Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grrrrrr!@#

• 16-08-2009 1:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭

Was fast asleep until I heard a serious knock at the door. Several young girls saying some lad just crashed into my car. Over I go to look and they've done a runner. They left a lot of their car behind them though. Girls never got the plate cause it's pitch black out. They moved my car about 12 feet. I'd say the radiator is fecked and there's some cosmetic damage. Lots of water leaking everywhere.

Not happy! NCT was Monday too and I had it perfect for it. I'd say I'm looking at 1200 or so for the damage. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Well, at least they hit a stationary car and not a moving one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ring your local station now and report it.

They'll keep an eye out for a damaged car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

[-0-] wrote: »
    Was fast asleep until I heard a serious knock at the door. Several young girls saying some lad just crashed into my car. Over I go to look and they've done a runner. They left a lot of their car behind them though. Girls never got the plate cause it's pitch black out. They moved my car about 12 feet. I'd say the radiator is fecked and there's some cosmetic damage. Lots of water leaking everywhere.

Not happy! NCT was Monday too and I had it perfect for it. I'd say I'm looking at 1200 or so for the damage. :mad:

Posters of AHs, try to be helpful here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Ring Guards asap tbh.. they'll go on the lookout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Yeah I called the cops when it happened (like quarter to one) and no sign of them. So I called them again. They apologised for not showing up yet, but they caught yer man and he's after going into a few cars in the town. Happy days I guess. So I assume I pay the damages and throw him the bill?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Ring the gardaí immediately.

They're the only people that can do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Yeah I called the cops when it happened (like quarter to one) and no sign of them. So I called them again. They apologised for not showing up yet, but they caught yer man and he's after going into a few cars in the town. Happy days I guess. So I assume I pay the damages and throw him the bill?
    Good stuff I s'pose. Least they found him before he hurt someone.
    Yep he should have to pay shouldn't he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

In theory at least. Could be difficult if he can't pay. Especially if he's hit multiple cars.

But having him caught increases your chances of a good outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

TheZohan wrote: »
    Ring your local station now and report it.

They'll keep an eye out for a damaged car.

Brilliant, great result.

Might be an Insurance Bureau job, but yes, that probably will be the way it works unfortunately.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

K-9 wrote: »
    Brilliant, great result.

Might be an Insurance Bureau job, but yes, that probably will be the way it works unfortunately.

PS. Are you comprehensive insurance?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

In theory at least. Could be difficult if he can't pay. Especially if he's hit multiple cars.

But having him caught increases your chances of a good outcome.

I imagine his insurance would cover it though? If he's insured I guess.

Thankfully nobody was hurt. This is my second car since November so I'm a bit uptight about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Were the girls hot at least?

Edit: regardless you should have invited them into your apartment that smells of leather bound books and rich mahogany.

bleg wrote: »
    Were the girls hot at least?

Edit: regardless you should have invited them into your apartment that smells of leather bound books and rich mahogany.

Yes. They were like 16 though. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Pics of the young girls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

"theyve done a runner...? did the girls do a runner or did th lad that crashed do a runner...? did you answer the door in your boxers with a horn sir? suits you!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Yes. They were like 16 though. :pac:
    Priorities are all wrong my man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Not wise... My cousin was in a small crash, a woman with no insurance crashed into the back of my cousins car in her jeep, the lady got out of the jeep and gave my cousin a fiver... 5 euros... told her not to worry about it. She went to the cops, there was some technical crap to sort. She also told her insurance company. She never got a penny for it. Insurance company said that the woman wasn't insured so my cousin wasn't entitled to anything, she would have to claim on her own insurance... Seriously, WTF?

Wait and see what happens, tell your insurance company and seek legal advice form a good solicitor. you might pay for it and not get a penny back.

GL with it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Not wise... My cousin was in a small crash, a woman with no insurance crashed into the back of my cousins car in her jeep, the lady got out of the jeep and gave my cousin a fiver... 5 euros... told her not to worry about it. She went to the cops, there was some technical crap to sort. She also told her insurance company. She never got a penny for it. Insurance company said that the woman wasn't insured so my cousin wasn't entitled to anything, she would have to claim on her own insurance... Seriously, WTF?

Wait and see what happens, tell your insurance company and seek legal advice form a good solicitor. you might pay for it and not get a penny back.

GL with it though.
    wtf.

I was run over on my bike at one stage as some plonk pulled into a petrol station. Shaken as I was I marched over there, he was just getting ready to pump gas. (!) :mad: Its like Hey did you NOT notice that minor obstruction on your left when you pulled in or did you just think you ran over the curb you POS?>

The front wheel was mangled. He wasnt going to even give me the Time until walked into the shop and demanded some stationery. Then he gave me 20 euros. ****er.

Anyway I the bike shop was only down the road. Dropped it off, walked down to file a police report with his plate no. and gave them the estimate the shop offered me. All I wanted was the cost of damage, I wasnt out to make charges over it. 2 weeks later I got a formal apology and all my expenses, and he got off very ****ing sly on my forgiving nature.

as for you 5 euros - I am entirely unsure how the woman did not have to pay all of that out of her own pocket. Plus the hefty charge for being uninsured.

