Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noel McGrath v Joe Canning

• 16-08-2009 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭

Especially after todays match Noel McGrath must be a shoe in for the Young Hurler of The Year, He was brilliant, not only did he get on the scoresheet himself, but was instrumental in the setup of other scores including two of Corbetts goals. To me he has just as much ability as Canning if not more, he is indeed more mobile and there is lots of similarity in their play, both have brilliant vision and awareness of the runs being made around them when they are on the ball. McGrath isn't given half the amount of media attention that Canning is.

Who is better? 78 votes

Joe Canning
    0% 0 votes
    Noel McGrath
    57% 45 votes
    Equal amount of ability
    42% 33 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 211 ✭✭MickTipp

both are class acts but i think McGrath is that bit better, far more mobile!!

LIT will be strong favourites for the Fitzgibbon this year with both of them on the team!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

CyberDave wrote: »
    Especially after todays match Noel McGrath must be a shoe in for the Young Hurler of The Year, He was brilliant, not only did he get on the scoresheet himself, but was instrumental in the setup of other scores including two of Corbetts goals. To me he has just as much ability as Canning if not more, he is indeed more mobile and there is lots of similarity in their play, both have brilliant vision and awareness of the runs being made around them when they are on the ball. McGrath isn't given half the amount of media attention that Canning is.

A shoe-in??

If he didn't hit a ball in the final he has the award in the bag already!! :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Skill wise there probably isn't much between them. McGrath probably more mobile whereas Canning is bigger and stronger. Canning's unerring deadball accuracy probably gives him the edge for me if you're looking for a tie breaker.

McGrath is a prodigious talent but Canning has done some things which have amazed me in matches while McGrath hasn't yet to the same extent although I'm sure he will in time.

Skill wise there probably isn't much between them. McGrath probably more mobile whereas Canning is bigger and stronger. Canning's unerring deadball accuracy probably gives him the edge for me if you're looking for a tie breaker.

sure McGrath is unreal at free taking aswell, hed be taking frees for tipp only we have a certain Eoin Kelly taking them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭lightning_saa

MickTipp wrote: »
    sure McGrath is unreal at free taking aswell, hed be taking frees for tipp only we have a certain Eoin Kelly taking them!!
    yeah lucky wif the old free takers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

JamieK wrote: »
    A shoe-in??

If he didn't hit a ball in the final he has the award in the bag already!! :eek::D

Yeah. He is a certainty to get it. He has done very well. There aren't any other challengers to it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I prefer Noel McGrath personally, but then again he plays a lot more ball then Canning thanks to his position, so its a difficult comparison to make accurately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Benhonan

Lads, McGrath is good and all, but come off it. McGrath is an excellent forward in an excellent forward unit, whereas Canning has been the driving force behind Portumna and Galway teams, senior and underage, for four years or so now. Yeah McGrath is having a brilliant debut season, but he has yet to achieve a fraction of what Canning has. When I saw Loughmore play Portumna about a year or two ago, anyone who would have put the two of them on a par would have been told to get their heads examined. I know McGrath is playing great stuff at the moment, but it's far too soon to start acting as if he is the best hurler in Ireland. Remember Seamus Hickey's debut season, and all that happened afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

No one said he was the best hurler in the country, rather that he was better then Joe Canning right now.

Seamus Hickey has been excellent since his debut season, is undeniably one of the best defender's in the country.

Saying someone is better than Joe Canning is akin to saying they are the best in the country. Maybe a handful of Kilkenny lads would also have a claim, that's it. That's if you take in the bigger picture and not just their last match.

Hickey got cleaned out in the final (which is fair enough, it was Eddie Brennan like) and had a very anonymous season after that. This year he has again emerged as one of the four or five decent hurlers in Limerick, but anyone who saw the match today will realise how little that means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Noel has had a good year but Joe has done it from Minor to Senior for years. He carries teams to success. I have to say that Limerick really didn't help Tipp look as great as the pundits may say. Limerick's pitiful performance was shown up through the gaps and spills (Mr.Foley). Noel will win Young Player of the Year after today's performance. Noel will be a great player but to compare him to Joe Canning is a bit too soon IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Ah hickey is a great hurler no matter what county team he plays on.
    He works constantly coming forward at times to score some great points.
    Saying that 07 was his only good year is false imo.

Anyways back on topic, i picked joe canning. Just havent seen noel mcgrath that much to start comparing him to joe canning yet, i guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

McGrath..Scores from frees,play and assists..Canning is more a free taker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

This year alone, McGrath > Canning!

As for overall who is better, will see over the enxt few years really.

Benhonen, you mentioned Loughmore-Portumna a year or two ago, McGrath would've been 16/17 then. He had a year or two over McGrath then, so I doubt people would have said it then that he was better or "on a par".

