Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whatever happened to the whole provisional license debacle?

• 03-08-2009 6:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

Remember last year when the govt. was talking about bringing in new legislation preventing drivers on 2nd provisionals from driving unaccompanied?

And people were freaking out because they were not going to be able to go to work/old people stranded at home, etc.?

So, what happened?
    • Did they all just magically pass their tests before the law was implemented?
    • Did they all just take off their L plates?
    • Did the Gardai just not bother to enforce it, the same way they didn't check up on 1st, 3rd and subsequent provisional licence holders, to whom the same law applied all along?
    • Or did the world in fact come to a crashing halt, and this is what was responsible for the downturn in the economy?
    Forgive me, I've been away for the past year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭lods

• Did they all just magically pass their tests before the law was implemented? NO
      • Did they all just take off their L plates? YES
      • Did the Gardai just not bother to enforce it, the same way they didn't check up on 1st, 3rd and subsequent provisional licence holders, to whom the same law applied all along? YES
      • Or did the world in fact come to a crashing halt, and this is what was responsible for the downturn in the economy? NO
      It should be enforced but its not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Anyone I know hasn't been done. One person was pulled in and all and told to drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Its not been called a provisional license for about 18 months now, its a learners permit....very different to a provisional license

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Alot of people did due to SGS centers be opened, anyone who gets a learners permit now will have to wait 6 months after they first get it before they sit their test.

In addition the test fee is now approx twice what it used to be, this should stop muppets booking tests and not taking them seriously like many people have done in the past

[*]Did they all just take off their L plates?

Sadly alot of people did this also
      [*]Did the Gardai just not bother to enforce it, the same way they didn't check up on 1st, 3rd and subsequent provisional licence holders, to whom the same law applied all along?

Last count puts them at stopping detaining, fining etc etc approx 5,000 people. not much in my books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

cjbh wrote: »
      Remember last year when the govt. was talking about bringing in new legislation preventing drivers on 2nd provisionals from driving unaccompanied?

Shouldn't drivers on a 1st provisional not be driving unaccompanie in the first place?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The massive pay rise that TDs, ministers etc were due to get got dropped, therefore the government didn't need to create a story to hide it under.

The whole thing was only a smoke screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Cabaal wrote: »
      Its not been called a provisional license for about 18 months now, its a learners permit....very different to a provisional license

Really!! a permit - like in australia? thats mad I didn't know that! wonder how it works..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

DamoDLK wrote: »
      wonder how it works..?

You don't know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Mossy Monk wrote: »
      You don't know?

No, not in practice! its been a good few years since i was a learner!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

It was enforced to the same level as mobile phone use whilst driving a car...as in not at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

DamoDLK wrote: »
      Really!! a permit - like in australia? thats mad I didn't know that! wonder how it works..?

Exactly the same as the provisional did...all that changed was the name.

Wertz wrote: »
      Exactly the same as the provisional did...all that changed was the name.

Thats not exactly true :)
      Might be worth asking this in a more relevant forum
      http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=909

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Remember Traffic Corps on RTE on Sundays.

They let EVERY single L driver go without challenging them about their licenses or even giving them a fine.

If you are a Learner Driver with Full Comp Insurance and drive on your own you ONLY have third party.

Idiots! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The only thing that changed was the 6 months before you could sit your test/get a full license rule...nothing about the test itself changed, which is what I believe DamoDLK is referring to...
      If you believe anecdotal evidence the test itself became easier to pass.
      Other "changes" like the accompanying driver rule didn't change as such..they just weren't being enforced...this change meant that they were supposed to be...the only true change in that regard was the alteration of the 2nd and 3rd prov license/permit to mean that they too needed accompaniement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
      Shouldn't drivers on a 1st provisional not be driving unaccompanie in the first place?

Prior to the news legislation a person on a 2nd provisional only could drive unacommpanied, drivers on 1st prov and 3rd and subsequent had to have a fully licensed driver with them. Now it's called a learners permit and learner must always have a fully licensed driver with them... but yeah, it doesn't seem especially well policed. In fairness judging by the downright dangerous driving I witnessed yesterday leaving Dublin City Centre, many people on full licences haven't a bloody clue. But that's another topic, another day :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

I think they focussing on reducing the drink drive limit now. which will be brought in as far as i know in next few monts And bank benchers are not happy about it because they were not consulted on it.. Basically leglistlation is brought in, its not enforcable and soon its something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

Its hard enough to get a license over here, they should have left things the way they were. there was nothing wrong with it. I had a provisional license when that stupid law came in and basically Biffo just ruined my fun, thats alll. got a full license now but I was going to get that anyway

the 6 month wait was the most pointless thing i've ever had to endure (fear of being caught, i still drove).. i didn't become any better a driver and instead had to do over 4000 miles on a learner permit. 3 lessons in the week before the test and i passed with just the one blue. i was taught how to drive at 11 so why at the age of 21 did i have to wait a further 6 months?!

only in ireland would there be a law stopping me from doing the test when I was fit to from day one.. and if anyone says you need the 6 months for practice, you're directly undermining the ability of the test to show if i can drive or not. either you pass the test or you don't. 6 month mallarky is completely ridiculous.. in insurance costs alone, it's scandelous.

/rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Yddil

Berty wrote: »

If you are a Learner Driver with Full Comp Insurance and drive on your own you ONLY have third party.

Idiots! :mad:

Nah, thats nbot in the least true. your insurance company is obliged to cover you regardless.. like if you break a red light & crash into another car... you've broken the law, but your insurance company is still going to cover your car.

They're companies, not law enforcers.

