Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C8-NGT for Astro photography.

Options
  • 10-08-2009 10:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Hi,
    I was thinking of purchasing a Celestron C8-NGT. I am new to astronomy but would very much like to do some astro photography especially deep sky photography.
    I was wondering if anybody has any experience of using this telescope for astro photography or any advise?.
    My main concern is back focus. I have read that I may not be able to achieve focus with my 35mm camera ( I have a Canon 450d).
    I was also thinking of a NexStar 6 SE but it is much more expensive and I was told that the C8-NGT would be better but heavier.

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Astrophotography is a huge field within astronomy. There are many pitfalls, gotchas, disappointments, pain and suffering. Yes - and I've been through them all :)

I have certainly used an 8" SCT (Celestron) for astrophotography with good results. But that was after going through all the negative aspects listed above. I've even used a 70mm refractor of dubious quality and got excellent results.

Fundamentally though, you need to be clear about what you want to do. Unfortunately, there really isn't one telsecope/imager combination that will allow you to take photographs of, say, the planets and deep sky objects. You really need two different kinds of setup. Even within a particular setup, you need flexibility as regards things like focal reducers and filters.

Backfocus for sure tends not to be a show-stopper - you can get various (cheap) attachments that will help you achieve that.