool.
    As much as I enjoy cooking there is still nothing like a well prepare meal which I didn't have to lift a hand to,
    which is rare enough to be a utter pleasure.
    Damn maybe I need a kitchen slave.

YES! and can ye masterchefs make more of a mess for us to clean up:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

anniehoo wrote: »
    I decided to cook sunday dinner for the family today. Normally sunday dinner involves me skulking home hungover to the parents house after ignoring them all week :o So, i decided id return the favour and go all out. Jesus im wrecked.

Had the menu all prepared and wanted to make most of the stuff from scratch. Chicken casserole with wild rice, cheese scones and banana and walnut muffins with icecream.How hard could it be? So trotted off to the supermarket this morning and got what i thought i needed. Got home and remembered i didnt have a sieve or a weighing scales or a casserole dish (kind of important for the chicken casserole). TK Maxx €30, back home. Forgot the margarine, spar, back home.

Started cooking and realised i didnt know the difference between baking powder and baking soda (only had soda), chucked it in anyway. Family arrived and the scones werent rising so was having a panic attack. Didnt have enough chairs for the table so i had to sit a foot lower than everyone else on a poufe (sp?). Muffins turned out nice if a bit smaller than "shop" ones, scones were mank, only 2 out of the 8 i made were eaten (one by the dog :o). Mountain of washing up to do and the place is a bombsite.

Never again. Its back to robbing the parents fridge blind on a sunday afternoon and coming home to a clean house :p

What is your sunday dinner routine and why is cooking so damn hard?

Aww i know how that goes, fair play to ya, its the tought that counts, ive had many simliar mishaps cooking for my family and in the end you get no thanks, so ive learned a long time ago why bother and just cook for myself and my Gf at the time:D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Mmmmm ...

Dear god are you single? are you a guy or gal, because i think i might love you:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

I usually wake up to the smell of my parents cookin a fry. Which I don't eat, I'm a veg.
    That or I wake up to DINNERTIME! :D

Today however, i woke up at half two-SHAME!
    I farted around on boards, watched some tv. At around five I started to get weak from lack of food, went to the shop [my parents are away so theres ZERO food] bought some ingredients and so for dinner i had...
    Brown rice, in a mix of carrots, celery, kidney beans, garlic and peppers in a tomato sauce thing. was goooooooooood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Roast chicken hope not bloated with salt and water
    , homemade stuffing Mmmm stuffing whatever family likes

, roast potatoes,in goose fat yum
    mashed potatoes,nice knob of butter melting when served
    peas, Marrowfat?
    carrots, Cant fook these up?
    and lots of gravy (good thick brown stuff, not the watery kind.) grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr homemade gravy is juices from the roast ,the water from the cabbage/any veg that was boiled and proper browning and stock just because something looks like gravy does not means its gravy
    Followed by a nice thick slice of Vienetta. FAIL 2 bits of gur cake in your bag going home not bloody vie fooking etta

Mmmmm ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Sunday dinner is the business, even if its daylight when i crawl into bed i still manage to have my sunday dinner which usually consists of

Roast chicken/beef/lamb/pork and sometimes fish
    Various veg particularly roasted carrots and parsnips
    Potatoes mashed with warm milk/cream salt and butter.
    Potatoes roasted in goose fat(the only way to do them) I bloody love roast potatoes and have dreamed of eating them on occasion.

Don't bother with desert usually because i'm fcuked after the dinner but if i'm arsed, Tesco do the nicest profiteroles ever.

Followed by sleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 BeachBum25

Tonight's sunday dinner actually ROCKED! My mother-in-law is visiting. Ok... I know this doesn't sound good, but listen...

She offered to make sunday dinner and ended up whipping up some skewered shrimp (I actually offered to grill them for her), dinner rolls from scratch, this wicked eggplant pasta side dish and fruit salad.

I ate the crap out of it! (still full)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

You know, I never knew about a Cheese Scone until 30 seconds ago.

Im sure if more people knew abut cheese scones, the suciide rate would drop off significantly.

edit: no pun intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Dear god are you single? are you a guy or gal, because i think i might love you:p

I should probably clarify, it's my mammy that's the chef in our house :D

Pics PM'd!