Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fear...test date and nerves!!

• 04-08-2009 2:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

So during lunch I got an email to say my driving test is on the 9th Sept....FEAR!!

So let's be confident and imagine that I am fully prepared for it by the time the 9th rolls around....has anyone an tips for nerves?

I just know my nerves will get the better of me. Does the Q&A session (assuming I know the As) before you actually get in the car help settle you down?

I already have Flutterbys in my stomach :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭IrishPhoenix

I know exactly how you feel. My foot was actually shaking on the clutch! Honest to God! I was a bag of nerves!

To be brutal, I found that it takes a few minutes after you start driving to settle down. When you get in you're obsessing about taking off okay and uber-nervous and in my case, feeling absolutely nauseous.

Give it five minutes and you'll have settled down some. However I didn't feel myself again until the car was back and stopped at the test centre without incident.

I got my date as well and even the thought of it is making me shake, even though I only failed by one mark last time.

Best of luck!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭not14talk

I have the opposite problem, I'm too confident about my driving thus I am not checking my mirrors some times switching down my gears before I break doing stuff that people normally do after they pass their test but haven't even sat a driving test yet. I will probably be a bag of nerves doing my test on the 26th of this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭jaffa20

In the same boat OP. My test is 2 weeks today and i don't think i'm ready at all. I hate my test route (wicklow) as it is a pain in the ass to drive in. I'm just going to go for it though and if i fail, it won't be the end of the world as at least i will know where i went wrong for next time. Really want to pass though so it will be practice practice practice for the next few weeks:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 rebelpixie

hey all
    I failed my test last week, it was my first one. I was so nervous in the days leading up to it, so much so that I began making silly mistakes while driving. one thing I learned is to forget about them and move on. think about what you would do again in that situation. get plenty of sleep the night before. I couldn't sleep for ages. once I got in the centre, I wanted to do my best and I was calm enough in the car. my examiner was very nice.that helped too. rescue remedy is great. after the examiner asked me the rules of the road, he told me to go out to the car and he would meet me there. so I ran out and had one quick spray of the rescue remedy!

I had the same attitude jaffa-it's a form of assessment that you can use to help with learning how to drive-I know now that the vehicle controls are my major problem. getting my date made me practice more. I applied again last week and I haven't got my date yet. once I get that I'll have the motivation to get cracking on the practice again. best of luck to ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

I really have the best instructor...I was out with him for 2 hours last night. He says it will be intense but we can be ready for my test! I told him I am worried that no matter how ready I am my nerves will destroy me.

I can walk into a club in wild fancy dress and chat to everyone there and not be shy but put me in a one-on-one situation and I go to pieces....eg Went to a new doc last week and 1st thing he does is take my blood pressure. He looks all worried and says 'ooh that's a bit high'. I told him it was probably coz I was nervous so 20 mins later just before I leave he reads it again and it was perfectly normal!!!

I know if I make one mistake in front of the tester it will destroy me for the rest of it :(
    Not to woory Rebelpixie, as my OH said to me....don't worry you can resit it, we won't lock ya up for failing.

Is rescue remedy good? I just imagined it might space you out a bit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Treat the tester as if s/he were a sat nav telling you where to go next.
    Ha ha I like that tip!! I will defo use that!
    I would not personally recommend taking anything like rescue remedy. You want to be as alert and observant as possible during your test.
    That's what I was afraid of...being zonked!!
    If you make a mistake, don't get frustrated and make a string of errors.

This is the hardest part for me as I am so so hard on myself for the smallest things...but my instructor is helping me with this so finger crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 rebelpixie

rescue remedy works for me-different strokes for different folks and all that! Alright so you might make a mistake, but he could mark it as a grade 1, which is minor. you just never know. show him how you can recover from your mistake. still waiting on date for 2nd test. I agree about the tester being like sat nav-the instructions are as clear as day. I tried to break it down into tiny steps- turnabout, did it, move on. reverse, did it, move on. And the time flies!

I had a 2hour successful driving lesson last night and was really happy when I was finished! We did some reversing and alot of work on changing up and down gears. I seem to get flusted when changing down gears and braking so I am glad we have started to work on that!!

