Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shane lowery in wgc

• 06-08-2009 5:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭

How did shane lowery manage to qualify for a WGC? Thought there were no invites and didnt think that an Irish Open would get you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

He qualified by winning the Irish Open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Wouldn't have won an intermediate scratch cup with todays score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

f22 wrote: »
    Might have if it was held on that course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mccutchie

Adam Scott had a 78 also and former open champ Ben Curtis had a 77 and Rory had a 75. I think Lowry is being judged a tad harshly. This is a massive tournament the week before the USPGA.

Lets not forget this man has won an irish open as an amateur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Paud.....

ya people are judging him too quickly....espically in his rookie year.....he still has plenty time to prove that he is a top player.......just give him a chance.....stop knocking our own irish down when we should be givng them loads of encouragement!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

f22 wrote: »

cheap shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

on the plus side Harrington's round was something else. Putter looked good and his driving, from what I saw of it, was brilliant!

Shane will take a while to settle in. Good thing there is no cut and hopefully he will shoot better rounds over the weekend. His form so far this year suggests that tomorrow will be a much better day for him as he generally improves on a poor 1st round score on day 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭PeterJamesDoyle

Justin Rose got the same treatment when he burst onto the professional scene after his display at the British Open all those years ago. He disappeared into the golfing wilderness, but eventually found his feet in the last few years.
    Give the guy a break. What he did was a great achievement for an amateur and shouldn't be forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

i am not one to knock shane just cant believe that an irish open winner qualifies for a WGC, someone tell me i am wrong

soundsham wrote: »
    cheap shot

Meant as a joke, I've watched him many times as an amateur and am a big believer he will win again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

It was a fairly feeble opening round. The problem is how is he supposed to keep building confidence when he is finishing near bottom of the field every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

scrubber72 wrote: »
    i am not one to knock shane just cant believe that an irish open winner qualifies for a WGC, someone tell me i am wrong

A player may qualify to play in the WGC-Bridgestone Tournament in a number of ways. These are:

* Being a playing member of the last US and International Presidents Cup teams
    * Being a playing member of the last Ryder Cup team
    * Being among the top 50 ranked players on the Official World Golf Rankings (one and two weeks prior to the WFC-Bridgestone event)
    * Winning a worldwide golf event in the last year with an Official World Golf Rank Strength of at least 100
    * Being the winner of the selected tournament from the PGA Tour of Australia, the Sunshine Tour, the Asian Tour, or the Japan Golf Tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

scrubber72 wrote: »

I think the WGC invite all tour winners this year

Ozy in there first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Paud..... wrote: »
    ya people are judging him too quickly....espically in his rookie year.....he still has plenty time to prove that he is a top player.......just give him a chance.....stop knocking our own irish down when we should be givng them loads of encouragement!!!

Does he like to practice yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Can't believe people are actually surprised that he's struggling. Absolutely no shame in his performance yesterday. In fact, he was 6 over thru 6 or so yesterday, so finishing 8 over wasn't bad at all.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/lowry-learns-a-harsh-but-valuable-lesson-1853951.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I hate to see him struggling in every tournament, but..........I guess he's learning the hard way, ie. he's playing courses for the 1st time, he's playing in serious competitions every week (which is all new to him I guess), so for me its a BIG step up to what he has been used to.
    Give him a break lads/lassies, we can be very cynical at times, like the old phrase: 'the hurler on the ditch' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Would you not have a concern that if he is struggling with 0 card pressure that he is kinda screwed when it comes to needing to do well to retain the card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

I think the guy is doing pretty well all things considered. I mean its not like he had planned to turn pro this year. Had it not been for the Irish open victory he would still be an amateur and the mindset for professional golf is completely different to that of amateur even at the elite levels of amateur golf. So this alone would take a wile to get used to I would have thought. Plus all the travelling and living out of a suitcase albeit a very nice suitcase.

But I would agree that the guy has to make alot of changes to the way he approaches the game if he wishes to succeed on a weekly/monthly basis in the professional ranks. I have read that he doesnt practice as such, he chooses instead to go out and play a few holes and considers that his practice and I think that can be a good idea sometimes but you have to remember he is up against guys that get up at 06:00 everyday and go to the gym, go hit some balls, and then back to the gym again. Many of the young guys on tour and in the upper echelons of amateur golf are like machines with only one goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

I have read that he doesnt practice as such, he chooses instead to go out and play a few holes and considers that his practice
    If that's true he has no chance of competing at that level. You need to be training and on range alot if you are going to give yourself a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Wouldn't surprise me if he doesn't practice on a range, in Esker his home club they don't have much of a range and he's a member in my club at Tullamore and i've never seen him on our range. I think this will all come to him, he will realise that he needs to make a big step from being a top amateur to being a top pro. I'm sure his management will guide him through his step too. Is Manchip still his coach or do they use different coaches on tour or what is the story there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Can't believe people are actually surprised that he's struggling. Absolutely no shame in his performance yesterday. In fact, he was 6 over thru 6 or so yesterday, so finishing 8 over wasn't bad at all.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/lowry-learns-a-harsh-but-valuable-lesson-1853951.html

He was +2 through 6...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

fullstop wrote: »
    He was +2 through 6...

Fair ****s, got the stats arseways, but he was +5 thru 9 so i stand by the point im making.