So theres no real fear on anyone with a permit. I've got friends who have been driving 2+ years with no intention of sitting the test. if your a girl, theres no incentive cause insurance companies are charging the same for cover whether the drivers able to drive or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

cjbh wrote: »

And people were freaking out because they were not going to be able to go to work/old people stranded at home, etc.?

So, what happened?
      • Did they all just take off their L plates?
      • Did the Gardai just not bother to enforce it, the same way they didn't check up on 1st, 3rd and subsequent provisional licence holders, to whom the same law applied all along?
      • Or did the world in fact come to a crashing halt, and this is what was responsible for the downturn in the economy?
      Forgive me, I've been away for the past year...

I passed mine, and I know of two people who got caught on it, but that's just anecdotal, I'm sure people just took off the plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Anecdotally, I've heard of the odd person who was caught but they were just fined. I'd say most people just took off their plates. I'm driving for 12 years now (do a lot of driving) and I've never ever been asked by a guard to show my licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

thats bollix with the 6 month wait.

I was only sayin the other day that the way here in oz was a loada bollix co of exactly that!! I didnt know it was brought into ireland!

Here, u do ur theory test, get ur learners permit that lets u get lessons. 6 months later, u get to do ur test and get ur first "P plates", which u need to be on for a year or so, then u get ur 2nd P plates for another year, then do another test and get ur full licence. 54 months from start to finish! its pretty bollix, and going by the drivers over here, the test must be too easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I think that if the guards stopped a Provisional Licence driver and they had L-Plates displayed, had tax, insurance and nct up to date, were not speeding or had any drink in them or driving a souped up car they would let them off. In other words, if they had everything up to spec other than the licence they'd be ok. I was stopped and was let off, so thats what i'd base this on. Proper order too.

On a related note, i was advised to take down my l-plates by alot of people but didn't because if i did i reckoned if stopped, the guards would think i was trying to hide from them and do me for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

dearg lady wrote: »
      In fairness judging by the downright dangerous driving I witnessed yesterday leaving Dublin City Centre, many people on full licences haven't a bloody clue. But that's another topic, another day :p
      In fairness since a) a lot of 'L' drivers drive without their L plates up, and b) a lot of people with full licences drive around with 'L' plates on because they're teaching someone and are too lazy to take them off (illegal in the UK as it should be here) anyway, you don't really have a clue in this mixed up country who is a fully licenced driver and who isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Dankoozy wrote: »
      Its hard enough to get a license over here, they should have left things the way they were. there was nothing wrong with it. I had a provisional license when that stupid law came in and basically Biffo just ruined my fun, thats alll. got a full license now but I was going to get that anyway

You're joking, right? Hard to get a licence?! The standard of driver training, education and ability here is absolutely shockingly low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i was stopped at the weekend, i'm a learner driver for the last three years, no L plates up, no qualified driver. the guard told me to call into the barracks in a weeks time with L plates and proof of application for my test. thats it. he said he understands that learners have to go to work but i should have had L plates up. no nct on the car either - he just said "you've applied for the nct yes?" eh.. yes...
      i'm blessed, he could have gone to town on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Yddil wrote: »
      Nah, thats nbot in the least true. your insurance company is obliged to cover you regardless.. like if you break a red light & crash into another car... you've broken the law, but your insurance company is still going to cover your car.

Actually, that's not true. It says on all the documents that I have that if I drive unaccompanied, that they will not cover me unless obligated to by law. So they'll pay the other driver but they won't pay for me. Nor should they imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

i was taught how to drive at 11 so why at the age of 21 did i have to wait a further 6 months?!

only in ireland would there be a law stopping me from doing the test when I was fit to from day one..

/rant over.

Yeah great. Let them do their driving tests the same weekend they make their communion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

You're joking, right? Hard to get a licence?! The standard of driver training, education and ability here is absolutely shockingly low.

the test here is actually quite hard, look at america - just drive around the 'block' in a V8 with an automatic gear box and you're dun. its ridiculous how fussy they are over here

but a lot of the dubs here would prefer to see only driverless cars allowed on the roads because mere humans are not good enough to drive a car. what a load of ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Dankoozy wrote: »
      the test here is actually quite hard, look at america - just drive around the 'block' in a V8 with an automatic gear box and you're dun. its ridiculous how fussy they are over here

but a lot of the dubs here would prefer to see only driverless cars allowed on the roads because mere humans are not good enough to drive a car. what a load of ****e

No, it's not. European countries have far higher standards of driving and driving testing. The test really isn't hard here. Drive around for half an hour, have basic understanding of road markings and signage, reverse around a corner, start on a hill and somehow manage not to do anything that could kill someone in half an hour. It's really, really not difficult. Go to Finland and learn to drive if you want a tough experience.

For the record, I don't want to see less people driving; I want to see better people driving. Most are just useless. It's frightening to see our driving test requirements described as "quite hard". The most basic car control and situational awareness will get you through.

loobylou wrote: »
      Yeah great. Let them do their driving tests the same weekend they make their communion!

sure if ya can drive a tractor lawnmower at 11, ya can drive a mondeo. it's all the same really ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

I dont care about this thread because Ive got my full license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

The whole set up is pure sh1t anyway.

Drivers Ed should be introduced into schools for a start.

The test for the provisional license its a joke. They show you a picture of a stop sign and ask you do you know what this is also there should be some sort of practical part to the the test.

Why is 'the' test conducted only in towns? I think i can safely say without having to show exact figures, that the majority of fatal accidents happen on backroads/main roads/motorways etc. So shouldn't half the test be conducted on these roads?

So what if it takes three hours or more, it would do a better job sorting out the good and bad drivers.