Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do?

• 03-08-2009 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭

I'm literally just in the door from an embarrassing episode, I was in the local chipper in Clontarf and I found myself in the queue behind these two fúckwits who, having thought they were short-changed, wait for it – fifteen cents – gave a tirade of abuse to the poor Eastern European girl behind the counter. They gave her hell. It was awful, because I knew if I stuck my neck out, they’d give me a good pummelling.

These idiots even had the gall to ring the local police station, claiming that they’d been discriminated against! WTF? I couldn’t believe what I was hearing!

Of course they fúcked off before the coppers came. I thought I’d do the only thing I could reasonably do and follow them, see if they lived locally… They didn’t… But I got the number of the taxi took and the name of the taxi service. Is it worth pursuing with the guards? I gave the chipper my name and mobile number to back up any claims they might have.

/rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Sounds like a normal evening at a local chippers.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Spore wrote: »
    I'm literally just in the door from an embarrassing episode, I was in the local chipper in Clontarf and I found myself in the queue behind these two fúckwits who, having thought they were short-changed, wait for it – fifteen cents – gave a tirade of abuse to the poor Eastern European girl behind the counter. They gave her hell. It was awful, because I knew if I stuck my neck out, they’d give me a good pummelling.

These idiots even had the gall to ring the local police station, claiming that they’d been discriminated against! WTF? I couldn’t believe what I was hearing!

Of course they fúcked off before the coppers came. I thought I’d do the only thing I could reasonably do and follow them, see if they lived locally… They didn’t… But I got the number of the taxi took and the name of the taxi service. Is it worth pursuing with the guards? I gave the chipper my name and mobile number to back up any claims they might have.

/rant over.

Honestly? It's not worth pursuing.

If they didn't assault anyone or do anything except act like complete ****wits then just chalk it up to experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This thread made me hungry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I would piss in their cornflakes, see how they like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I take it she was hot then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

worked in a chipper for years, that carry on is nothing, had a gun pointed in my face once.

Birdie086 wrote: »
    worked in a chipper for years, that carry on is nothing, had a gun pointed in my face once.
    Sorry about that, i had the ****s for a week after eating there.
    Last time you under cooked the chicken i bet.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Sigh. My righteous indignation knows no bounds...
    Pity. The girl was in tears. I'd loved to see them called up on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I'd order a snackbox or fresh cod and chips. Probably a can of coke too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Birdie086 wrote: »

You should have just served the guy his breakfast.

I'd order a snackbox or fresh cod and chips. Probably a can of coke too
    Nice, although i think i'd prefer a Kebab right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

You should have followed their taxi and murdered them.

Job for the Citizen.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If it was me (and I'm a stubborn bugger), I'd wait till a day or two.
    Hang on to any info you have!
    Wait to see if the girl gets any agro, etc. If so, anything you could do to help might see justice better done.
    Glad to see you were thoughtful enough to give your number to the chipper.

I'd do the above but every persons situation is different so your really only the best judge to the predicament your currently in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ahh, lets see, I'll have the Hindu Curry, Steak and Chips, and a glass of Coke thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

shoot the hostage :cool:

2nd time I've gottin to say that.

Spore wrote: »
    Sigh. My righteous indignation knows no bounds...
    Pity. The girl was in tears. I'd loved to see them called up on this one.

You could always ring the local station and tell them what happened. You never know they might have been causing other people grief tonight too.

It would only take you 5 min, but don't ring the emergency number, get the station number. Try and be as percise about times as possible.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Being honest I'd probably do sweet fúck all. I'd like to think I'd tell the guys to cop the fúck on though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

TheZohan wrote: »
    You could always ring the local station and tell them what happened. You never know they might have been causing other people grief tonight too.

It would only take you 5 min, but don't ring the emergency number, get the station number. Try and be as precise about times as possible.

True and if poss' write it all down as you can remember it. The mind can fail later as regards the time-line and series of events in the correct order they happened.
    I've done this myself a number of times. Its very useful to the Gardi later.
    They judge it to be a more accurate account - and a judge considers it to definitely more trustworthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Hi Spore on behalf of the Garda can i just say the force finds your upset in a chippie in Clontarf a major priority and wish to assure you the force would listen carefully to this breakdown in society.

NEXT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

Ruu wrote: »
    Ahh, lets see, I'll have the Hindu Curry, Steak and Chips, and a glass of Coke thanks.

Do you know where you are? You're in a police station.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Being honest I'd probably do sweet fúck all. I'd like to think I'd tell the guys to cop the fúck on though.

I'd have done that......

