Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kitchen Sync @ Kennedys

• 05-08-2009 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭

9009089001a11224697814l.jpg

29th August 2009
    The Underground @ Kennedys
    Westland Row,
    Dublin 2

9009089001a11363853192l.jpg

Doors 10pm
    Admission: E10

If you are not aware the Kitchen-Sync is an online radio station set up by the members of boards. We are going to use this event as a meet up for all users of the Music forum, so if you’re a regular poster or just a reader feel free to come along. We are urging people to get in as early as possible Doors open at 10pm and we would like to have the place full for the night. On show are three excellent DJ's, all members of boards and DJ's on the Kitchen-Sync.
    The music will range from Tech House to Minimal with Steve capping the night off with a Live set performed on the electribes!

Members of Boards can get a reduced admission of E8 by sending me a PM.

Add us to Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

841296265a11335044002l.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Congrats for organsiing this lads, should be a great night. I'll definitely be there, hope we can get a good turnout from the Boards.ie crew - will certainly be great to put a few faces to names.

So who's coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Ill be there for definite anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 drewdo

ill be there to help wreck the place!:D

Really lookin forward to this, will be a great night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Had hoped to go to this but it looks like I'll be heading to Get Loaded in the Park in London now.

Doors now 11pm!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Are any of us going to meet up for a few drinks beforehand? Maybe just in the Bar in Kenneddy's for a few pints before going downstairs to the gig?

Yeah good idea, id be up for that. Ill need a pint or two to calm the nerves :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

Cant wait for this, there better be a mad session after so we can get properly aquainted!

Zascar wrote: »
    Are any of us going to meet up for a few drinks beforehand? Maybe just in the Bar in Kenneddy's for a few pints before going downstairs to the gig?

Was just talking about that the other day, sounds like a runner!
    SteveDon wrote: »
    Cant wait for this, there better be a mad session after so we can get properly aquainted!

Anyone got a place in mind? sounds good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭franklyshocked

So just reminding all Boardies....
    Saturday night is the first Kitchen-Sync LIVE event. Featuring fellow boards members at the decks and an opportunity to meet up and put faces to those screen names. If thats a good idea for some of you!
    Boards members can get into the gig for €8, but you have to PM Vinyljunkie as he's running the guestlist for the night.
    From what I've been told the plan is to meet in Kennedys From 9pm with the gig Kicking off @ 11
    with a special Live set from myself (Captain Random) before passing over to Sean for some quality Minimal Techno and finally the excellent, no need for introduction, but there's one anyway, Steve Donaldson, to do some serious speaker damage till the wee hours.
    This is going to be a very fun night. Hope to see ye all there!
    sync.jpg

So guys who exactly is coming to this? So far, as far as I know it's:
    (Please help me fill in misssing and extra info)

Username / Real name
    Zascar / Colly
    Vinyl Junkie / Sean C
    Franklyshocked / Enda
    Darolxar / ?
    Joker77 / Neil Hudson
    SteveDon / Steve Donaldson
    Drewdop / ?
    Davei141 / ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭donkeykingkong

Wish i was going to it but im away to london tomorrow for southwestfour and get loaded in the park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Will try get in myself but I im playing a party that night, might slip in for a while and not drink so I can drive out to the session after.....

I have Sean Conlon (Kitchen Sync) on my show on Friday night on Power FM between 9PM and 11PM, we'll be having a little chat about how it all came about and he'll be doing a guestmix aswell....

Look forward to it....

Ive a good few mates heading, Johnny who plays on a friday is coming down from sligo for it!

Im off to London today for the weekend for SW4 and the after party on saturday and Get loaded in the Park on Sunday woop woop :)
    Wishin ye all the best at the gig in Kennedys hope its a massive success and ye rock the roof off the place, no doubt ye will. Good luck tonight on power fm aswell sean :p

Drewdo/ Andy Mc

Ill be there, few of my buds headin in to, Im gonna try get in early to meet ye's all for a few scoops before hand!

Good stuff really looking forward to it now, just finalizing the visuals for tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭HighFinance

Good luck with this lads. Unlikely to make it as i've a couple of other engagements tonight but if fate deals me a decent hand i might pop in late...

