Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my take on college life going into second year

• 06-08-2009 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

So yeah second year is about to start, passed everything 1st year with no/little effort (got nearly a B in one subject that i only showed up to 6 classes and the teacher told me that i was going to fail LOL) and im not doing arts btw, im doing BEng lvl 8 mechanical + manufacturing, most teachers r awsome, and make no mistake, im only doing this for the craic, (dad's money hard at work) i have no intentions of becoming a mechanical engineer (going to go to a med school in america hopefully or maybe even here like grad med), so im enjoying life before i get into some heavy hitter ****, also this is one reason why i love WIT, only 4th year results count, so you can put your life in a high gear and cruise control and just relax for the most part, and then saddle up for 4th year (and a year is only like 24 weeks of study and even then you get 48 days worth of weekends not including bank holiday mondays etc etc) so time really flies

i have vague memories (lol) of going out every single night for a week in a row (more than one occasion), not comming into class on purpose, because i thought i knew everything.

one thing i missed out on was that i never went into like waterford town (like city centre) (i dont consider rubys/oxygen/etc to be in the citycentre) so i cant really judge the city itself but those clubs were TOTAL AND UTTER BS, im from cork, and im used to 3 storey clubs and huge dancefloors, which i didnt see in waterford, but still it wasnt too bad cuz i got to go home every weekend

as you can see english isnt my first language, so i apologise for the crappy paragraphs and i'll be happy to answer questions from newcommers

P.S, im not saying mechanical engineering is easy or anything like that, because there were about 25 people in the class when we started, and i'd say come september i'll only be seeing about 10-15 of them MAX, you do have to show up to important classes unfortunately and hand your work in (the word "your" souldnt really be stressed though HINT HINT), and if you private message me i will share some other knowledge with you which i cant really make PUBLIC, on how to get through 1st year with minimal effort

including how to miss a test if your not prepared for it but still get marks for it (like i had 3 tests in one particular subject (not including finals) i passed one test, failed 1, no show for one, and still managed to get 68% in the subject and all the tests counted towards C.A)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭avalon68

purepwnage wrote: »
    got nearly a B in one subject ..... going to go to a med school in america hopefully or maybe even here like grad med

good luck with that :rolleyes: While WIT may only use your final year results to calculate your degree result, you will more than likely be asked to provide transcripts for every year in college should you apply for medicine. Especially in the US as they will probably never even have heard of WIT (no disrespect intended to WIT). I think you have seriously underestimated the level of competition for places on medical courses. A significant proportion of people applying for graduate entry will also have higher degrees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 purepwnage

yeah i know in america they'll check the transcripts, but and it costs alot, so i probably wont go there, but its not hard to get into some place like UCC or UL for GEM if u do decent GAMSAT and have a 2.1 (which isnt really hard) and i'll have plenty of time to prepare for gamsats, i'll start studying next summer and do it in march 2011 and will then focus on the 2.1, studying here will probably be cheaper than america, and i can still do the USMLE while in college and go there after graduation, and on a side note theres a recent graduate from C.I.T in mechanical engineering, who did aeronautical engineering masters in M.I.T (yeah, i dont know how he got in) and now works with NASA, so i dont think W.I.T is that far behind C.I.T in terms of acedimia (spelling lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭avalon68

its not hard to get into some place like UCC or UL for GEM if u do decent GAMSAT and have a 2.1 (which isnt really hard)

Id be surprised if many people with a 2.1 were offered places on those courses. I know a few people doing it and they have PhDs. And they could still ask for transcripts....so you should definitely cop on this year.

avalon68 wrote: »
    Id be surprised if many people with a 2.1 were offered places on those courses. I know a few people doing it and they have PhDs. And they could still ask for transcripts....so you should definitely cop on this year.

they dont really ask http://www.ucc.ie/en/DepartmentsCentresandUnits/SchoolofMedicine/gradentry/

it only says about the 2.1H, and if you have that then its the GAMSAT merit that counts (like LC points), in america most med schools need you to do a BS in some premed course, my cousin majored in biology and minored biochem, and hes doing it in the carrabien because he didnt get into a school in texas because his MCAT wasnt good enough (and theres also a cap on how many times you can sit MCAT i think its 3 but theres no cap on how many times you can sit GAMSAT), and in GEM, ireland, you dont need a premed course it can be any level 8 degree, so i doubt the transcripts will be much use to them. but yeah i'll have to start preparing pretty soon, and on another side note, only your first degree counts, doesnt matter if you have masters/PhD/post doc, etc if you have less than a 2.1 you dont get in (and you can do phd etc on 2.2 in alot of places, but you dont get into GEM in ireland, not even UL)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

You sound like you're deadly craic boy, we should go out on the pi55 some time this year, I don't bother doing anything either

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

See, I dont believe one word of the original post. Seems very troll-sh to me!

Sully wrote: »
    See, I dont believe one word of the original post. Seems very troll-sh to me!

whats not to believe? want me to post my transcripts or something lol? what provoked you to say that i was trolling?, ive had a pm asking about more so it seems genuine to other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

We're gonna cause wreck around the place this year boys

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

whats not to believe? want me to post my transcripts or something lol? what provoked you to say that i was trolling?, ive had a pm asking about more so it seems genuine to other people

Didnt you once tell us you cheated in your Leaving Cert and got away with it? :)

wouldnt be me im afraid

Oh okay. Guess you both have very similar posting styles and habbits :) Carry on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Oh okay. Guess you both have very similar posting styles and habbits :) Carry on!

Wow OP You seem great, my arse!

Seriously, you're bragging about getting through college without going in, well done son your officially a complete and utter waster. Grow the FCUK up.

I'll agree with you on some things though alright, it is very managable to get through your first year without doing a tap of work. It doesn't justify not turning up and not doing anything though. There are people who may not get into courses that facilitate people like you.. You don't know it but there could be someone somewhere who does what the degree you're "not in" college for and getting your lazy ass accepted into WIT has just denied them a place. Bet that's going to be your daddies hard earned money well spent. Get off your arse and pursue the course you want and challenge yourself.

What you said about swanning around for the first three years in complete and utter bollix. You may not get graded on your results of the first three years when it comes to your degree but you do get have to apply what you learned in the first three years, well as much of it as possible to your fourth year project in order to achieve a 1:1.

Look the point is that there are very few people who really want to listen about your adventures out of college last year so unless you actually have something to contribute, information wise to the forum then scadaddle. Nice to see the recession is really pushing young people in college to get as highly qualified as their abilities allow.

Complete rubbish thread with no point what so ever.

/rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Sparkles:)

Sugar i do imagine you're for serious and good job, you're obviously a clever person...

I just have some issues, now i'm heading into second year in a course i love, and i found first year pretty easy, but that's just me, i love my course, i study and go to my lectures. i also find time to hit the dome on mondays, (what was RIP) fletchers on tuesdays, harveys wednesday and club/soc night outs on thursday and i too was back in cork for the weekend! It was a great year

not everyone has it that easy, IMHO i feel you are being rude with how you regard you're fathers money we're in a recession and not everyone has the luxiury 'wreckless' spending.

If you want to do something do it, don't deminish other peoples hard work just because you think its an achivement not to put effort in.

"The greater the difficulty, the greater the glory"

On another note, if there are any in coming first years (whom havent been put off by ranting at this stage) that want any questions answered, we've all been there and i'm sure there are no silly questions. By all means drop us a line

Sparkles xxxxxxxxxx

Indeed it was in the end. Same individual who was previously sitebanned has now had his alternative account sitebanned also.

Since this topic still has no purpose..

Topic Closed