I have another 2 hour lesson on Saturday afternoon and reading homework to do in the mean time!!

My OH has gotton me a Hypnosis thing from Paul McKenna...one is accelerated learning and the other is about being confident in your abilities and you listen to them when you are going to sleep. My OH swears by the first one...says it really helped him with his finals! Hopefully this will help with my nerves!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Ahoy!

My advice would be pay attention to what the tester is saying and behave as if the test is an ordinary driving session with a parent/instructor.

Good luck with your test. ;)

I had a two really good lessons this week...both 2hr sessions. Definatly starting to feel it more naturally now!

However....we were driving along on Tuesday and my instructor goes 'pull in along the curb at that gate for a second' and i started to beut got flustered as there were LOADS of L drivers/school cars pulling in and out of the gate and I scraped the curb!! Turns out the 'big gate' was the enterance to my test centre!!! Scarlet!!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭autograph

Best of luck to you all.;):):cool:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

When you're practicing, pick a song/tune you can sing/hum in your head. Something mellow and simple, some catchy pop tune. Tell yourself that you're going to associate that song with driving calmly and with doing things like checking your mirrors. Then, when you're driving for the test, just sing your song.

Also remember that you don't have your license now. The very worst that can possibly happen is that you'll leave the test center exactly the same way you entered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Sunjammer

Arrive at the test centre about 15 minutes early walk in and check out the waiting room and the toilet (use it if you have to) then go back out and go for a walk around the car park but stay out of the waiting room until 5 minutes before your test time because others biting their nails, uncontrollably shaking their legs, rattling their appointment letters etc will make you worse. Bring an old magizine or someting to read or even just to look at the pictures in order to keep your mind off the test and you'll be fine ;)

Good luck with the test :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 goosey gander

hi guys good luck to any1 doing the test!!!! The first time i went to do it i freaked out so much i told the tester to get out of the car and i drove off!!!!:D It took me 2 years to pluck up the courage to do it agaiin!!!! Now i have my full licence but i will never forget the nerves i felt doing that bloody test!!!! The only thing that kept me calm was knowing that a good friend of mine who is a successful drifter failed his driving test 5 times!!!! and he is one of the best drivers i Know!!!! So i told myself its no big deal to fail cause even the best drivers fail it!!;)

The first time i went to do it i freaked out so much i told the tester to get out of the car and i drove off!!!!:D

Oh wow!! That's sorta what I want to do!!! :D

I did lots of driving over the weekend...even conquered the Walkinstown roundabout twice!!!

I have started to cut out again the odd time which I thought I was well past :( but I did just move from my instructors car to my car a week ago so maybe that's why?!

Cannot believe how close my test is!! Its the wednesday after my birthday weekend so think I will be having a birthday sans alcohol so I can practice driving as much as possible with no hangover!!

giddybootz wrote: »
    I have started to cut out again the odd time which I thought I was well past :(

This actually happened to me the last time I had a lesson, I had just gotten into the car and I went to move off and I cut out dont know what it was because it was the 1st time I had cut out in about a month.

I have my test on this Wednesday and I the only person I have told is my instructor as if I fail I dont want to tell everyone I have failed though I know one of my mates is doing his test this week as well but I'm hoping that we don't have it on at the same time. Scarily enough I'm not nervous yet though I probably will be on the day of it. I'm more afraid that I will not understand some of the questions they ask me and answer wrong even though I know the question, odd I know.

not14talk wrote: »
    I have my test on this Wednesday and I the only person I have told is my instructor as if I fail I dont want to tell everyone I have failed

Yeah I said I wouldn't tell people too but I can never keep my own secrets so like 4 of my mates know, plus my oh, his folks and my folks!!

I know exactly what I will have trouble on...progression and positioning. Working my butt off on them now. Even going 30kmph feels like I am flying so getting up to 50kmph is well scary!!

giddybootz wrote: »
    Yeah I said I wouldn't tell people too but I can never keep my own secrets so like 4 of my mates know, plus my oh, his folks and my folks!!

