Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pimp Your Events ('09/'10)

• 11-08-2009 1:11pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

If your Club or Society is holding any event that is open to the public, post the event details here! Student Union events also welcome. See below for the rules regarding posting in this thread.

Rules::
    • If your Club or Society is holding an event, you may only pimp the details in the thread once. Additional posts will be removed and considered spam.
    • If a particular event is attracting a lot of interest or discussion, it will be split into a new thread. Feel free to create a thread on the event itself if you feel it will attract a good bit of discussion on the forum.
    • Any pub/club/event promoter posting here about non-college club/society events will be marked for site wide ban for "Spamming". This thread is not an area for Clubs/Pubs to "pimp their nights"!

(Once again, I robbed the idea from the TCD forum folks!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

Sully wrote: »
    • Any pub/club/event promoter posting here about non-college club/society events will be marked for site wide ban for "Spamming". This thread is not an area for Clubs/Pubs to "pimp their nights"!

does that exclude the dome? and the RAG week events such as beach party in oxygen, aimed at students?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

does that exclude the dome? and the RAG week events such as beach party in oxygen, aimed at students?

Dome, no. Rag Week events, no. General pub nights out - since I can guarantee club/pub folk will just keep plugging various events, unlikely. Advertising rules say no, and I think id have to agree with them on this :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Waterford Young Fine Gael, in conjunction with W.I.T Young Fine Gael, is delighted to host a public information meeting on The Lisbon Treaty with Seán Kelly, Fine Gael MEP for the South constituency.

Date: Tuesday, September 22nd 2009
    Venue: Auditorium in the WIT Cork Road campus
    Title: "Get Waterford Working – Why We Need Lisbon"

Seán Kelly is a former President of the Gaelic Athletic Association. He was the first Kerry man to hold that prestigious office being elected at the first attempt by a record margin at the GAA Congress in 2002. In July 2006 he took up the position of Executive Chairman of the Irish Institute of Sport, a body that was set up in Ireland to support elite athletes and players, and served as Executive President until he announced his resignation in July 2008. He is generally regarded as one of the most successful, innovative and media-friendly president’s in the Association's history as is evidenced by the string of awards he has received including Person of the Year 2005, Community Entrepreneur of the Year 2006, Business Person of the month (April 2005) and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Dublin Institute of Technology in February 2007. He has won the second seat as a Fine Gael candidate at the 2009 European Parliament election for the South constituency.

Guest speakers include Young Fine Gael President, Barry Walsh, a Cork man first elected president of Young Fine Gael in November 2007 in Maynooth, having previously served as Vice-President. Following a busy first term as president, which involved the first Lisbon Treaty Referendum, he was re-elected for a second term in February 2009, at the YFG National Conference in Athlone. Barry graduated from Law at the University of Limerick and is currently plying the legal trade in Dublin. Along with the Vice-President, Barry represents YFG on the Executive Council of Fine Gael.

The talk – entitled "Get Waterford Working – Why We Need Lisbon" – will help to explain what the Lisbon Treaty is about and clarify common misconceptions about what the treaty does. The talk will conclude with a Questions & Answers session. This is a free event and doors open at 6.30pm. For further information contact Waterford YFG at 086-1592188.

WIT Journalism Society (the folks who do the Campus Times) meeting today, Monday 9th November @ 5.15pm in F01. Thats the corridor behind spar, just beyond the set of double doors and on your right. :)

W.I.T Young Fine Gael is honoured and privileged to host An evening with Irelands most respected crime writer Paul Williams.

DATE: Tuesday 17th of November
    VENUE: The Gallery @ 7pm
    TITLE: An Evening with Paul Williams.

Paul Williams is Ireland's most respected crime writer. After the murder of the noted crime correspondent Veronica Guerin 1996, Williams took over the mantle of The Sunday World reporting on some of Ireland's most notorious criminals. His articles appear weekly there where he maintains a vast archive of background material. A qualified criminologist, he has won a number of major journalism awards for his courageous work with the Sunday World. His best-selling books, Evil Empire, The General, Gangland and Crime Lords, have all won national and international acclaim. Williams is also a member of the internationally respected International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ).