He currently lies second bottom on plus 10 after four holes.

Two rounds of 78 to finish on 16 over, horrendous stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bostoncommon

STATS Round 1 Round 2 TOTAL RANK* EAGLES -- -- 0 N/A BIRDIES 1 -- 1 T77 PARS 8 10 18 T75 BOGEYS 9 8 17 1 DOUBLE BOGEYS -- -- 0 N/A OTHER -- -- 0 N/A DRIVING ACCURACY 29 36 32.1 79 DRIVING DISTANCE 290.0 337.0 313.5 T17 PUTTS PER ROUND 33 33 33.0 T77 PUTTS PER GIR 2.111 2.000 2.063 78 GREENS IN REG 50 39 44.4 T74 SAND SAVES -- 33 25.0 T54

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭PeterJamesDoyle

Judging by some of the posts, is Lowry a likeable character? We're world known for our hospitality, but when it comes to supporting our own, we can be a bunch of begrudgers. This is the second thread since his Irish Open win where the guy is being ridiculed.

He is a great player, but I think he would have been better off playing the Walker Cup and getting himself ready/fit for the the tour instead of jumping in feet first. Harrington and Mcguinley both advised him to play in the Walker Cup. I think he has been given some very bad advice in the past and is only now trying to organise himself. (getting an experenced caddy etc.) He will need a year or two to find his feet.

Maybe a few weeks away from Offaly might help?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Maybe a few weeks away for Offaly might help?

How is sending Offaly away for a few weeks going to help!

He is a great player, but I think he would have been better off playing the Walker Cup and getting himself ready/fit for the the tour instead of jumping in feet first. Harrington and Mcguinley both advised him to play in the Walker Cup. I think he has been given some very bad advice in the past and is only now trying to organise himself. (getting an experenced caddy etc.) He will need a year or two to find his feet.
    Agreed. I think he rushed his decision, probably with sponsors money in front of his face. He should have stayed on and played Walker Cup as advised.
    I don't think anybody on here is having a go at the lad. We'd just like to see him put in a couple of half decent performances, for his confidence if nothing else. From what I've seen of him since turning pro he hasn't displayed much patience or good course management. That will come with time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭mack flyer

typical of us irish the way we knock our own....I was in the local last week and there were a few guys talking about Bobby Robson dying and it was like these guys were related to him the way they were crying into their pints..half an hour later shane lowry came up in conversation and they were all sniggering that he missed another cut...This was in a pub not 10 minutes from lowrys front door..
    Now dont get me wrong Bobby Robson came accross as a nice guy but i could not believe these lads knocking their own..

To all the hurlers on the ditch

1...he will make it on tour..He come from good stock and will hang in there.

2..give him support and not stick...shane along with 8 or 10 golfers from ireland in the last 10 years have won on tour and for shane to win one as an am and not a pro was all the better in my book

mack flyer wrote: »
    typical of us irish the way we knock our own....I was in the local last week and there were a few guys talking about Bobby Robson dying and it was like these guys were related to him the way they were crying into their pints..half an hour later shane lowry came up in conversation and they were all sniggering that he missed another cut...This was in a pub not 10 minutes from lowrys front door..
    Now dont get me wrong Bobby Robson came accross as a nice guy but i could not believe these lads knocking their own..

To all the hurlers on the ditch

1...he will make it on tour..He come from good stock and will hang in there.

2..give him support and not stick...shane along with 8 or 10 golfers from ireland in the last 10 years have won on tour and for shane to win one as an am and not a pro was all the better in my book

Your only as good as you last round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭mack flyer

if everyone judged kerry by "your only as good as your last round" they should have been 50/1 against the dubs last monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Your only as good as you last round.

Thats total rubbish

I don't think anyone here is mocking him or doing anything other than hoping he does well.

It's well known he was never one for the practice ground so hopefully being 23 shots behind the leader after two rounds will give him a kick up the hole.

Nobody more than himself wants to see him at the foot of any field.

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Thats total rubbish

People should stop harping on about him winning the Irish Open it was great I agree and I was delighted for him. Shane knows that he isnt playing well at the moment, he also knows that he is capable of playing and winning. His job now is to play and SCORE well every week.

mack flyer wrote: »
    if everyone judged kerry by "your only as good as your last round" they should have been 50/1 against the dubs last monday
    the difference is Lowery knows how to win and Dublin dont.

lmao...... so true:D
    and chances are lowery will win again before the dubs do, in football anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

doing a bit better today one over( 8pars and a bogey) after nine for a grand total of 17 over.

i say give the lad time. the win at baltray gives him two years to get it right and now that he has a pro caddy it has to improve his chances, with all due respects to shaper.

as for begrudgery against our own, sure its like a national pastime if only it was an olympic sport we would be laughing:p

72 yesterday nice round would be great if he could shoot E today or -1 for that bit of self belief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

another 72 today improved by one position. total 300( avg 4 rounds of 75). keep improving thats all he can do.

finish with 2 / 72's he should be happy with that and the birdie on the last..

Yes indeed he finished way stronger than he started, and the fact that he banks just over 24k. Nice work when you can get over a grand for every shot you shoot over par.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭parkerpen

We're Irish. Now let's wish all our Irish golfers the best in the PGA and other tournaments and let's hope Ireland is well represented in Ryder Cup in 2010.