Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend me a decent razor???

• 13-08-2009 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭

OK so I'm down to my last few sensor excels that I bought in bulk from ebay 2 years ago.....Thank God! :D Can any of you folks recommend me a decent safety razor/blades?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Have a look at the Merkur Progress, it's an adjustable razor which will
    allow you to adjust just how close a shave it gives.
    Reviews here

Merkur have just released a new second version of the Progress with a
    longer handle. I found the extra length and weight means it gives a closer
    shave but is less forgiving than the regular Progress.

The Merkur HD is also a good starting razor, similar to the Progress but
    not adjustable. Again available in short (34c) or long handle (39c).
    Review here

The benefit of the Progress over the HD is it will allow you to increase how
    close it shaves as your technique improves or need arises.,

Blade wise, I'd recommend picking up a sample pack as blades are really
    the one item where different people find different brands better.
    Try a Derby Extra, Red Personna, or Super + Platinum Crystal (IP)
    these are not as sharp as the Feather, Gillette 7 O'clocks or Astras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Shaving.ie

I’d advise to do a little research on Muhle, Merkur and Parker. The three piece Parkers have a redesigned head and have been receiving some deserved attention recently as they are a little cheaper and of high quality. They also have some nice designs. I think an adjustable like the Progress wins hands down every time but others prefer a fixed head. With a fixed head it is probably important to research just how aggressive a shave it gives. An adjustable allows you to change the aggressiveness to suit you.

Secondly you should be considering a good quality shave cream/soap like Proraso or Omega and a brush. Current production of both these creams are formulated the same and made by Proraso. Go for a boar or badger brush (the omega 48 is also a rebranded Proraso brush). Omega make good boar and badger brushes as do Semogue (vintagescent.com), the later is not available till the end of the month as far as I know. Most chemists stock some form of Vulfix rebranded cheapo brushes.

Strictly speaking you can just use a canned gel but this won’t match the results of preparing for the shave properly. Good luck!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Oh I use the proper creams and brush etc it's just the razor I need advice on. I've read the merkur adjustable has QC issues?

I'm not sure where the QC rumour started but I have seen no issues with any current or older stock. Merkur and Muhle would rank quite high for quality control so I would trust either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭MediaTank

The Vision and Futur have had some problems, not so for the Progress.

So would the merkur progress be a good one to get so? Not sure if this is relevant or not but I'm not the sort of guy to shave every day. I always like to build up a bit of growth while I'm working and then shave when I'm on my days off reason being I have to wear a cleanroom face mask and it agrrivates the skin if I shave previous.
    Also where to make the purchase? Thanks lads :)

So would the merkur progress be a good one to get so? Not sure if this is relevant or not but I'm not the sort of guy to shave every day. I always like to build up a bit of growth while I'm working and then shave when I'm on my days off reason being I have to wear a cleanroom face mask and it agrrivates the skin if I shave previous.
    Also where to make the purchase? Thanks lads :)

I would say the Progress is more versatile and for most it turns into their number one razor. The long handled version in my opinion is a better buy but it is a little more expensive! There is a range of places here and in the UK that now stock these.

If you go for the Progress make sure you resist the urge at the start and
    keep it dialled down to a low setting for the first few weeks until you have
    your technique honed.

I tend to use my Progress around 3 but the long handled gives me a closer
    shave at 2, so if you go for the long handled make sure to keep it low.

There's a list of supplier at the top of the forum.

I've ordered razors from the following:

http://www.shaving-shack.com/
    http://www.traditionalshaving.co.uk/mall/departmentpage.cfm/traditionalshaving/_268168/1/Starter-Kits
    http://www.connaughtshaving.com/
    http://timothyedwards.co.uk/Brand/Merkur/c-1-70-88/

Start at 1 on the Progress until you get used to it. If you shave irregularly then you may need to set it to 2 or 3.

MT

thanks lads :) I'll let yiz know how I get on. Hopefully there won't be too much blood spilled. :o

Take it easy and you will be grand.:)

Shaving.ie wrote: »
    Take it easy and you will be grand.:)

Cheers M8...Just said hello to my flexible plastic friend and purchased the progress. Thanks for all the help. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 md12

effin hell,just have a shave,we don't need the whole country involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭dave98

wats wrong with the auld mach 3 power

md12 wrote: »
    effin hell,just have a shave,we don't need the whole country involved

Cum back when your old enough and ill tell you about the pros and cons of this forum :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

dave98 wrote: »

Expensive razor, expensive cartridges and wouldn't cut cheese... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Try a shave with a DE razor and some real lather... You'll see exactly what's wrong with the 'aul mach 3 power' ;)

It is like a child's toy in comparison to a Merkur:pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

- Its expensive
    - Its a gimmick compared to a safety razor
    - It requires no skill so its basically a toy
    - It encourages razor burn, ingrown hairs and can cause spots due to these
    - Did I say it was expensive?

If you think a Mach 3 is ok then you obviously don;'t know any better ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭dave98

Cabaal wrote: »
    - Its expensive

come back when you reach puberty

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

If I could be bothered to find one of those stupid facepalm images I'd be including it in this post, but really your not even worth that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

so original...congrats. :pac:

Dudes...The Merkur arrived today and I'm making great progress :P Not one nick either . :cool:

:P Not one nick either . :cool:
    Beginners luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Cabaal wrote: »
    - Its expensive

Don't forget also: the plastic of the mach 3 will most probably find its way into a land-fill, whereas the metal blade of a safety razor has a higher chance of being recycled.

Lovin the merkur...Now how many shaves can I expect from each blade? .

Assuming a Merkur blade 4-7 shaves. It depends on how tough your beard is, how many passes, etc.

Once the razor starts to pull and the shave starts to get rough its time to pop a new blade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Any particular blades you'd recommend (for a newbie).

Currently use Prosao, shave cream and a badger brush with Quattro blades, but looking to move to a "proper" razor.

Also how easy is it to get used to?
    I tend to get a lot of tiny knicks on my neck, won't feel them but notices the little dots of blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Gillo wrote: »
    I tend to get a lot of tiny knicks on my neck, won't feel them but notices the little dots of blood.

i find this happens quite a bit, and in my experience, i nice hot shower sorts this out. with some decent after balm when finished.

Red Personna
    IP Crystal

Best to pick up a large sampler pack and try a few. Connaught Shaving stock a good sampler pack with the best variety.

Gillo wrote: »
    Any particular blades you'd recommend (for a newbie).

Currently use Prosao, shave cream and a badger brush with Quattro blades, but looking to move to a "proper" razor.

Also how easy is it to get used to?

Get a sample pack of blades from Connaught or Shaving.ie and see which one you like go from the gentle to the sharpest when trying them out for example Merkur, Derby, Wilkinson, Feather.

It takes a couple of weeks to get used to, but once you get the hang of it there is no turning back.

A Progress is a good starter razor.