If not, next time i hope.

BennyHiFi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Clank

Ill probably be in, been listening to the station for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭keithkk16

Good luck with the gig tonight boys unfortunately i cant make it but hopefully there will be plenty more more Kitchen-Sync nights and ill definitely be at the next one.

What an epic night random sean and steve all played blinders and the dance floor was full all night, fair play lads and great crowd.

Great night lads - I was just so impressed, fair play to Sean and the lads for setting it up, it was brilliant. Great to meet you all finally, hope this will be the first of many.

I really was seriously impressed with the music all night long from start to finish, real quality all the way. I've heard Enda play in the beacon before but last night he really stepped it up and was cranking out some really great quality house and got the place going quickly. Sean C came on with a cracking selection of excellent tech house and techno, a savage set, everyone said so. And then SteveDon came on and just had jaws dropping from the word go. I would have been bowled over if it was a DJ set, but to actually think that every single strack was produced by himself, is just staggering.

I was not drinking cause I was still fooked from the night, but so glad I came in cause it was a very good night. Well done everyone, great to meet you all, can't wait for the next one!
    Colly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Savage night alright lads, after reading Z's review, was no way under the impression the tracks were home made, so to speak, excellent stuff.

I was out from Fri night though and all day yesterday and last night, good times!

Yeah was an excellent night all round, thanks to everyone who came in and thanks to Enda and Steve!

Back to Bed

It was a damn shame the wifi wasn't working coz I wanted to do a live broadcast from the mixer which would have been savage.
    I had an absolute ball last night. I got a great response from everyone for my set and it was deadly to see people dancing from the word go. Great to see Sean whopping out the tunes to a decent crowd and Steve is just a gifted musician.
    Glad to see all the effort paid off and hopefully we can get another Kitchen-Sync Showcase in the next month or two with some more DJ's from the roster.
    I recorded my set so I'll try to post a link for yez during the week.
    Shattered. Heading for bed. :P

Random.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭romarr

was a great night, music was excellent !

Any Pics or Vids from last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I've two decent enough pics,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Lucyx

Fantastic sets all nite, fantastic tunes guys. Well done.

Looking forward to the next gig. Really had a great nite.

Jay D wrote: »
    I've two decent enough pics,

They are some excellent shots man.
    Any pics or vids of set at the start :(

Cheers for them pics J Dee, We will be defiantly doing this again sometime. I'm itching to get more gigs I really enjoyed last night.

I have a rough set list if anyone wants it I can send it to them on a PM. My only worry for the night was the lack of a Booth Monitor meant I couldn't really hear my mixing I kept asking a mate what it was sounding like on the dance floor. I heard him scream AVVVV IT so I presumed it was ok :D

Keep the pictures coming, Im asking around on facebook too so ill post them here if I get any.

Credit to the three boys last night, Captain, SeanC and SteveDon, fairlplay to ye's. Well done on the whole night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Clank

My only worry for the night was the lack of a Booth Monitor meant I couldn't really hear my mixing I kept asking a mate what it was sounding like on the dance floor. I heard him scream AVVVV IT so I presumed it was ok :D

Yeah I saw that alright, they normally have one in there though don't they?

Had a great night, roll on the next one.

Yeah it was sitting on the floor :( . Just thinking back im raging I never recorded my set would have loved to listen to it back.

So who would be up for the next gig? Same theme, possibly same location?

Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Same here be class to get another one going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

delighted to hear it went well lads. sorry i missed it but Ibiza called etc!

just back from cocoon. Can´t even put into words how fcuking amazing it was!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

jtsuited wrote: »
    just back from cocoon. Can´t even put into words how fcuking amazing it was!!!!!!!

Aaaaahhhh. Cocoon. Its a whole other level really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Lucyx

So who would be up for the next gig? Same theme, possibly same location?

Absolutely me !!! Love the theme and thats a grand little location. I have a good spot in there so I'd be very happy with that.

Is this thread gonna be the permanent spot for upcoming gigs??
    It'd be handy if it was lads.

Well done lads, be great to run a regularr kitchen-sync night if they continue to be successful. Be nice for all the djs who have been putting the time in over the last few months to get a gig