Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Organising a Sportive - Your Preferences

• 05-08-2009 8:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭

After witnessing first hand the success of the Tour de Kilkenny (Again congrats to all involved fantastic day out ) It got me thinking that my local club should organise one next year, so i would like to ask all on here for your opinions re dates & times ,routes & distances, food & cost.

Dates and Times
    Realistically we are limited to summer months and it is nigh impossible to guarantee a dry weekend but is may too early for a sportive as generally the leisure rider will only consider getting back on the bike from april onwards and probably wouldnt be prepared for a long 160km+ event.i.e Where do boardsies see a window in the current leisure/sportive calendar
    A mass start is probably essential as it gets the event out of the highest traffic area in the safest manner and is easier for marshals to manage.
    The biggest question is Saturday Vs Sunday. IMO Saturday works best as it allows the overnighters to travel down on the friday, ride the saturday and have all day sunday for recovery.
    An early start on saturday allows people to travel home that evening but does too early a start preclude some people from driving down in the morning.
    Would a 10am start be a good compromise or would it mean some people would be out on the course too long 7-8 pm?

Distances and Routes
    I think 3 route/distance options is required for all levels and the 50km 100km and 160km distances seem to be the way to go. However the current route i have in mind is close to 180km in length with a 110km option and 45km option. Would you feel that 180km with excess of 2500m ascent (mapmyride calculated) is too long.
    I also believe that it is important for the route to be original and not contain stretches of road/climbs used in other events.

Food
    What are the nutritional requirements of the seasoned leisure cyclists. 2 short water/ biscuit stops either side of a larger indoor sit down stop with tea,coffee, sandwiches and cake at approx. halfway. of course all stops would be optional and would it fair to trust the honesty of the average cyclist that stops are for cyclists who have paid.

Facilities
    Secure parking facilities and warm showers are the minimum standard here bit is there else anything you would like to see added?

Cost/ Freebies
    What is a fair cost for a good sportive/leisure tour? 20-25 euros seems a reasonable amount for licensed cyclists but what do you expect to get to bring home for that t-shirts, medals, certificates or just sore legs and a sense of achievement.

Charity
    Is it necessary to have a charity involvement to bring the punters in and give a specified amount say 5 euros of each entry fee to the nominated charity and make sponsorship cards available for anyone who wishes to raise extra money.

Sorry for the long winded post but would appreciate any feedback just to get the ball rolling in the planning stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

My extremely personal preference would be for something similar to the Tour of Louth sportive, i.e. figure of eight 100km route with tea & sangwiches back at base, i.e. at 50km and finish. First half controlled by pace car to keep bunch together, enforced 5 min stop at 50km, then car pulls away after a further 5-10km ish to leave a nice 40-45km hammerfest including a big hill. Gold/silver/bronze medals for time categories (<3hr, <4hr, finish full distance).

Preferably an uphill sprint finish with KOM-style road markings in the last 500m.

Those that don't want to rush can take a longer mid-way stop and cruise around. Those who just want 50km can stop half way.

Again, just my preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

I'm still new to this whole sportive thing but last one I did was the Tour of Meath. Compared to the W200, these guys had almost everything covered. Marshals everywhere. Prob a bit of overkill but honestly I only had to stop at one junction and the route crossed a fair few roads, everyone one with at least one marshal.

Food wise more is better than less. For the W200 I started out early so didn't hit the queues but it really was a case of check the arm band then decide if they like you to give you food. Very rushed. I can understand somewhat when the event is that popular but a little extra food per person isn't going to cost that much.
    Some sandwiches and bars are good. Cake would be a huge winner! If there are long climbs, then energy stop at the top could be an idea.

Distance wise, the multiple rides are a must. Two start times is probably not a bad time. 1 for 180/110 option and another for the 45 one. The 45 route is likely to have a completely different type of person riding who you don't want to scare off. A large group of people who think they are the next TdF winner can be somewhat intimidating to family with small kids.

Long route with climbing I'm all for. Once it isn't too close to the W200 then it should be grand. The Sean Kelly advertised at the end of the W200 so maybe that is an idea for this?