I know exactly what I will have trouble on...progression and positioning. Working my butt off on them now. Even going 30kmph feels like I am flying so getting up to 50kmph is well scary!!

Its been hard not letting anyone know as I stupidly told them when I applied for my test and was giving out I had been waiting so long but once I got my date I shut up and I have started to lie now when people ask me about my test saying that I was giving a date but I couldn't take it and now am at the bottom of the list ;) but im pretty sure my Dad knows my test is coming up soon.

I'm not so bad with getting my speed up but I did a pre test a few months ago and I had loads of marks on my positioning on the straight but I have worked on that so I should be ok.

There is one bit of the route I am not looking forward to and its right at the start, when you come out of the test centre there is a T junction where you have to do a hill start from minor road to a major road then speed up to 80km then after 400m you have to slow down to 60km, the road is very narrow at on point and you have to miss a pot hole around this point.

Eek where do you have your test? Shoot...I kinda thought (hoped) that I wouldn't need to go above 50kph in my test!! Yes..I now realise that is naive!

Dundalk, they are also doing up some of the roads at the moment which is a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Hey Giddy - we're test twins, mine is on September 9th too!

Starting to freak out a bit. I work away from home, so I only get to drive at the weekends, making the whole thing a really slow process. To top things off, I can only get the day of the test off, with no extra time before it. Only two weekends left at this stage! I'm terrified that I don't have enough time.

My biggest issue is probably my clutch. We have a hate-hate relationship. I've only driven three cars, but I never had the problems I have now with either of the other cars. I also find that I'm fine until I get frustrated (usually with the clutch!), and then it's just mistake after mistake.

I'm sitting my test at home, and the test centre has a very high fail rate, so I see this as a practice run (although obviously I'd love to pass).

Best of luck!

Blush_01 wrote: »
    Hey Giddy - we're test twins, mine is on September 9th too!

Yey!!! I like having a test twin!!
    Only two weekends left at this stage!

FEAR!! Only two??!! Oh lord!! I think I need about 8!!
    I also find that I'm fine until I get frustrated (usually with the clutch!), and then it's just mistake after mistake.

Ditto....except I keep changing what my 'mistake of the week' is!! One week I am grand at steering and crap at clutch and the next week it swaps!!

Really feel I have improved loads at turning corners over the weekend which I am happy about though!

Best of luck!

You too!! I have a feeling we will be chatting more on here as the 9th approaches!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭xXx-Ginny-xXx

:eek:ugh less than a week till mine...nerves are getn the better of me already:(..cant do anymore lessons either the towns closed off till the day:mad:

any1 any last minute tips..??
    only driving 3 months so if i fail ill blame that:P!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭lolli

The first time I sat my driving test I was dying with nerves, getting sick and all before it. I was terrified. I made stupid mistakes that I would never normally make. It was lashing rain and every child, person or truck that could make it difficult did. Anyway I failed! I was shaking for about 3 days after it. I was a complete mess.

Few months later I sat it again but this time I had the attitude Ok i want to pass but if i fail its not the end of the world I can do it again. I got a lesson with my instructor just before the test and hes a great man for calming people down fair play to him. I went into that test a little nervous but with the attitude that it didnt matter.

I flew the test that time so I think its all about your state of mind to be honest. Just try your best to remain cool, calm and collected. Also I would advise you not to tell many people that you are sitting the test. I had told loads of people the first time and it just added more pressure. Second time I only told my parents and boyfriend. Made so much difference.

Good luck all!

Yeah I keep letting it slip to people. It is the week after my birthday so I am not going out the weekend for my birthday like I usually would as it will all be practice, practice, PRACTICE that weekend so my mates are like 'where we going for your birthday' and I tell them I'm not going out and then I told a couple of them why!!

I can take other peoples secrets to the grave but can't shut my yapper when it's about me!!