CyberDave wrote: »
    Yeah. He is a certainty to get it. He has done very well. There aren't any other challengers to it anyway.

...actually just remembered another candidate for the award...

...Padhraic Maher?? :rolleyes:

Watched the match again this morning...McGrath's vision and general teamwork is unrivalled by anyone else IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

its a no contest IMO opinion judging on this years performances. mcGrath has offered a lot more to tipp this year then canning has with galway but in saying that you have to take into account the quality of forwards McGrath has playing around him compared to Canning.

paddy978 wrote: »

You have never watched Canning playing properly so, to say he doesn't assist is a ridiculous statement, has amazing vision and rarely misplaces a hand-pass in the crucial areas... i'll give you an example of a free-taker.... McCrabbe from Dublin, same as Joe is he?

Also i'm sick of hearing this ''He only scores from free's ****e'', how are we getting these free's?.... he's the one fouled for the majority of them, he'd have put the ball over or into the net himself hence why he's always taken out..... but then the point from the free isn't worth as much :rolleyes:

Under-rate him at your pearl..... people in Galway won't lose much sleep... we can see the real picture and not the stats most judge him on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

The Poll asks "Who is better?". At this moment the answer can only be Joe Canning. If the question was who will win Young Player of the Year the answer would be Noel McGrath. Canning is second to only Shefflin in an ability to completely dominate a game while McGrath has been impressive in every outing with Tipp. Don't forget he was anonymous for Tipp U-21's against Waterford a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

paddy978 wrote: »

Are you saying Joe Canning can't score from play or even give an assist? I have never seen anyone on a hurling field with his vision not even young McGrath although he wasn't far off it yesterday. Now fair enough McGrath probably has had a better Summer overall but he is on a better balanced team and in fairness Limerick were so woefully bad yesterday I would be wary of heaping too much praise on the young lad although obviously he is very talented. As good as he was against Limerick that performance still pales in comparision to Canning's against a much better team in Cork last year. That said I don't believe Canning has been at his best this Summer and I know it's rumoured that he has been carrying a groin strain for a while now that needs sorting out.

Either way they are two super talents and hopfully we see them both for many years to come. Different types of players like DJ Carey and Henry Shefflin were different to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

I think we're very fortunate to have two guys of their talent around at the same time, and its very unfair on both of them to compare them, firstly they are very different hurlers and also Noel was only two weeks overage for Minor this year, so is not at the same stage of development as Canning.

Based on this year and current form McGrath has been head and shoulders above Canning but personally I dont think Canning was any where near fit this year

Don't forget he was anonymous for Tipp U-21's against Waterford a few weeks ago.

i wasnt at the match or anything, but from reports i heard that Noel and brendan maher were to only ones who actually played well for tipp that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭deccy15

Benhonan wrote: »
    Lads, McGrath is good and all, but come off it. McGrath is an excellent forward in an excellent forward unit, whereas Canning has been the driving force behind Portumna and Galway teams, senior and underage, for four years or so now. Yeah McGrath is having a brilliant debut season, but he has yet to achieve a fraction of what Canning has. When I saw Loughmore play Portumna about a year or two ago, anyone who would have put the two of them on a par would have been told to get their heads examined. I know McGrath is playing great stuff at the moment, but it's far too soon to start acting as if he is the best hurler in Ireland. Remember Seamus Hickey's debut season, and all that happened afterwards?

u say it like he's won all before him!! all he's won is a club all ireland playin in an excellent club team (and an undeserved all-star imo)!!! Mcgrath far more mobile, far more of a team player and just as accurate. Mcgrath all day long for me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Also i'm sick of hearing this ''He only scores from free's ****e'', how are we getting these free's?.... he's the one fouled for the majority of them, he'd have put the ball over or into the net himself hence why he's always taken out..... but then the point from the free isn't worth as much :rolleyes:

Yeah as a full forward myself this attitude really annoys me. Getting a free in a scorable position in my opinion is the same as getting a score. Yet its rarely considered at the end of a game. I have total respect for joe canning for the way he deals with very 'unsporting' play game in, game out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

deccy15 wrote: »

u say it like he's won all before him!! all he's won is a club all ireland playin in an excellent club team (and an undeserved all-star imo)!!! Mcgrath far more mobile, far more of a team player and just as accurate. Mcgrath all day long for me!!!

OMG! Have you ever seen some of the passes that JC gives to teammates? Look at the goal he created for Damien Hayes on Paddys day last for instance. Even that dunderhead Gerlock recognises this facet of Canning's play - his vision and awareness of players around him.