Actually having some sort of a hook would help. The W200 has the hills. Tour of Meath for me was a flat route (although Ireland isn't as flat a Google makes you believe!) and then commute there and back giving the large distance. Kildare next week is the only other one in cycling distance that was advertised properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I think key is going to be looking at the calendar to see what weekend isn't occupied with a rival event. The W200 is by no means a benchmark, just about every other sportive is better organised than that. Regarding charity, I do not think it is necessary and I don't think that is the reason most people do the events. Of course it is nice if you can support one as a side effect or if people have the option and well done to the lads in Kilkenny on that one. Many of those that do have a charity element AFAIK give the entire entry fee to the charity and rely on sponsorship and donations to supply the food etc. AFAIK for Kilkenny the lads did have to buy stuff like the food, maybe pay for the marshalling (it was certainly professional) but otherwise it was volunteers and all the "profit" went to the charity AFAIK.

€20-25 is reasonable, I would not go above this. There are a lot of these events.

Where in the country are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Hi. My tuppence worth.

You mentioned early May. No problem there, as long as you don't clash with Mt Leinster challenge.
    Choice of distance/climbing - all good. Would be a good run in for WW200 and Etape/Marmotte.
    Like the idea of medals/time standards.
    What I expect for my money.
    Water stop (man in van) every 50k. 2 feed stations on 160/180km route. At 1/3 and 2/3 stage, but after the clims, not before. Food - nice variety of sandwiches,cakes, beverages. But coke and jellies/chocoalte would be a nice touch.
    Showers at finish would be great alaong with salty hot food - TourdeBurren and Mt Leinster Challenge got rave reviews on food quality - talk to them.
    Cost 20-25, but if there was showers and maybe a massage/rub down then up to 40 quid.

Best of luck.
    Where are you thinking for route?
    Slieve Blooms would be nice.

Day - must be a saturday for me. Sunday precludes socialising afterward. Also it is terrible driving home after with tired limbs, and then head to work following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Date, will depend where you are as being a Ci club you cannot clash without permission of other club if you in same provence so have a look at cal and get in early request for date.

Distance, you know your area and the roads will decide where you can send people, also what can the club cope with re manpower.This will also effect whether Sat or Sun if you can manage Sat traffic etc v quiet Sun roads

Charity, can help with manpower,support from Bussiness.(all our supplies for Food/water stops and Post ride BBQ for the Westernlakes Polka Dot were given FOC because money was going to Charity.)

We charged 35 euro for Ci members and for this riders got
    Route Maps
    2 Water/Fruit/Bar stops
    1 main feedstop Sandwiches(made on spot)Cake, Biscuits Tea,Coffee.
    Post ride BBQ
    WLPD Tshirt.
    Each route had Leadcar and Broomwagon(6vech)
    Other vechicles on road were
    Mechanic Van
    Red Cross Ambulance
    Marshalls car(they moved about)
    Just a word of advice and I'm sure MCC lads will agree , be prepared to put in an awful lot of time on this if you start the ball rolling.
    Our 3 route took 18 hours to mark(I did have alot of TOI, Junior Tour, Ras Connacht and WCW100km markings to counteract) and a hell of alot of paint. People expect the 3 routes to be arked in seperate colours even when on same roads.
    But it is worth it when its all over when you see how people enjoy your local roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Personal preference would be Saturday, to make a weekend of it and have a few pints of carbohol afterwards telling yarns about how that one time, in cycle camp, this fred touched the wheel of the lad in front and veered across the road into the path of a wild bore (sic).

Distance - yeah 3 different ones I suppose, or maybe 2 - 70/80 and 170/180 or so would probably be plenty of choice - although depending on the roads it might be more useful to guestimate saddle time - e.g. 2 hours, 4 hours, 7 hours. I dunno.

Foodstops will be better than the W200, can't really end up much less organised even if you try! :) Sandwiches are good, plenty of water points, not just 1 tap. Coffee and tea are vital if it's anyway cold or wet. Sugarry things like snickers and jelly beans too.

A tshirt would be better than a medal. You look silly wearing a medal around town, but there's always need for tshirts.

Cost - something around 30 euro would be enough I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

The only other tip I could add is motorbike cops are very handy for marshalling something like this, much more nimble and easy to get around a group with. Even motorbike Marshall would do the job.

Again I would echo the sentiment that the option for a rub after is a good idea. I popped my knee last year at the Sean Kelly and luckily enough a massage after sorted it out for long enough for me to get to a physio.