....over my shoulder as I was running away scattering my chips and fanta everywhere.

ynotdu wrote: »
    Hi Spore on behalf of the Garda can i just say the force finds your upset in a chippie in Clontarf a major priority and wish to assure you the force would listen carefully to this breakdown in society.

NEXT!

You do realise impersonating a Garda is a criminal offence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Arrggh!

The whole reason I posted was the whole 'I can't believe it's happening in front of me' thing. I thought I would have reacted differently, like, I dunno, karate chopped the guy in the neck, then be showered in kisses by the girl behind the counter. Sadly the whole scenario was quite pathetic. Half way through a mother and her four kids came in. The mother kept looking at me as if I'd do some intervention. All I could do was try and (reasonably) contradict some of the racist comments the guys were making.

No heroism happened tonight. None!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'd love a quarter pounder

Yes but, then again, so is blasphemy these days.

So Jesus-rimjobbing-Christ if we ain't got a predicament on our hands here!

super-rush wrote: »
    I'd love a quarter pounder

With a slice of pineapple.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Pineapple???????????

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Yes but, then again, so is blasphemy these days.

So Jesus-rimjobbing-Christ if we ain't got a predicament on our hands here!

We have...would murder a bag of chips...with crispy bits. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Ah, come on, they don't seem to give a f*ck about anything, why do you think they bother posts on the forum? Overweight lads flirting with always-on-the-mobile females, having a walk, ehm, "patrol" on very few of the streets...

Personal visit at the Station: "Some vandals broke my wing mirror" - there is nothing we can do.
    Another visit: "Hi, my bonnet got badly scratched by a scumbag. I'm not expecting you to catch him, but maybe you could increse patrols around my area?" - there is nothing we can do.
    Phonecall: "It's 10pm and there is a bunch of 14-17 y.o. drunk lads smoking weed in the lane near my house. They are messing smashing bottles around the place" - we send someone down as soon as possible. (No one appeard - there was nothing they could do I guess)
    And another 3 phonecalls for stolen cars that've been dumped in front of my house during last year. And one more, when some scumbags robbed a local Spar and I've seen them running away with a crate of lager. No one got caught, obviously. Could they do anything? I bet - nothing :)

From what I've seen so far Police (Gards, Gardai, whatever) in this country are useless. Why to waste money calling them though? I'm sure there is nothing they can do anyway. Apart from getting themselves fish&chips while talking to the girl "You'l be grand, get yourself a cup of tea, but there is nothing we can do..."

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Hee hee hee,since many on the actual force also just *impersonate* Garda,i not worried:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Now im no keyboard warrior but what I would have done is stick my thumbs in there eyes in a Steven Seagal fashion

Dr_Phil wrote: »
    Ah, come on, they don't seem to give a f*ck about anything, why do you think they bother posts on the forum? Overweight lads flirting with always-on-the-mobile females, having a walk, ehm, "patrol" on very few of the streets...

Personal visit at the Station: "Some vandals broke my wing mirror" - there is nothing we can do.
    Another visit: "Hi, my bonnet got badly scratched by a scumbag. I'm not expecting you to catch him, but maybe you could increse patrols around my area?" - there is nothing we can do.
    Phonecall: "It's 10pm and there is a bunch of 14-17 y.o. drunk lads smoking weed in the lane near my house. They are messing smashing bottles around the place" - we send someone down as soon as possible. (No one appeard - there was nothing they could do I guess)
    And another 3 phonecalls for stolen cars that've been dumped in front of my house during last year. And one more, when some scumbags robbed a local Spar and I've seen them running away with a crate of lager. No one got caught, obviously. Could they do anything? I bet - nothing :)

From what I've seen so far Police (Gards, Gardai, whatever) in this country are useless. Why to waste money calling them though? I'm sure there is nothing they can do anyway. Apart from getting themselves fish&chips while talking to the girl "You'l be grand, get yourself a cup of tea, but there is nothing we can do..."

Rant over.

Call to 999:

Emergency Line Operator: Hello can I help you?
    999 Caller: Yes, please help my sentence structure is hopeless and my posts on boards.ie are illegible.
    Emergency Line Operator: Eh.... ok. Stay in your house and we'll call you with further instuctions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Call to 999:

Emergency Line Operator: Hello can I help you?
    999 Caller: Yes, please help my sentence structure is hopeless and my posts on boards.ie are illegible.
    Emergency Line Operator: Eh.... ok. Stay in your house and we'll call you with further instuctions.
    I'm foreign. I hope any of your second languages is as good as mine.

Dr_Phil wrote: »
    I'm foreign. I hope any of your second languages is as good as mine.

Yeah - they're all top-notch.

You however do not seem to be familiar with the Irish tradition of 'taking the piss'. No matter, you'll pick it up soon enough.