To Mushy, you're right. I had meant to mention the ages at the time. Having said that, at one side of the field you had a 19 year old lording it over the defence and being the focus of an outstanding attack. At the other end you had a 17 year old who was a very handy hurler but not on the same level.

Saying Canning is only a free taker is way off the mark. He might have been reduced to that this year, due to poor form and tight marking, but he is without a doubt the best play making full forward in the game, if not the best play making forward. McGrath has made some excellent passes, but Canning regularly sees passes that defy belief. I've often seen him make one touch handpasses to find team mates for scores, something very few others can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

...actually just remembered another candidate for the award...

...Padhraic Maher?? :rolleyes:

Watched the match again this morning...McGrath's vision and general teamwork is unrivalled by anyone else IMO

Funny that all your selections are all Tipperary players! Ye tipp lads seem to be all conveniently forgetting a certain Richie Hogan in a certain league final! And I believe its a players performance in all senior competitions that's examined. He also played extremely well when introduced against Waterford! There's still the final to come !! Who knows?? Who knows?? Although Cody will probably stick to tried and tested lineout.But I hope he gets a place.
    It's difficult to call between Canning and Mcgrath they've different styles, strenghts and abilities. If taken over whole year you'd have to give it to Canning but Mcgrath will probably shade it unless he has a stinker in AI. Sure we have to give something to Tipp;)

, but he is without a doubt the best play making full forward in the game .
    Ah ye might be gettin' a little bit carried away there. I can think of a serious contender for that position he's called Henry something!!!;)

Funny that all your selections are all Tipperary players!

Funny I could say the same about yours being Kilkenny :rolleyes:

deccy15 wrote: »

He's won all but senior.... Portumna had an adverage(first county in 03) team until he came along and have won 3 clubs since, he nearly won 3 in a row minor titles and has one U-21... all by the age of 20

Funny I could say the same about yours being Kilkenny :rolleyes:

It's unfair to accuse me of bias when I 'm merely stating a fact:D

Touché! :p

I think I posted on some other thread though that if Noel Connors had a strong game against KK he wouldn't be undeserving of the award!

...so I'm not entirely biased! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Joe Canning, but only just about. He's more sturdy on the ball and has carried both Galway and Portumna in recent seasons. Noel McGrath has deadly pace though and fantastic vision. He'll need another year or two though to be as good as Canning.

Ah ye might be gettin' a little bit carried away there. I can think of a serious contender for that position he's called Henry something!!!;)

OK fair enough, maybe I should have said pure full forward! I still see Henry as just a dynamic forward. Having said that, distribution-wise there's really not much between them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

I hope ye all saw what Joe did today? 4-9 i think and it wasnt good enough for man of the match. The day Noel McGrath does that someone come back to me. I dont even think Henry or DJ ever put in a performance like that at U-21. What a game though. Clare have some great young players too, they had the more balanced team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Power-surge

I think Joe Canning is miles better then Noel McGrath. Dont get me wrong, I think Noel is a fantastic hurler, but to me Canning is in a league of his own. Even in todays game against Clare he scored 4-7. ( I know a lot were from frees but still...)
    Canning carries teams (Portumna, LIT and Galway) and even with an injury and being tightly marked he still did ok this year. McGrath is up against the best defence in the country in 2 weeks, we'll see how he gets on...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I think over the two years joe has proven he is more skillful but on this year alone its tight. Skill alone it would be Joe but I think Noel plays with the team more and gets more involved with play. I feel Noel has a much better chance then Joe for YHOTY.
    But of course young connors is going to win it:P:P.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 gaa abu

we have to remember that mcgrath is more or less 2 years younger then canning.in a way they are different types of players...canning relies more on his strength and his ability to win "dirty ball" where as mcgrath relies more on his mobility.also i dont think joe will only ever be played in the full forward line or maybe half whereas if i remember correctly noel came on half back in his 1st minor final.that in my view is the difference....mcgrath will only play corner forward for tipp for max 1or 2more years and then he will be pushed out the field to probably midfield.he has the hurling and fitness to play anywhere from no.5 to 15.joes game this year especially has changed due to fact that he is being targeted as the main danger man obviously and so usually has 2 men on him.this decreases the amount he scores from play but creates space for other forwards and so he has become very unselfish and passes it setting up others for scores.
    both of them have vision to pick out players that the only other player in country to match it is henry shefflin.the 2 of them are different players so it is hard to compare them.
    ps noel for young hurler of the year and depending on his performance in the final could be an outside bet for hurler of the year considering he has won 2 man of the matches out of tipps 3 games this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Slightly off topic but for those thay may be interested Noel's young cousin Liam McGrath was FF on the Tipp u-16 team that won the AI at the weekend scoring 3-36 in the 4 games ;)