Did a bit of reversing and turnabout work last night with my instructor which went surprisingly well! If I could just stop signalling before I check the mirrors I would be happy :/

Ginny...I got a great tip in this thread about pretending the instructor is a sat-nav just giving me directions!! Hoping that will calm me a bit on the day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 alwaysanon

Doing my test tomorrow for the 3rd time, and this time the pressure is on more than ever because i am desperate to have my full licence in time to drive to college, so basically, if i don't pass, i;ll be even more devastated than the last time.

Any last minute advice? It's a 12 30 tomorrow so time is ticking!

Passed mine today in Dundalk FULL DETAILS but I had an attitude that I was going to pass and I think that is what passed me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I nearly hit another driver on my last lesson at a roundabout cause I was not concentrating with nerves, but it might have gave me a shock cause I passed, that was in 2001. A different story last year and this time I had 20 lessons on a truck and 3 tests and was nervous at all of them.To be honest my first instruction was not telling me the right things I think, cause I changed to a different instructor and passed after only 5 lessons with him.The testers have a lot to do with it aswell cause the first 2 were like robots, where as my last guy was an absolute gentleman. I also learned on the day that my first instructors pupil could not do the test cause there was no insurance on the truck. Just imagine if that happened to me, what a plonker that instructor was!!

not14talk wrote: »
    Passed mine today in Dundalk FULL DETAILS but I had an attitude that I was going to pass and I think that is what passed me!

:D Congratulations!!! :D That's awesome!

Had a fantastic lesson up in my test area last night...really got my teeth into it and my instructor said I had improved as if i had done 6 hours practice since the night before!! Messed up 2 out of 4 hill starts but only slightly....is it a grade 3 if you roll back an inch even?

2 out of 3 practice 'reverse round corners' went really really well and the bad one was coz i was too close to pavement and had to go forward to correct!!

Woo!! I was alot better at hill starts last night!!

But now I have another question (sigk of me round here yet?):

My fully licenced driver who brings me out for practice tells me that at a big junction when I have come to a stop and i know that my set of lights have only just turned red (so I know I have a good bit of time before it gets back to green) that i should wait in neutral, rathar than in 1st with my foot down on the clutch. He says I shoud watch the crossing traffic and when it is slowing down to stop that is when I should change to 1st and be ready to go. (This is only for big junctions) This feels better as my ankle gets sore holding the clutch for long periods of time!

However, my Instructor says at a red light I should always be in 1st with my foot on clutch and ready to go.

So which is right?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

To be honest, the person who said that you should put it in neutral with your foot off the clutch if waiting for a long time sounds more correct. There's no point holding in the clutch for a long period of time unnecessarily, especially if you can guess that your lights are going to go green (e.g. if you can see the other traffic like you said).

Actually, I wish ROI had the system that they have in the UK where the lights go from red, to red + amber at the same time, to green. It would give people more warning and they would be ready to go when the light goes green.

I didn't know that about the UK...makes alot of sense alright!

My driving over the weekend was a disaster :(

Just when it had all started to come togather it all falls apart! I needed to practice my reversing around a corner and turnabout so on Sat & Sun we went to a quiet industrial estate. Driving to and from the estate (even going around the dreaded Walkinstown Roundabou) was fine but my driving in the estate was terrible. I kept making rookie mistakes and cutting out and stuff :(

It really threw me and I was getting worked up so called it a day. So now I am twice as worried....1-I kept making stupid mistakes and 2- I didn't get in a much practice as I should have as I sorta freaked out.

I have a 2hour lesson tonight but my instructor will not be impressed that I got less practice than I had said I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭xXx-Ginny-xXx

passed 2day..and giddybootz i had my pre-test saturday..did nothing right..cut out, cudn do the reversin..!!so dont let it beat u up..youll be fine :D

thanks 4 all the advice from here:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I was crap up to nearly my last lesson ( even my last come to think of it;)) but to my shock I did pass. When I started on the actual test I did not see the tester write anything so that gave me a little cofidence and made me relax a little, but it made me concentrate to keep it that way hopefully. Good luck with it.

passed 2day..

Oh wow...congratulations!! Now go rip up those L plates!!

Jimmyw....cheers for that :) I was really really down about it all day but I have a double lesson later so I hope that might make me feel a bit better!