Not sure on the distance and climbing aspect, if you are going for a longer distance than is normal I would think you might have it slightly 'easier' to encourage people to do it, on the other hand there maybe some people who wish to conqeour a climb if it's named on the course e.g. The Sally Gap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Junior wrote: »
    Not sure on the distance and climbing aspect, if you are going for a longer distance than is normal I would think you might have it slightly 'easier' to encourage people to do it, on the other hand there maybe some people who wish to conqeour a climb if it's named on the course e.g. The Sally Gap

Indeed. If I don't see the words "challenge" or "mountain" in the name then my attention tends to wander.

Personally I find that most Irish events go a bit too long on sweet foods and don't offer enough savoury. Especially towards the end of a long ride, I get tired of the taste of sugar and also want salt to replace what I've sweated out. Sliced fruit is always very welcome too - they had sliced oranges and melon at the Tour of Kilkenny which was a real bonus.

Oh yes, medals are a bit Special Olympics in my opinion - I'd rather a t-shirt or a water-bottle or a cap or something. Saturdays are better if there's going to be a lot of travelling involved. Evidence from the Sean Kelly suggests that I will pay up to €40 but they are giving out jerseys this year - €20-5 is more appropriate to an event where there are no commemorative gifts but I guess you have to figure out what food, marshalling etc is going to cost and figure your entry price from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Lets see.... For me I agree with most points above-

Dates and times: I think Saturday is the best day for events, re date depends where you are in the country really.
    Distance and routes: Yes, three distances gives all interested a way to get involved, I think the shortest one be as easy as possible, the middle one should have at least one (manageable) climb as an incentive and have a good mix for the main event. Again depends where you are and who your competing against for competitors. As mentioned above try not to restart after the food break with a big climb. This happened in Kilkenny and while the climb was fine I found it very annoying, full belly and climbing....meh. I do not think the finish should be up hill the last 2/5 km should be a cool down so people finish and wheel in with a smile on their face a bit of pace in their bike.
    Food: The usual, as mentioned above fresh sliced fruit big plus (watermelon was amazing), tea coffee and water. As ROK said water and base food every 50km is good too.
    Facilities: on top of what was said above & a rub down if it (the cycle) is long or hard.
    Cost/ Freebies: You pay for what you get, $20 base and add after that. Definitely need a t shirt or a water bottle, medals (unless real gold) are a tad naff. They (t's or btls) are great advertising for the event/ cause and the reality is there are so many sportives now your in competition for entries so unless your the Ring Of Kerry you gotta attract people. I wear my West Cork 200 t shirt all the time, its the nicest one yet this year and has started many a conversation about it... job done.
    Charity: Well I ain't gonna line your pocket! it can be for club or charity, certainly makes me hand over the cash easier.

Thats just me though, you should post up what part of the country your in as that will dictate the most important parts date and type of course

This maybe going off topic a bit, so feel free to completely ignore.

But an interesting route would be key for me.
    I am not sure are there any sportifs in The Beara Peninsula, The Silvermins, or the Slieve Blooms - but all of these areas would have the type of route that would appeal to me.
    Not sure would I do another Wicklow sportif, in that most of us train in Wicklow and then do the WW200, so another one in that region would need to be different to attract a crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭bagus

Something to bear in mind, the Stephen Roche sportive was on May 9th this year (2009). I'd imagine that'll be a yearly event.

stephenrochetourdecure . com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

ROK ON wrote: »
    This maybe going off topic a bit, so feel free to completely ignore.

But an interesting route would be key for me.
    I am not sure are there any sportifs in The Beara Peninsula, The Silvermins, or the Slieve Blooms - but all of these areas would have the type of route that would appeal to me.
    Not sure would I do another Wicklow sportif, in that most of us train in Wicklow and then do the WW200, so another one in that region would need to be different to attract a crowd.

There are certainly a few in the Slieve Blooms, organised by Carlow CC & Wolftrapp...I think. They're not huge but they are good fun and well organised :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭shaungil

Swords having one in late September. Details on site on a Sunday and in Ballyboghill so opportunities for post match pints minimal.

http://www.swordscc.com/

Good course though and have no idea on how well organised as haven't done one before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Carlow road club run a Slieve Bloom Chal in May. They have their Humpty 100km on 16th aug.http://www.carlowcycling.org