I'd like to add that he was absolutely polluted. The girls said he reversed back from my car and hit it again - he was that drunk. I'd say he has some head on him right about now.

Foreign national with no insurance. :( Pressing charges you say? Why certainly!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Foreign national with no insurance. :( Pressing charges you say? Why certainly!!

IBPCYR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

You think he could have paid for insurance with one of our jerbs that he took

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

If the driver was uninsured then you are still entitled to your expenses incurred either through the driver being charged and recuping the cash from him or through the Insurance surplus fund, 30% of all insurance premiums paid in Ireland go into this fund to compensate for uninsured drivers. This is partly the reason that insurance in Ireland is so expensive. So you are covered either way. Just make sure you take pictures of the damage get a good reliable estimate, make a statement to the gaurs and get a good solicitior. It migh take a while to get the compensation though. A friend of mine was crashed into by an uninsured driver a couple of years ago and it took 6 months before he saw the money. Best of luck with it OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Sorry for your troubles OP.
    If you haven't already gotten onto your insurance company do so immediately.
    Hopefully the Gardaí will have the other party's insurance details.
    If they had insurance cover then it sounds like an open and shut case.

If he/she had no insurance then you may be covered by the uninsured driver's fund Motor Insurer's Bureau of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

OP might get better advice on the Motors Forum.

Thread moved.

Thanks Hagar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

In before people call you racist

I'd imagine.

[*] Made a new acronym

That's enough for today people, same time tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

Outstanding that he's been caught.

1. No insurance
    2. Over the limit
    3. Hit and run

I hope this guy gets jailtime.

BTW, keep us up to date on what happens. Very interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Glad to hear he got caught.

Doubt very much if he'll do jail time, our legal system is very

light on theses crimes.

Crash Scene Investigators (CSI! :p) are coming tomorrow to check out the car and confirm his crashed into it. There's several witnesses anyway so it doesn't matter either way. I've 5 mates who are in the Gardai so I'll be sorted with pressing charges and all that. Gonna be a long and painful process though. Hopefully I can get it fixed/replaced by Friday. That might be doubtful though. I'll keep you lads posted. Cheers for all of the advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Muckie wrote: »
    Glad to hear he got caught.

Doubt very much if he'll do jail time, our legal system is very

light on theses crimes.

Not the legal system, the judges.
    The legal sytem allows for jailtime here.

EDIT: Turns out they were here this morning. Yay. Now I can get the ball rolling.

Got on to my insurance crowd anyway and told them the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

The MIBI fund is mostly intended for compensation of people injured by uninsured drivers, but it does allow for compensation for property damage where the uninsured car and driver have been identified.

My head is melted. As it turns out, the guy is insured. Yay!

So it's nearly two weeks on and the car is still sitting there. I've spoken with the Guards and they won't give me his insurance details. They asked my insurance company to call the station and said they would give them the details, but the Guard dealing with this incident is working nights (10pm to 6am) so my insurance company cannot deal with him directly. My insurance company called the station and the Guards said they won't give the details over the phone. They also said the insurance company will have to pay €40 to get the details from them. :confused:

I am at a complete loss here. This is so ****ing retarded and I've completely lost my patience. I'm going over to talk to the Guard tonight at 10pm. If he doesn't give me the details, what the **** do I do then?

I've left a message with my solicitor who will call me in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

All sounds a bit odd to be honest.

steve06 wrote: »
    All sounds a bit odd to be honest.

Yeah I'm just gonna let the solicitor sort it. I can't be arsed dealing with this mediocrity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

He's still going to get done by his own insurance company. They will have to pay out to you, but they'll recoup their losses from him through legal action as he was drunk. So not a total loss!

Ask the Gardai to write your insurance company a letter with the details and send it directly onto them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Maybe he's a gard.

The solicitor got onto the Guards today, and they called me afterwards all apologies. Getting his details over the weekend, they just have to let him know they are giving his details to me first.

Amazing what a solicitor can do.

I'm so nieve! Still no word from them. Called the Guards and asked to speak to the Sergent who said the Guard I'm dealing with isn't on until Friday night and I will just have to wait until then to speak with him.

It will be 3 weeks this weekend. I'm on holidays Friday week and supposed to be driving through Europe. I'm not one ****ing bit happy. My solicitor is out sick today so I'll be talking to her in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

My sympathies OP. It all sounds terribly head wrecking. As you said earlier, remove yourself from the process as much as possible, and let your solicitor wade through the bull**** for you. That's why we pay them so much!

Just got this sorted via a few connections.

Thank Christ for that.

Mods can you please delete this thread now as I will have an ongoing case against the guy?

I'll PM you. Thanks for your help everyone!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Nothing here to warrant a deletion - I'll just lock it for you.
    Good luck with the case and let us know the outcome!
    Hoep the fecker goes down for a while!