This will be an evening not to be missed by anyone and is open to everyone. There is no fee to enter so it promises to be an enjoyable evening!

Due to circumstances beyond our control, this event has been postponed. A new date for the event will be confirmed soon.

Due to circumstances beyond our control, the above event with Paul Williams has been postponed. A new date will be confirmed soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 wits2

Hey guys,

Just to let you know, The business Society & Escape nightclub are running a Nightclub Apprentice Competition!

5 team (of a max of 5 members, min one must be a business student)
    Will be picked to take part in this once off competition.
    The apprenctice will start in January, where each team will be given the Chance to Run Escape nightclub on a Wednesday night. You will be the nightclub managers, you will be able to pick the theme, music, drinks promo's, door charge.. Anything!

The competition will be judged on feedback from people attending the night, nightclub staff and the overall profit made on the night!

Each team will get 150Euro Seed money for their night. The first heat will run over 5 weeks, with one team getting fired on the 5th week.

This is brilliant experience for any student that has an interest in events / marketing / pr etc etc.. Or just thinks they can throw a good party!!

The overall winning team of the competition will get 1,000 Euro!!

Closing date for enteries is the 11th of December,
    We will be promoting it in the Well next week where you can get an application form, or you can pick them up in Clubs & Soc's office, or email us at witbusinesssociety@live.com

Thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Bluezar

Sounds Cool, Might see if I can get a few of the lads interested in this as I am a Marketing student!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Bluezar wrote: »
    Sounds Cool, Might see if I can get a few of the lads interested in this as I am a Marketing student!
    Touché

Mod Note:
    Business Society event moved to the Events Thread..

Keep all Clubs & Socs events in this thread please folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Irish Language Society - Night out in the gaeltacht

WIT's Irish Language Society will have a night out in the local gaeltacht (Ring) on the 6th of February. All welcome. Will be a good craic. Anyone coming, send us an e-mail (cumann@cairde.net).

Beidh oíche amach againn sa ghaeltacht (An Rinn) i mí Feabhra (6ú). Fáilte romhaibh. Beidh craic agus spraoi ann. Éinne ag teacht linn, sheol r-phost chugam (cumann@cairde.net).

Where/Cén Áit: Ring, Waterford/An Rinn, Port Láirge
    When/Cathain: 6th February/6ú Feabhra
    Why/Cén fath: For a few pints and a bit of craic in the gaeltacht/Le haghaidh cúpla deoch agus píosa craic sa ghaeltacht

All welcome!

Béir bua,
    Seán

WIT Young Fine Gael presents... The Waxies!
    A bizarre mix of music, games, stand up comedy, and stupidity of the highest level

Venue: Escape Nightclub (turned into Winter Wonderland with a Snow Party!)
    Admission: Free Before 12. Admission €4. Doors open 11pm.
    Date: December 1st

The next edition of The Campus Times comes out tmrow (Tuesday). There available in the Students Union and all major entrances to the college.

Range of articles in the paper including all the details on the Exams being delayed indefinitely, the (pretty much) latest Political news, Sports, Reviews and plenty of other stuff that has slipped my mind :/

Contributors to the paper are always welcome - journalism interest or background is NOT required. If you want to submit anything small or big to the paper then feel free to email:: thecampustimes@gmail.com.

Ill post up with deadlines and next issue dates as soon as they are confirmed.

PS Join us on our Facebook Page

WIT Young Fine Gael are proud to be hosting an evening with the Collins 22 Society on April 19th, 2010 at 7pm in the Dunmore Room (F02) on the main Waterford IT Campus on the Cork Road.

Bill Martin from the Collins 22 Society and some Waterford Fine Gael Representatives will give a short talk on the Fine Gael legend that is the Irish revolutionary leader, Minister for Finance and MP for Cork South in the First Dáil of 1919, Michael Collins.

This will be followed by a documentary, entitled "Hang Out Your Brightest Colours", on his life and death and is regarded as the most accurate documentary made of Collins.

Light refreshments will be made available after the night where you will get a chance to meet Bill Martin of the Collins 22 Society and some of our local representatives.

For further information, contact WIT YFG PRO Sinead McDermott by email; pro@wityfg.ie.

Source: http://www.wityfg.ie

WIT Young Fine Gael brings you, in what promises to be a night to remember, "The Magic of Comedy" with special guests Simon O'Keffee, Robbie Bonhman, and Jack Wise.

Simon O’Keeffe - A top young Irish comedic talent, Simon has marked himself as a performer who is one to watch. A highly versatile act that is capable of playing to any type of audience with the number of his performances as headliner ever increasing.

Jack Wise - Jack is a Dublin based Magician who specialises in blending comedy with magic and we're definitely not talking spinning bow ties or rabbits in hats! He would delight his schoolmates by vanishing sweets in the face of a furious local shopkeeper! Often referred to as the "Magician to the Stars", it's his stunning close up magic, Jedi Mind Tricks and irreverent sense of humour that's made him the choice for celebrities such as Bono, Robbie Williams and the Corrs.

Robbie Bonham – Robbie plays regularly in the Laughter Lounge, the Capital Comedy Club, and various other Dublin gigs (in fact, anywhere with a microphone), and last year was voted the Capital Comedy Club's best support act. He was also in the final of the Bulmers Comedy festival for the second year running and has just attained the title of 98 FM's 'Dublin's Best Comedian'.

The event, is a comedy night in Revolution, John St., Waterford.

Tickets can be purchased at €8 in the Business Building (across from the Spar shop) on the Cork Rd. campus, outside the Canteen in the College St. campus, WIT Student Union offices and Revolution Bar Waterford. Alternatively, contact the branch secretary Steven Fitzpatrick - secretary@wityfg.ie for alternative ticket purchase arrangement.

Source: http://www.wityfg.ie

WIT Summer Ball 2010

This year the Social Care Society, Early Childhood Studies and Land Sciences have teamed up to be the hosts for the WIT Summer Ball 2010 next Wednesday, April 21st, in the Woodlands Hotel Waterford. The event kick starts at 8pm. Read on for more on this fantastic night with legends J90 and a special guest DJ. Oh and not forgetting the champagne reception and bar extension..

On your arrival, step out of your car onto the red carpet where a professional photographer will be awaiting your presence. As you walk up the red carpet, the flutter of his camera lens can be heard as he takes photographs of yourself and your partner. A champagne reception awaits you at the door as you prepare for what promises to be a very nice three course meal.

After the meal, step into the ballroom to hear one of Ireland's greatest 5 piece bands - J90. J90 are known to cover songs from the likes of Black Eyed Peas, Calvin Harris, David Guetta, The Killers, MGMT and even Cascada into their own distinctive style. J90 manage to fuse rock, hip hop, funk and pop into their show, delivering a perfect party experience to their fans.

When J90 have finished for the night, not to worry, the party still goes on. Thats right folks, this ball just keeps getting better. We have a very special guest DJ lined up to keep the party going late into the night with a bar extension until 2.30am.

Folks, this event has been well planned and organised. With a red carpet leading up to the champagne reception, professional photographer on the night (and hey, dirt cheap!), a gorgeous three course meal, the stunning J90 band, a bar extension with a special guest DJ -- this is going to be, we promise, a night to remember!

You thought the Law Ball was the event of the year? Just wait until the WIT Summer Ball - this event will beat all balls hands down and set a new standard! All in the one place - Woodlands Hotel. No moving from one hotel and when we promise a bar extension - we mean it!

Tickets are regularly on sale outside Spar on Cork Road Campus, outside the canteen on College St Campus and the WITSU offices for an amazing price of just €35! For other arrangements, PM myself for the orgainsers number. Tickets are going like damn hot cakes fresh from the bakers even so its First come, First served!

Closing and unsticking this as the college term is over. Will launch a new one in August.